TESOL Research Guide: Encyclopedias

New York, Hawthorn Books [1965]. Twentieth century encyclopedia of Catholicism, Section 13, Catholicism and science, v. 126.

“Provides linguistic descriptions of a selected assortment of languages from renowned scholars, as well as historical and cultural information for each language.”

London ; New York : Routledge, 2002; “Comprehensive coverage of the major and subsidiary fields of linguistic study. Entries are alphabetically arranged and extensively cross-referenced, and include suggestions for further reading. For anyone with an academic or professional interest in language.”

Cambridge [England] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1997

Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, 2001. Based on the 10-volume: The encyclopedia of language and linguistics / R.E. Asher, editor-in-chief. 1994.

Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, 1999.

London : Routledge, 2004. “A reference for language teachers that analyzes the body of knowledge and skills of the profession and provides information on everyday matters such as the meanings of acronyms and the origins and purposes of professional organizations. Entries cover the teaching of specific languages as well as the teaching of languages in specific countries. The editor, Byram (education, U. of Durham, UK), writes that although the work could not be exhaustive, it does attempt to include traditions other than the Anglo- American. The reference is organized alphabetically and also has a list of contents (showing main entries grouped by theme) and an index of key words.”

Dordrecht ; Boston : Kluwer, c1997. “Covers numerous subjects in the field of language and education. Each volume (10 total) deals with a single substantial subject and includes topical reviews, written by one or more experts in the topic, which provide complete coverage of the subject of the volume. The more than 250 scholars contributing to the Encyclopedia (in the 10 volumes) hail from all continents of our globe and from 41 countries; they represent a great diversity of linguistic, cultural, and disciplinary traditions.” v. 1. Language policy and political issues in education / edited by Ruth Wodak and David Corson -- v. 2. Literacy / edited by Viv Edwards and David Corson -- v. 3. Oral discourse and education / edited by Bronwyn Davies and David Corson -- v. 4. Second language education / edited by G. Richard Tucker and David Corson -- v. 5. Bilingual education / edited by Jim Cummins and David Corson -- v. 6. Knowledge about language / edited by Leo Van Lier and David Corson -- v. 7. Language testing and assessment / edited by Caroline Clapham and David Corson -- v. 8. Research methods in language and education / edited by Nancy H. Hornberger and David Corson.

Deusen-Scholl, Nelleke Van, and Nancy H. Hornberger. Second and Foreign Language Education, v. 4. "This volume focuses on second and foreign language education, including second language acquisition. Including research and scholarly content essential to the field of language teaching and learning in the age of globalization. The publication of this work charts the deepening and broadening of the field of language and education. It reflects the depth of disciplinary knowledge, breadth of interdisciplinary perspective, and diversity of sociogeographic experience in our field."