Oxford Reference Online
These reference resources from Oxford University Press are all available online, and some of them are available both online and in print (see notes for each item).
A Dictionary of Psychology by Call Number: WCampus Ref BF31 .C65 2001ISBN: 0199534063This is available both in print (see call number) and in the Oxford Reference Online database (click on link).
A Dictionary of Public Health by ISBN: 0195160908Available in the Oxford Reference Online database only (click on link).
Dictionary of the Social Sciences by Call Number: ECampus Ref H41 .D53 2002ISBN: 0195123719This is available both in print (see call number) and in the Oxford Reference Online database (click on link).
A Dictionary of Sociology by ISBN: 0199533008Available in the Oxford Reference Online database only (click on link).
A Dictionary of Statistics by ISBN: 0199541450Available in the Oxford Reference Online database only (click on link).
Social Work Reference Resources
When you're beginning your research, reference resources can be your best friends. These types of resources can give you valuable background information and provide bibliographies to help you go deeper into a particular subject. The resources below and in the other boxes on this page can be great places to start.
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Work by Call Number: ECampus Ref HV12 .B53 2000ISBN: 063121450XPublication Date: 2000-10-31The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Work provides a concise guide to 400 topics relevant to the practice of social work in the 21st Century. It brings together 250 top authors and covers all service user groups.
A Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care by Call Number: E-book - click on link above.ISBN: 0198796684Publication Date: 2018-03-18This new edition has been fully revised and updated to provide over 1,800 A-Z definitions of terms from the field of social care, concentrating on social work as a significant area within this field. Covering social work theories, methods, policies, organizations, and statutes, as well as key terms from interdisciplinary topics overlapping with health and education, this is the most up-to-date dictionary of its kind available. It also provides extended entries on specialisms such as children and families, domestic violence, and residential care, and has been extensively updated to include new legislation. Useful appendices include a glossary of acronyms and a Table of Legislation, Regulations, and Codes of Practice, cross-referenced to Dictionary entries. Entry-level bibliographies and web links provide further resources and the web links are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website.
Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare, Set by Call Number: ECampus Ref HV40 .C635 2008 vs.1-4ISBN: 0471752223Publication Date: 2008-03-07The Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare presents a comprehensive and up-to-date review of this constantly evolving field, featuring contributions from renowned national and international experts. Organized by major foundational areas within the social work curriculum, each volume includes cutting-edge information related to all aspects of the profession to guide practice and policy decision-making across the field. Social work researchers, educators, practitioners, and students will gain important insight as well as practical resources related to this dynamic profession.
Dictionary of Social Work by Call Number: Ebook - click on link aboveISBN: 0335238815Publication Date: 2010-09-01"This updated and revised version of a very popular and well received book provides a key quick reference work for students, and new and experienced practitioners. The succinct résumés of current issues and their implications for practice and policy help readers to get to grips with the wide range of key concepts and terms used in social work, social care, law and health services. This book is highly recommended for its wide-ranging set of summaries which are valuable in first encounters with, or updating of, knowledge in social work." Professor Brian Littlechild, Associate Head of School of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work, University of Hertfordshire
Handbook of Social Work in Health and Aging by Call Number: ECampus Ref HV1451 .H34 2006ISBN: 0195173724
The Handbook of Social Work Research Methods by Call Number: ECampus Ref HV11 .H342 2001ISBN: 0761919058
CQ Researcher & CQ Public Affairs Collection
CQ Researcher is an online resource that provides researchers reports about current issues. The reports include introductory overviews, background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources.
The CQ Public Affairs Collection is "organized by 22 key public affairs subject headings—like Advocacy and Public Service, Education, Energy, the Environment, Health, and Transportation—the CQ Public Affairs Collection features in-depth reporting on vital issues, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas."