Selected Books on Second Language Acquisition
A Philosophy of Second Language Acquisition by Call Number: P118.2 .J645 2004ISBN: 9780300100266“Marysia Johnson proposes a new model of second language acquisition (SLA)--a model that shifts the focus from language competence (the ability to pass a language exam) to language performance (using language competently in real-life contexts). Johnson argues that current SLA theory and research is heavily biased in the direction of the cognitive and experimental scientific tradition. She draws on Vygotsky's sociocultural theory and Bakhtin's literary theory to construct an alternative framework for second language theory, research, teaching, and testing. The origin of second language acquisition is not located exclusively in the learner's mind, the author says, but in dialogical interaction conducted in a variety of settings.”
Second Language Learning Theories by Call Number: P118.2 .M58 2004ISBN: 9780340807668“Provides a detailed, comprehensive overview for those beginning to study second-language acquisition. Covers key concepts and issues, recent history of related research, and the Universal Grammar, cognitive approaches (processing approaches and connectionism), functional/pragmatic perspectives ("time talk”, aspect hypothesis, and recent theories on input and interaction), and sociolinguistic perspectives (recent theories- situated learning, power relations, and construction of identity).”
Motivation and Second Language Acquisition by Call Number: P118.2 .M685 2001ISBN: 082482458X“This volume - the second in the series concerned with motivation and foreign language learning - includes papers presented at a colloquium on second language motivation at the American Association for Applied Linguistics as well as a number of specially commissioned surveys.”
Second language acquisition and linguistic theory by Call Number: P118.2 .S425 2000ISBN: 0631205926“This volume provides an overview of contemporary second language acquisition from a linguistic point of view. Offers a state-of-the-art examination of formal properties of second language acquisition of phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Written by leading scholars, it contains some of the most exciting current work in second language acquisition available today.”
Age and the Acquisition of English As a Foreign Language by Call Number: P118.65 .A37 2003ISBN: 9781853596384“The 12 contributing authors to this text attended a July 2000 course on the age factor in foreign language (FL) acquisition, held in San Sebastián, Spain. A section on theoretical issues gives an overview of the most current research on age in FL learning. Six chapters present fieldwork conducted in two bilingual communities where English is taught as a third/foreign language in instructional settings--the Basque Country and Catalonia--and consider such topics as attitudes toward learning English, code-mixing, grammaticality judgments, phonetics and phonology, writing, and oral communication skills.”
Browse Books by Subject
Browse Media by Subject
Media items are located in Marshburn Library on East Campus. Undergrad and graduate students may check out media items for 2 days. Faculty, staff, and doctoral students may check out media items for 14 days. Regional Center students may request mailing of media items with the Interlibrary Services request form.
Browse Ebooks by Subject
Finding Books in the APU Libraries
Locate books on your topic by searching the APU library catalog:
Undergrad and graduate students can borrow up to 100 books at a time, with an initial check-out period of 28 days and 4 renewals. Doctoral students, staff, and faculty members can borrow up to 500 books at a time, with an initial check-out period of 90 days and 2 renewals. Off-campus Regional Center & Online students may request free mailing of items by clicking on "Request" in the library record and then selecting "By Mail" in the pickup location box.
You can check your library account and renew your library books online through the APU library catalog.
Search Tip!
When you find a book that you like, look at the subject headings that are given for it. You can click on those subject headings to find other books on the same subject:
Borrowing Books through LINK+
The LINK+ catalog allows you to locate and request books (free of charge!) from any of the 52 LINK+ Libraries:
There are 2 options: you may go directly to the owning library with your APU ID card and borrow the book (call first to make sure that the book is on the shelf). Or, Just click the "Request This Item" link whenever you find a book you want to borrow. The book will be available for pickup in either Marshburn or Darling within a few business days (the APU Libraries will automatically mail LINK+ books to Regional Center students at their home addresses; this will add a few extra days of processing time).
APU students, faculty, and staff can borrow up to 15 LINK+ books at a time, with an initial check-out period of 3 weeks and one 2-week renewal. You can renew LINK+ books through your library account.
Can't Find it in LINK+? Try WorldCat
WorldCat allows you to search the collections of more than 10,000 libraries around the world. To request items, look up the publication information in WorldCat, then fill out the Interlibrary Loan Request form on the APU Libraries web site. Requested items will be mailed to Regional Campus students' home addresses; they will be held for pick-up by Azusa campus students.
Note: There is a $2 per item charge for Interlibrary Loan requests, so please check APU's holdings and LINK+ before using this option. It will take 7-10 business days for the item to arrive, so plan ahead. A notice will be sent your APU email account when the book arrives and is ready for pickup (If you are an online or regional center student the book will be sent to you).
Another Option: Ebooks
The APU Libraries own a number of Ebooks, which are books that you can read online. Ebooks are available any time, and can save you time and money since you don't have to drive to the library to check out books. You can access Ebooks through the following databases:
- Ebsco EbooksSearchable collection of ebooks on a variety of subjects.
- Oxford Reference OnlineAn online reference library containing maps, dictionaries, encyclopedias, quotations, and more.
- Sage Reference OnlineComplete electronic versions of encyclopedias from the fields of education, psychology, epidemiology, statistics, and sociology.
Subject Guide
Head of Collections & Technical Services
Librarian for the School of Nursing, Public Health, & ALCI (ESL)
Hugh & Hazel Darling Library #210
701 E. Foothill Blvd., PO Box 7000
Azusa, CA 91702
SLA Online Books
- Second Language Acquisition and Second Language Learningby Stephen Krashen
- Ethnologue: Languages of the World.“Comprehensive reference volume that catalogs all the known living languages in the world today. It has been an active research project for more than fifty years. Thousands of linguists and other researchers all over the world rely on and have contributed to the Ethnologue. It is widely regarded to be the most comprehensive listing of information of its kind. A new edition is published approximately every four years.”
Google Books
Try Google Books to find possible electronic excerpts of needed materials: