General Reference for Doctrinal Theology
These books are located in Stamps Library in the reference collection. For more reference books related to theology, click on the link below:
Baker Encyclopedia of Christian Apologetics by Call Number: Theology Ref BT1102 .G42 1999ISBN: 0801021510
The Blackwell Companion to Modern Theology by Call Number: Theology Ref BT75.3 .B58 2004ISBN: 063120685X
Charts of Christian Theology and Doctrine by Call Number: Theology Ref BT77.3 .H68 1992ISBN: 0310416612
Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible by Call Number: Theology Ref BS440 .D495 2005ISBN: 0801026946
The Dictionary of Historical Theology by Call Number: Theology Ref BT21.2 .D53 2000ISBN: 1842270028
Global Dictionary of Theology: A Resource for the Worldwide Church by Call Number: Theology Ref BR95 .G56 2008ISBN: 0830824545
A New Handbook of Christian Theologians by Call Number: Theology Ref BT28 .N48 1996ISBN: 0687278031
Taxonomic Charts of Theology and Biblical Studies by Call Number: Theology Ref BT77.3 .S29 1999ISBN: 0310219930
Reference Books Are Your Friends!
Theological reference resources can make your life a lot easier when it comes to your class assignments. Some reference resources will be great places to start your research (dictionaries and encyclopedias), or to refine your research (word study resources and commentaries). Below, you'll find a brief glossary (with examples from the APU library collection) and a list of some general theological reference resources.
| Almanac |
a collection of statistical and general facts on a specific topic Bible Almanac |
| Atlas |
a collection of tables, charts, or maps about a specific topic Atlas Histórico de las Religiones |
| Bible Commentary |
a digest of information about a particular book of the Bible that can include textual criticism, historical and archaeological data, issues involved in interpretation, etc. Word Biblical Commentary |
| Bible Dictionary |
a collection of definitions or identifications of key terms, places, and people in the Bible - most articles include bibliographies Anchor Bible Dictionary |
| Bibliography |
a list of resources for a particular topic The Pauline Writings: An Annotated Bibliography |
| Biographical Source |
a collection of relatively brief articles about a specific group of people Biographical Dictionary of Evangelicals |
| Chronology |
information arranged in order of occurrence or historical relevance to a specific topic Timeline Charts of the Western Church |
| Concordance |
alphabetical index of the principal words of a book or a writer, and a reference to the passage in which each mention of a word occurs together with some indication of context Zondervan NIV Exhaustive Concordance |
| Lexicon |
a wordbook or dictionary of a specific language, or the vocabulary of a particular people Analytical Lexicon of the Greek New Testament |
| Subject Dictionary |
a collection of definitions that are more detailed than those found in a general dictionary - often contains bibliographic references and can closely resemble an encyclopedia Diccionario de Ética Cristiana y Teología Pastoral |
| Subject Encyclopedia |
a collection of articles written by experts giving essential information about a specific field of knowledge or area of interest American Philosophy: An Encyclopedia |
Online Reference Books
These reference resources from Oxford University Press are all available online, and some of them are available both online and in print (see notes for each item).
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church by ISBN: 019861442X
A Dictionary of the Bible by ISBN: 9780199543984
Oxford Companion to the Bible by Call Number: Theology Ref BS440 .M434 1993ISBN: 0195046455This is available both in print and online - click on the title link above to access the online version.
