TESOL Research Guide: Handbooks

New York: Routledge, 2008; “Twenty-one international academics from the fields of psychology, linguistics, and second language acquisition (SLA) contribute 19 chapters to a resource for students and researchers, which describes the implications of cognitive linguistics (CL) for the study of SLA. The text includes chapters summarizing current CL perspectives on patterns of language, of language use, and of child language acquisition, followed by chapters demonstrating the relevance of the basic CL concepts, and theoretical frameworks for researching them, to the fields of SLA and language pedagogy.”

Parents' and teachers' guides, no. 2. Clevedon [England]: Multilingual Matters, 1998; “This handbook is designed as an aid to teachers of mainstream classes in the elementary sections of English-medium international schools. This arose out of the challenge of founding and developing schools to meet the needs of an entirely new group of students. Things have moved on. It is fair to say that international schooling has come of age. Governing boards of individual schools recognize the value of receiving accreditation from ECIS or from one of the nationally based accreditation and inspection services. This is sometimes out of a genuine regard for the long historical connection, but also for their value to the English part of the program.”

Malden, MA ; Oxford : Blackwell Pub., 2006.

Blackwell handbooks in linguistics. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub, 2003; “Presents an integrated discussion of key, and sometimes controversial, issues in second language acquisition research. Discusses the biological and cognitive underpinnings of SLA, mechanisms, processes, and constraints on SLA, the level of ultimate attainment, research methods, and the status of SLA as a cognitive science. Includes contributions from twenty-seven of the world's leading scholars. Provides an invaluable resource for all students and scholars of human cognition, including those in linguistics, psychology, applied linguistics, ESL, foreign languages, and cognitive science.”

Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2008; This "is a dynamic, scientifically grounded overview revealing the complexity of this growing field while remaining accessible for students, researchers, language educators, curriculum developers, and educational policy makers. A single volume overview of educational linguistics, written by leading specialists in its many relevant fields. Takes into account the diverse theoretical foundations, core themes, major findings, and practical applications of educational linguistics. Highlights the multidisciplinary reach of educational linguistics. Each chapter portrays the complexity of its subject matter while remaining accessible to a wide audience."

Wheaton, IL : Institute for Cross-Cultural Training, Billy Graham Center, Wheaton College ; Evanston, IL : Berry Pub. Services, c1997; "It would be hard to imagine a more practical and balanced introduction for Christians interested in teaching English as a foreign language. Would-be instructors and experienced specialists alike will find numerous helps for themselves and their students, including a glossary of acronyms, a rationale for formal preparation; an even-handed explanation of various approaches to academic preparation; a descriptive table of programs at 24 Christian institutions; and tables outlining worldwide teaching opportunities, including 15 Christian groups with career and 18 with short-term openings in one or more of the countries of East Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. In addition, the Handbook offers a wealth of instructional resources in various specialized, annotated bibliographies and directories: relevant professional, church, and parachurch groups; secular and Christian publishers and distributors; journals; web sites; and e-mail discussion groups."

New York : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, c2008; "In this Handbook leading researchers, teacher educators, and expert practitioners speak to current and future educators and educational leaders in understandable language about the research that informs best practices for English language learners integrated into the K-12 public school system. Responding to current state and federal mandates that require educators to link their practices to sound research results, it is designed to help educators to define, select, and defend realistic educational practices that include and serve well their English language learning student populations. [It] is intended for current and future educational administrators, all educators who have a keen interest in school reform at the classroom, school, or district level, and staff developers, policy makers, parents and community groups, and anyone interested in the successful education of linguistically and culturally diverse students."

Boston, MA: Heinle & Heinle, 2000; “An ideal professional reference title for those interested in teaching ESL, foreign language, and bilingual programs. It’s a resource guide for implementing, evaluating, administering, and maintaining dual language instruction programs.”

New York : Springer, 2007; "v. 1. Section 1. The global scope and politics of ELT : critiquing current policies and programs -- Section 2. The goals and focus of the ELT-program : problematizing content and pedagogy -- Section 3. Assessment and evaluation in ELT : shifting paradigms and practices.
v. 2. Section 1. The learner and the learning environment : creating new communities -- Section 2. Constructs of language in ELT : breaking the boundaries -- Section 3. Research and teacher education in ELT : meeting new challenges."

Kansas City, Mo. : Beacon Hill Press of Kansas City, 2003; "The Handbook for Teaching Bible-Based ESL provides a step-by-step guide for starting an ESL ministry at your church. New and experienced teachers alike will benefit from the many practical suggestions on second language teaching. You’ll learn to: Choose the best method for teaching your ESL class; Assess which materials you’ll need to start your ESL class; Work through cultural differences; Evaluate your students and your teaching; Share your faith with the members of your class."

London ; New York : Continuum ; London : VSO, 2000; "Provides a highly practical and accessible guide to teaching English to students for whom English is not their first language. It is a comprehensive guide to lesson planning and testing, covering all four modes of language (reading, listening, talking and writing), and the teaching of grammar and vocabulary."