How to Cite Sources in Turabian 7th Edition: Citing Print Resources

Click on the links below to navigate to a particular section:

Book: Single Author/Editors
Book: Two Authors/Editors
Book: Three Authors
Book: More Than Three Authors
Book: Single Chapter/Edited Book
Journal Article
Magazine Article
Newspaper Article
Reference Works
Musical Score

Citation formats are listed for both the bibliography style and the parenthetical citations-reference list style. Choose only one of the two styles to use.

Bibliography Style: 

N = Citation format for in-text notes

B = Citation format for entries in the bibliography

Parenthetical Citations-Reference List Style:

PR = Citation format for in-text parenthetical references

RL = Citation format for entries in the reference list

NOTES:

• Be sure to refer to the manual for information on indenting citations, how to insert quotes in a paper, how to format graphics, and other issues not included in this guide.
• Page numbers after the section headings correspond to the 7th edition of Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations.

Single Author or Editor (pp. 143, 218)

N           1. Clark H. Pinnock, Most Moved Mover: A Theology of God's Openness 
         (Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic, 2001), 73. 

For an editor, type this after the name and before the book title:  , ed., 

B        Pinnock, Clark H. Most Moved Mover: A Theology of God's Openness. 
            Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic, 2001.     

For an editor, type this after the name and before the book title: , ed.

PR     (Pinnock 2001, 73)

This is the correct form for both author and editor parenthetical references.

RL      Pinnock, Clark H. 2001. Most Moved Mover: A Theology of God's Openness. 
             Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic.

For an editor, type this after the name and before the publication date: , ed.

Two Authors or Editors (pp. 143, 218)

N          1. Don Thorsen and Vickie Becker, Inclusive Language Handbook: A 
         Practical Guide to Using Inclusive Language in College Writing (Azusa, CA: 
         Azusa Pacific University, 1996), 15.

For editors, type this after the second name and before the book title:  , eds., 

B       Thorsen, Don, and Vickie Becker. Inclusive Language Handbook: A 
            Practical Guide to Using Inclusive Language in College Writing. Azusa, 
            CA: Azusa Pacific University, 1996.

For editors, type this after the second name and before the book title: , eds.

PR     (Thorsen and Becker 1996, 15)

This is the correct form for both two-author and two-editor parenthetical references.

RL      Thorsen, Don, and Vickie Becker. 1996. Inclusive Language Handbook: A 
             Practical Guide to Using Inclusive Language in College Writing. Azusa,
             CA: Azusa Pacific University.

For editors, type this after the second name and before the publication date: , eds.

Three Authors (pp. 143-44, 218-19)

N            1. Barbara Brown Zikmund, Adair T. Lummis, and Patricia M.Y. Chang,
           Clergy Women: An Uphill Calling (Louisville, KY: Westminster John Knox
           Press, 1998), 123-24.

B        Zikmund, Barbara Brown, Adair T. Lummis, and Patricia M.Y. Chang. Clergy 
            Women: An Uphill Calling. Louisville, KY: Westminster John Knox Press, 
            1998.

PR      (Zikmund, Lummis, and Chang 1998, 123-24)

RL      Zikmund, Barbara Brown, Adair T. Lummis, and Patricia M.Y. Chang. 1998. 
            Clergy Women: An Uphill Calling. Louisville, KY: Westminster John Knox 
            Press.

More Than Three Authors (pp. 144, 219)

N           1. Melvin E. Dieter et al., Five Views on Sanctification (Grand Rapids, MI: 
          Zondervan Publishing, 1996), 3-6.

B        Dieter, Melvin E., Anthony A. Hoekema, Stanley M. Horton, J. Robertson
             McQuilkin, and John F. Walvoord. Five Views on Sanctification. Grand
             Rapids, MI: Zondervan Publishing, 1996.

PR      (Dieter et al. 1996, 3-6)

RL      Dieter, Melvin E., Anthony A. Hoekema, Stanley M. Horton, J. Robertson
            McQuilkin, and John F. Walvoord. 1996. Five Views on Sanctification. Grand 
            Rapids, MI: Zondervan Publishing.

Single Chapter in an Edited Book (pp. 144-45, 219)

N           1. Terence H. Irwin, "Socrates the Epicurean," in Essays on the Philosophy
         of Socrates, ed. Hugh H. Benson (New York: Oxford University Press, 1992),
         57.

B        Irwin, Terence H. "Socrates the Epicurean." In Essays on the Philosophy of
            Socrates, edited by Hugh H. Benson, 57. New York: Oxford University Press,
            1992.

PR      (Irwin 1992, 57)      

RL      Irwin, Terence H. 1992. Socrates the Epicurean. In Essays on the Philosophy
            of Socrates, ed. Hugh H. Benson, 57. New York: Oxford University Press.

Back To Index

For multiple authors, follow the same rules as for books with multiple authors (see the section above).

Journal Article (pp. 145, 220)

N          1. Craig A. Boyd and James H. Zahniser. "The Work of Love, the Practice of 
         Compassion and the Homosexual Neighbor," Journal of Psychology and 
         Christianity 27, no. 3 (Fall 2008): 219.

B       Boyd, Craig A. and James H. Zahniser. "The Work of Love, the Practice of
            Compassion and the Homosexual Neighbor." Journal of Psychology and
            Christianity 27, no. 3 (Fall 2008): 215-26.

PR     (Boyd and Zahniser 2008, 219)

RL     Boyd, Craig A. and James H. Zahniser. 2008. The Work of Love, the Practice
             of Compassion and the Homosexual Neighbor. Journal of Psychology and
             Christianity 27, no. 3 (Fall 2008): 215-26.

Popular Magazine Article (pp. 185-86, 251-52)

N          1. Joel Stein, "Jesus Walks Into a Bar," Time, July 27, 2009.       

B        Stein, Joel. "Jesus Walks Into a Bar." Time, July 27, 2009.

PR     (Stein 2009)     

RL      Stein, Joel. 2009. Jesus Walks Into a Bar. Time, July 27.

N          1. Kate Murphy, "Megachurch Pastor Denies Assaulting Flight Attendant,"
        New York Times, August 9, 2008, Section A.  

Back To Index

Comment on reference works from the Turabian style guide (pp. 191, 257):

"Well-known reference works, such as major dictionaries and encyclopedias, should usually be cited only in notes [or parenthetical citations]. You generally need not include them in your bibliography [or reference list], although you may choose to include a specific work that is critical to your argument or frequently cited."

N      1. Dictionary of Scottish Church History and Theology, s.v. "Crutched Friars."

B      Cameron, Nigel M. de S. Dictionary of Scottish Church History and Theology. 
             Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 1993.

PR    (Dictionary of Scottish Church History and Theology, s.v. "Crutched Friars")

RL     Cameron, Nigel M. de S. 1993. Dictionary of Scottish Church History 
              and Theology. Downers Grove, IL: Intervarsity Press. 

For multiple authors, follow the same rules as for books with multiple authors (see the section above).

Back To Index

(pp. 205, 270)

N           1. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, The Marriage of Figaro: An Opera in Four
         Acts, K. 492, libretto by Lorenzo Da Ponte (New York: Kalmus, n.d.).

B       Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. The Marriage of Figaro: An Opera in Four Acts, K.
             492. Libretto by Lorenzo Da Ponte. New York: Kalmus, n.d.      

PR     (Mozart n.d., 4-5)

RL      Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. n.d. The Marriage of Figaro: An Opera in Four
              Acts, K. 492. Libretto by Lorenzo Da Ponte. New York: Kalmus.

Back To Index