Physical Education Research Guide: Find Articles

An APU NetID and password are required to access these journals.

Periodical indexes are reference tools that help you locate articles in journals. You will certainly find records for journals in the APU library catalog, but the records are only to give you some basic information about the journals that APU Libraries own. You cannot use APOLIS to actually search inside the journals – that's where periodical indexes come in. Periodical indexes are usually subject-specific, and will have citations for every article in hundreds of relevant journals, and are usually published annually. You will often find that the indexes will have a few different ways for you to look for articles – listings by subject and by author are the most common.

The items listed in this section are print periodical indexes, and are located on the shelves of one of the APU Libraries. Many indexes are now available in both print and online format. Most of the online databases that APU Libraries provide are actually online periodical indexes. Many people these days prefer the convenience of online searching as opposed to coming to the library and searching through the print periodical indexes, volume by volume. However, most online periodical indexes (with very few exceptions) have only indexed the last 5-10 years of any given journal. The print versions of most indexes go back many years, and can be useful in retrieving older journal articles.

An APU NetID and password are required to access these databases. For a description of each database, go to the "All Databases" page and look up the database by title.