This is the "Instructions for Azusa Campus Students" page of the "Finding Full Text from the ERIC Database" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding Full Text from the ERIC Database   Tags: education, full_text  

How to find full text when ERIC only has an abstract. Note: This LibGuide was originally created by Kimberley Stephenson.
Last Updated: May 13, 2013 URL: http://apu.libguides.com/ericfulltext Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Instructions for Azusa Campus Students Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search ERIC

Search ERIC

 

(Results will open in a new window/tab)

 

What do you think?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

First Step: Find the ERIC Number

Items in the ERIC database may be either journal articles or ERIC “documents.” The item type determines the steps you should take to locate the full text. To begin, locate the item’s ERIC number.

An ERIC number beginning with “EJ” indicates that the item was originally published in some kind of periodical (journal, magazine, or newspaper).

An ERIC number beginning with “ED” indicates that the item was originally published as a book, a government report, a dissertation, a lesson plan, a conference paper, etc. Click the title of the item, then look for the “Publication Type” to determine the format:

ERIC publication type

 

Finding Full Text--Journal Articles

Often, databases will include the full text of the articles and documents that appear in your search results. However, database publishers may not always have the rights to reprint the full text of some articles, and you will have to do a bit of searching to locate the full text.

The Full Text Finder can save you time in this process--just click the "Full Text Finder" button under the article citation.

Full Text Finder button in ERIC

The Full Text Finder window will show you whether APU owns a copy of the article you need:

In this case, APU has a print copy, as well as an electronic copy available through the Sage database. Clicking on the "Full text available from Sage" link takes you right to the full text of the article:

Full text in the SAGE Journals Online database

If the article is only available in print, you will need to come in to the library to make a photocopy. Regional Center and online students may use the ArticleReach link to request a free, scanned copy of the article.

If the Full Text Finder indicates that APU does not have a copy of the article that you need, you can use the ArticleReach service to request a free, scanned copy from another library. Most requests will be filled within 48 hours; if your request takes longer, the library will contact you. For more information on ArticleReach, please read our guide "How to use ArticleReach to Request Articles."

 

Finding Full Text--ERIC Documents

  1. If the item is a book, try searching the APU Library Catalog for the title. If APU owns the book, you can click the "Request" link next to the item you want and select a pickup location. We'll email you when your items are ready to pick up, which will usually be the next business day.
  2. If APU doesn't own the book (or if APU’s copy is checked out), search LINK+. If you find the book in LINK+, click "Request this Item," and fill out the form. We will get the book through the LINK+ system and email you when it is available for pickup. LINK+ items may be picked up in either Marshburn or Darling Library.
  3. We should have all non-book ERIC documents on microfiche. If you need a copy of one of these, write down the ERIC number and contact an APU librarian for help obtaining a copy of the document.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Evelyn Shimazu Yee
 

Ask A Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip