Online Reference Resources
These reference resources are all available via APU's subscription databases, and some of them are available both online and in print (see notes for each item).
Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Call Number: EbookISBN: 0415223644To access this resource, click on the link above, and then click on the "electronic book accessible through the World Wide Web" link.
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy by Call Number: Theology Ref B51 .O94 1995ISBN: 0198661320This is available both online (click on title link above) and in print (see call number).
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy by Call Number: Theology Ref B41 .B53ISBN: 0192116940This is available both online (click on the title link above) and in print (see call number).
Scanning Apps
The following apps can be used to convert photos you take with your phone/tablet camera into high-quality PDF documents. This can be especially useful when you don't have time to stay in the library to use the reference collection, and don't want to use the library printer/copiers. Both apps have free versions.
Philosophy Reference Resources
When you're beginning your research, reference resources can be your best friends. These types of resources can give you valuable background information and provide bibliographies to help you go deeper into a particular subject. The resources below and in the other boxes on this page can be great places to start.
Dictionary of Philosophy and Religion: Eastern and Western Thought by Call Number: Theology Ref B41 .R43 1980ISBN: 1573926213- The Oxford Companion to Philosophy by Call Number: Theology Ref B51 .O94 1995ISBN: 0198661320The 2005 edition is available online - see the "Online Reference Resources" box to the left.
- The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy by Call Number: Theology Ref B41 .B53ISBN: 0192116940The 2008 edition is available online - see the "Online Reference Resources" box to the left.
Philosophy: A Guide to the Reference Literature by Call Number: Theology Ref Z7125 .B97 1997ISBN: 1563083760
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Call Number: Theology Ref B51 .R68 1998 (vs.1-10)ISBN: 0415073103
Internet Reference
The following resources are freely available on the Internet.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field.