Oxford Reference Online
We have a few online reference resources that might be useful to you. Click on the title link to access these dictionaries.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church by ISBN: 019861442X
A Dictionary of the Bible by ISBN: 0199543984
The Oxford Companion to the Bible by ISBN: 0195046455
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy by ISBN: 0199541434
CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher is an online database that contains information similar to what you'd find in an encyclopedia.
Wesleyan Quadrilateral
Reference Books Are Your Friends!
Theological reference resources can make your life a lot easier when it comes to your class assignments. Some reference resources will be great places to start your research (dictionaries and encyclopedias), or to refine your research (word study resources and commentaries). Below, you'll find a brief glossary (with examples from the APU library collection) and a list of some general theological reference resources. For more specific resources, move your mouse over the "Where Do I Start?" tab.
| Almanac |
a collection of statistical and general facts on a specific topic Almanac of the Bible |
| Atlas |
a collection of tables, charts, or maps about a specific topic Atlas Histórico de las Religiones |
| Bible Commentary |
a digest of information about a particular book of the Bible that can include textual criticism, historical and archaeological data, issues involved in interpretation, etc. Word Biblical Commentary |
| Bible Dictionary |
a collection of definitions or identifications of key terms, places, and people in the Bible - most articles include bibliographies Anchor Bible Dictionary |
| Bibliography |
a list of resources for a particular topic The Pauline Writings: An Annotated Bibliography |
| Biographical Source |
a collection of relatively brief articles about a specific group of people Biographical Dictionary of Evangelicals |
| Chronology |
information arranged in order of occurrence or historical relevance to a specific topic Timeline Charts of the Western Church |
| Concordance |
alphabetical index of the principal words of a book or a writer, and a reference to the passage in which each mention of a word occurs together with some indication of context Zondervan NIV Exhaustive Concordance |
| Lexicon |
a wordbook or dictionary of a specific language, or the vocabulary of a particular people Analytical Lexicon of the Greek New Testament |
| Subject Dictionary |
a collection of definitions that are more detailed than those found in a general dictionary - often contains bibliographic references and can closely resemble an encyclopedia Diccionario de Ética Cristiana y Teología Pastoral |
| Subject Encyclopedia |
a collection of articles written by experts giving essential information about a specific field of knowledge or area of interest American Philosophy: An Encyclopedia |
Reference Resources for Culture & Ministry
Reference resources can give you a brief overview of particular topics, and often will provide bibliographies at the end of articles that will give you more resources on the subject. Here is a list of some of the reference resources we have in online and/or in print.
The Blackwell Companion to Political Theology by
Written by a team of international experts, drawn from various traditions of political theology, this outstanding resource brings together 35 newly-commissioned essays in the field. Demonstrates that Christian theology is inherently political and shows how theology impacts on present-day political issues. Considers the interface of theology with political ideologies, including the contribution of theology to feminist, ecological, black and pacifist movements. Assesses the contribution of the major political theologians and theological movements. Explores the political aspects of Christian sources such as scripture and liturgy.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BR115.P7 B634 2004ISBN: 9781405157445Publication Date: 2006-10-09
The Blackwell Companion to Christian Ethics by Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BJ1251 .B54 2004ISBN: 063123506X
The Blackwell Companion to the Bible and Culture by Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS538.7 .B62 2006ISBN: 1405101369
Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible by Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440 .D495 2005ISBN: 0801026946
Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation by Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS500 .D5 1999 vs.1-2ISBN: 0687055318
Dictionary of Everyday Theology and Culture by Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BR115.C8 D535 2010ISBN: 1600061923
The Oxford Handbook of Theological Ethics by Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BJ1191 .O94 2005ISBN: 019926211X
Wiley Blackwell Companion to Political Theology by
Offers a comprehensive survey and interpretation of contemporary Christian political theology in a newly revised and expanded edition This book presents the latest thinking on the topic of contemporary Christian political theology, with original and constructive essays that represent a range of opinions on various topics. With contributions from expert scholars in the field, it reflects a broad range of methodologies, ecclesial traditions, and geographic and social locations, and provides a sense of the diversity of political theologies. It also addresses the primary resources of the Christian tradition, which theologians draw on when constructing political theologies, and surveys some of the most important figures and movements in political theology. This revised and expanded edition provides the most comprehensive and accessible introduction to this lively and growing area of Christian theology. Organized into five sections, Wiley Blackwell Companion to Political Theology, Second Edition addresses the many changes that have occurred over the last 15 years within the field of political theology. It features new essays that address social developments and movements, such as Anglican Social Thought, John Milbank, Anabaptist Political Theologies, African Political Theologies, Postcolonialism, Political Economy, Technology and Virtuality, and Grass-roots Movements. The book also includes a new essay on the reception of Liberation Theology. Offers essays on topics such as the Trinity, atonement, and eschatology Features contributions from leading voices in the field of political theology Includes all-new entries covering fresh developments and movements like the urgency of climate change, virtuality and the digital age, the economic crisis of 2008, the discourse of religion and violence, and new modalities of war Addresses some important social movements from a theological point of view including postmodernism, grass-roots movements, and more Provides both Islamic and Jewish responses to political theology Written for academics and students of political theology, Wiley Blackwell Companion to Political Theology, 2nd Edition is an enlightening read that offers a wide range of authoritative essays from some of the most notable scholars in the field.
ISBN: 9781119133735Publication Date: 2018-12-07 (2nd. ed.)
