Oxford Reference Online
These reference resources from Oxford University Press are all available online, and some of them are available both online and in print (see notes for each item).
A Dictionary of Public Health by ISBN: 0195160908Available in the Oxford Reference Online database only (click on link).
Dictionary of the Social Sciences by Call Number: ECampus Ref H41 .D53 2002ISBN: 0195123719This is available both in print (see call number) and in the Oxford Reference Online database (click on link).
Biblical Studies Reference
The following reference books, located in Stamps Library, can help you study particular Bible passages in depth.
Anchor Bible Dictionary by Call Number: Theology Ref BS440 .A54 1992 vs.1-6ISBN: 0385193513Use this to look up information about people, places, major concepts, and other things that you find in the Bible.
NIV Application Commentary by Call Number: Theology Ref BS491.2 N58ISBN: 0310210860Commentaries are used to get information about particular passages of the Bible.
Word Biblical Commentary by Call Number: Theology Ref BS491.2 W67ISBN: 0849902436Commentaries are used to get information about particular passages of the Bible.
Social Work Reference Resources
When you're beginning your research, reference resources can be your best friends. These types of resources can give you valuable background information and provide bibliographies to help you go deeper into a particular subject. The resources below and in the other boxes on this page can be great places to start.
Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America by Call Number: ECampus Ref E185.61 .E544 1998 vs.1-3ISBN: 0765680009
Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare by Call Number: ECampus Ref HV40 .C635 2008 vs.1-4ISBN: 0471752223
CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher is an online resource that provides researchers reports about current issues. The reports include introductory overviews, background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources.
Hover your mouse over the info icon to see a description of the specific topics included in each section. Click on the link to go into CQ Researcher.
- Family & Domestic Life Topics include Adoption, Children, Fathers, Marriage and Divorce, Mothers, Teenagers, Violence and the Family, Work and the Family
- Health Topics include Abortion, Elderly Health Issues, Family Planning and Population, HIV and AIDS, Hospitals, Maternal and Child Health Care, Medicaid and Medicare, Mental Health, Nursing Homes and Long Term Care Facilities, Substance Abuse, Women's Health
- Housing & Development Topics include Fair Housing and Housing for Special Groups, Low Income and Public Housing, Mortgage Loans and Home Finance, Regional Planning and Urbanization
- Human Rights Topics include Prostitution Debate, Treatment of Detainees, Human Trafficking and Slavery, Global Refugee Crisis, Women and Human Rights, Holocaust Reparations, Human Rights, Religious Persecution, Assisting Refugees, War Crimes
- Social Movements Topics include Civil Rights Movement, Conservatism and Liberalism, Environmentalism, Feminism, General Social Trends, Hate Groups, Protest Movements, Religious Movements, Sexuality, Student Movements
- Social Services & Disabilities Topics include Charities and Philanthropy, Elderly, Homelessness, Medicaid and Medicare, People with Disabilities, People with Mental Disabilities, Social Security, Veterans' Services and Welfare and Welfare Reform