Note
This is a brief guide. For more thorough instructions on finding articles on your topic, see the "Dissertations and Articles" and "Research Tips" sections of the full Higher Education Research Guide.
How to Access APU Library Databases
All APU Library databases can be accessed through the Libraries' web site. To get to them, go to the APU Libraries home page, then click on "All Databases."
You can access databases by title using the alphabetical links, or you can use the subject menu to see a list of databases recommended for your topic.
Peer-reviewed, Full-text Articles on College Administration (From ERIC)
Recommended Databases for Higher Education Research
Databases are collections of articles and documents. You can use a database to find articles on your topic from a variety of journals. Many of the articles you find through the Libraries' online databases will include an electronic copy of the article that you can print, save, or email.
- Education Full TextArticles from education journals.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost)Highly-regarded database of journal articles, books, government reports, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more covering all aspects of education.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences CollectionsThe JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. The JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections represent the building blocks of an interdisciplinary archive of over six hundred journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
- LexisNexis AcademicGood source for newspaper and popular magazine articles about higher education issues. Full text is provided for every article.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- A curated collection, Web of Science Core Collection contains over abstracts and citations of over 21,100 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book abstracts and citations are also available.
Recommended Journals/Magazines/Newspapers
Tip: Subscribe to the table of contents feeds for these journals, and you'll receive notification every time a new issue is published. This is a great way to stay on top of new research! Just look for the orange RSS icon to subscribe. For more information on RSS feeds, see the "Using RSS Feeds from Library Databases" LibGuide.
- About CampusArticles focus on "the critical issues faced by both student affairs and academic affairs staff as they work on the shared goal" of student learning.
- Chronicle of Higher EducationFull text of many articles can be accessed through the APU Libraries' online subscriptions.
- Directory of Open Access Journals - Higher Education JournalsA list of free, scholarly e-journals related to higher education. No APU user name or password is needed to access these titles.
- Higher Education AbstractsReviews and summarizes important articles from higher education research journals. Subscribe to the Table of Contents RSS feed for updates on new reviews.
- New Directions for Higher Education"A series of thematic journals providing timely information and authoritative advice about major issues and administrative problems confronting every institution."
- New York Times Education Life SupplementA quarterly supplemental publication highlighting new developments in education.
Your Librarian
901 E. Alosta Ave
Azusa Ca. 91702
(626) 815-6000 ext. 3220