Evaluating resources to verify their scholarly status will provide the foundation for subsequent, interpretive work
These are but a sampling of the kinds of interpretive lens a scholar might use:
For literary information and criticism on an author in the APU Catalog, do a SUBJECT search for the authors name, i.e., Hughes, Langston
Sample titles of resources include,
The Critical Tradition: classic texts and contemporary trends, edited by David H. Richter, PN81.C844 1998
A Vindication on the Rights of Women, Mary Wollstonecraft, HQ1596.W6 1988
Marxism and Literary Criticism, Terry Eagleton, LINK+
Renaissance Self-Fashioning: From More to Shakespeare, Stephen Greenblatt, LINK+
What is a library database? RMIT University
Academic Search Premier, academic scholarly articles
MLA International Bibliography, core literature database
Gale Virtual Reference, includes literary criticism resources
Project Muse, complete, full-text collection of scholarly journals in a variety of fields
Literature Online, a searchable database of key criticism and reference resources
Proquest Databases, multiple databases in the arts and the humanities
Kanopy, A video streaming database including feature films, documentaries, and educational videos
Sage Premier All Access Journals Package/Sage Journals Online includes business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine
Proquest Databases, multiple databases in the arts and the humanities
WorldCat, Online union catalog of member libraries of OCLC with holdings dating back to the 12th century and updated daily
Oxford Reference Online, an online reference library including dictionaries and encyclopedias
JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collection I - IV, over six hundred core, scholarly journals
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals), free, full text, quality controlled and scholarly journals
Shakespeare and Kenneth Branagh, APU Library
Shakespeare and Film, APU Library
Kanopy, A video streaming database including feature films, documentaries, and educational videos
Evaluating Sources, Scholarly vs Popular, University of Washington Bothell and Cascadia Community College
Evaluating Internet Resources, University of California Berkeley
The University of Arizona's Library Guide to Popular vs. Scholarly Articles (2005), University of Arizona
Library of Congress Classicification Outline
P -- Language and Literature (select Word or PDF)
Book Review Digest, provides review excerpts for fiction and non-fiction
Project Muse, complete, full-text collection of scholarly journals in a variety of fields