Research Methods in TESOL

Databases are electronic indexes (citation and abstracts) that you use to locate journal articles. Databases also include citation and abstract information of other types of resources such as books (book reviews), case studies, conference presentations, government documents & reports, etc.

To access the APU Library databases from most locations on campus:

• Step 1: Go to the APU home page. The URL is http://www.apu.edu
• Step 2: Scroll down to the bottom of the page, click on "library" under the section "top links"
• Step 3: Click on "All databases" on the right side of the library webpage

To access APU library databases from outside the APU network:

• Step 1: Go to the APU home page. The URL is http://www.apu.edu
• Step 2: Click on "home.apu.edu" on top right of the apu webpage, then login using your APU net ID & password
• Step 3: Under "quicklinks" click on "Library Resources"
• Step 4: Click on "All databases" on the left side of the library webpage

REMINDER: APU students, faculty, and staff must be authorized to use the library databases. You will be prompted for you APU NetID username and password when you try to use library resources. Contact IMT Support Desk if you need help with your username and password by calling 626-815-5050 or toll-free 866-278-3375 or emailing support@apu.edu. 

This page includes information on finding TESOL specific: 

1. Databases
2. Journals
3. Articles

---

All APU Library databases can be accessed through the Libraries' web site. To get to them, go to the APU Libraries home page, then click on the "All Databases" link. You can access databases by title using the alphabetical links, or you can use the subject menu to see a list of databases recommended for your topic.

Often, databases will include the full text of the articles and documents that appear in your search results. However, database publishers may not always have the rights to reprint the full text of some articles, and you will have to do a bit of searching to locate the full text. First, look for "PDF FullText", "HTML FullText", "Linked Fulltext", or "Fulltext in ERIC" to locate the fulltext. Otherwise Periodical Finder can save you time in this process--just click the "Periodical Finder" button under the article citation.

Periodical Finder will show you how to access articles from that journal title:

If Periodical Finder indicates that APU does not subscribe to the journal that you need, go back to the results page in the database, click the title of the article you want, and then scroll down the page until you see the following link:

Click the link to get a copy from another library. Note that there is a $2 per item fee for this service; the APU Libraries will send you a bill. For more information on Interlibrary Loan, visit the Interlibrary Services webpage. 

(adapted from KS, 2009)

The ERIC database contains two kinds of information: traditional journal articles, and "ERIC Documents," such as government reports, dissertations, conference papers, case studies, pamphlets, etc.

There are different steps involved in locating the full text of ERIC documents than are involved in locating full text journal articles from ERIC. Click the link below to learn more about locating ERIC documents and articles in fulltext:

Eric contains 2 types of documents:

• citations to journal articles, which may be linked as full-text. If not, you will need to click on the Fulltext Finder button to see if it's available full-text in another database, available in our libraries, or to order it via ArticleReach.
• ERIC documents, which are documents that are not necessarily available in any other location. We have many of these available on microfiche. Others are available full-text through ERIC (though few before 1993, and many not at all). Some may have to be requested through ArticleReach (choose a Book Request form, and add the ED# in the notes field with an explanation that it's an ERIC document). Some of the shorter ERIC digests are available as full-text free on various Web sites.