This is the "Home" page of the "Diversity in Language Teaching: A select bibliography" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Diversity in Language Teaching: A select bibliography   Tags: apa, bibliography, diversity, ethics, international, modern_languages, multicultural, research, tesl535, tesol  

A bibliography on diversity in TESOL and Modern Languages.
Last Updated: Jun 17, 2010 URL: http://apu.libguides.com/diversitytesol Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

This list includes books and videos on diversity issues facing language teachers and students both within the US and abroad. Although, I could also include materials selected for Modern Languages that are written in other languages (such as Spanish, French, Italian, Chinese. Japanese, etc.) to show the diversity of languages taught and spoken here at APU, I decided against this since it would take up many pages. Some keywords I used in selecting these materials include minority, diversity, social justice, international, international student, identity, abroad, foreign, color, race, intercultural, advocacy, global, African American, Native American, Chicano/a, Asian American, language revitalization, indigenous languages, language death, sociocultural, ethnic, cultures, world englishes, endangered languages, minority languages, bilingualism, multilingualism, heritage languages, linguistic diversity, cultural, sociolinguistics, global englishes, international English, EIL, ebonics, urban education, ethnolinguistic, stereotyping, power, cultural politics, inequality, language planning, inclusive pedagogy, etc.

 

Bibliography

Adams, M., Bell, L. A., & Griffin, P. (2007). Teaching for diversity and social justice. New York: Routledge.

Adamson, H. D. (2005). Language minority students in American schools: An education in English. Mahwah, N.J.: L. Erlbaum Associates.

Alsup, J. (2006). Teacher identity discourses: Negotiating personal and professional spaces. NCTE-LEA research series in literacy and composition. Mahwah, N.J.: L. Erlbaum Associates.

Altbach, P. G. (1987). Higher education in the Third World: Themes and variations. New York: Advent Books.

Byram, M., & Feng, A. (2006). Living and studying abroad Research and practice. Clevedon [England]: Multilingual Matters Ltd.

Case, E. D. (2004). Making the transition from an intensive English program to mainstream university courses: An ethnographic study. Mellen studies in education, 96. Lewiston, N.Y.: Edwin Mellen Press.

Corbett, J. (2003). An intercultural approach to English language teaching. Languages for intercultural communication and education, 7. Clevedon, England: Multilingual Matters.

Curtis, A., & Romney, M. (2006). Color, race, and English language teaching: Shades of meaning. Mahwah, N.J.: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates.

Crawford, J. (2008). Advocating for English learners: Selected essays. Bilingual education and bilingualism, 69. Clevedon: Multilingual Matters.

Davis, K. D. (2007). Global evolution: A chronological annotated bibliography of international students in U.S. academic libraries. Chicago: Association of College and Research Libraries.

Delpit, L. D. (1995). Other people's children: Cultural conflict in the classroom. New York: New Press.

Deardorff, D. K. (2009). The Sage handbook of intercultural competence. Thousand Oaks, Calif: Sage Publications.

Dörnyei, Z., & Ushioda, E. (2009). Motivation, language identity and the L2 self. Bristol, UK: Multilingual Matters.

Enoch, J. (2008). Refiguring rhetorical education: Women teaching African American, Native American, and Chicano/a students, 1865-1911. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press.

Fishman, J. A., Hornberger, N. H., & Pütz, M. (2006). Language loyalty, language planning, and language revitalization: Recent writings and reflections from Joshua A. Fishman. Bilingual education and bilingualism, 59. Clevedon [England]: Multilingual Matters.

Freire, P. (2000). Pedagogy of the oppressed. New York: Continuum.

Gürüz, K. (2008). Higher education and international student mobility in the global knowledge economy. Albany: State University of New York Press.

Hagège, C. (2009). On the death and life of languages. New Haven: Yale University Press.

Harbert, W., McConnell-Ginet, S., Miller, A., & Whitman, J. (2009). Language and poverty. Bristol, UK: Multilingual Matters.

Holmberg, B., Shelley, M., & White, C. (2005). Distance education and languages: Evolution and change. New perspectives on language and education. Clevedon, Hants, England: Multilingual Matters.

Hornberger, N. H. (2008). Can schools save indigenous languages?: Policy and practice on four continents. Basingstoke [England]: Palgrave Macmillan.

Jenkins, J. (2007). English as a Lingua Franca: Attitude and identity. Oxford applied linguistics. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

Johnson, K. E. (2009). Second language teacher education: A sociocultural perspective. New York: Routledge.

Joseph, J. E. (2004). Language and identity: National, ethnic, religious. Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire: Palgrave Macmillan.

Kachru, Y., & Smith, L. E. (2008). Cultures, contexts and world Englishes. New York: Routledge.

Kinberg, M., & Serdyukov, P. (2006). Bilingualism and American national unity: The pros and cons of immersion education. Lewiston: Edwin Mellen Press.

King, K. A. (2008). Sustaining linguistic diversity: Endangered and minority languages and language varieties. Washington, D.C.: Georgetown Univ. Press.

Kirkpatrick, A. (2007). World Englishes: Implications for international communication and English language teaching. Cambridge [etc.]: Cambridge University Press.

Kondo-Brown, K., & Brown, J. D. (2008). Teaching Chinese, Japanese, and Korean heritage language students: Curriculum needs, materials, and assessment. New York: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates.

Kramer, S., Miller, D. A., Newberger, J. S., Anderson, G. D. S., & Harrison, K. D. (2009). The linguists [DVD]. [Garrison, N.Y.]: Ironbound Films.

Kubota, R., & Lin, A. (2009). Race, culture, and identities in second language education: Exploring critically engaged practice. New York: Routledge.

Landis, D., Bennett, J. M., & Bennett, M. J. (2004). Handbook of intercultural training. Thousand Oaks, Calif: Sage Publications.

Lane, H. L. (1999). The mask of benevolence: Disabling the deaf community. San Diego, CA: DawnSignPress.

Le Clézio, J.-M. G. (1993). The Mexican dream, or, The interrupted thought of Amerindian civilizations. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.

Lin, A. (2008). Problematizing identity: Everyday struggles in language, culture, and education. New York: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates.

Liu, J. (2007). English language teaching in China: New approaches, perspectives and standards. London: Continuum.

Llamas, C., Mullany, L., & Stockwell, P. (2007). The Routledge companion to sociolinguistics. London: Routledge

McGarrell, H. M. (2007). Language teacher research in the Americas. Alexandria, VA: Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages.

McKay, S., & Bokhorst-Heng, W. D. (2008). International English in its sociolinguistic contexts: Towards a socially sensitive EIL pedagogy. New York: Routledge.

O'Dowd, R. (2007). Online intercultural exchange An introduction for foreign language teachers. Languages for intercultural communication and education, 15. Clevedon: Multilingual Matters.

Pennycook, A. (2007). Global Englishes and transcultural flows. London: Routledge.

Pennycook, A. (1994). The cultural politics of English as an international language. Language in social life series. London: Longman.

Phipps, A. M., & Guilherme, M. (2004). Critical pedagogy: Political approaches to language and intercultural communication. Languages for intercultural communication and education, 8. Clevedon, UK: Multilingual Matters.

Phan, L. H. (2008). Teaching English as an international language: Identity, resistance and negotiation. Clevedon, UK: Multilingual Matters.

Powell, R. G., & Caseau, D. (2004). Classroom communication and diversity: Enhancing instructional practice. Mahwah, NJ: L. Erlbaum Associates.

Ramirez, J. D. (2005). Ebonics: The urban education debate. New perspectives on language and education. Clevedon, Hants, England: Multilingual Matters.

Reyes, A. (2007). Language, identity, and stereotype among Southeast Asian American youth: The other Asian. Mahwah, N.J.: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates.

Riley, P. (2007). Language, culture and identity: An ethnolinguistic perspective. Advances in sociolinguistics. London: Continuum.

Romanowski, M. H., & McCarthy, T. (2009). Teaching in a distant classroom: Crossing borders for global transformation. Downers Grove, Ill: IVP Books.

Rudby, R., & Saraceni, M. (2006). English in the world: Global rules, global roles. London: Continuum.

Schiffrin, D., Tannen, D., & Hamilton, H. E. (2003). The handbook of discourse analysis. Oxford: Blackwell.

Sercu, L., & Bandura, E. (2005). Foreign language teachers and intercultural competence: An international investigation. Languages for intercultural communication and education, 10. Clevedon: Multilingual Matters.

Sharkey, J., & Johnson, K. E. (Eds.) (2003). The TESOL quarterly dialogues: Rethinking issues of language, culture, and power. Alexandria, Va: Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages.

Shaules, J. (2007). Deep culture: The hidden challenges of global living. Languages for intercultural communication and education, 16. Clevedon: Multilingual matters.

Smith, D. (2009). Learning from the stranger: Christian faith and cultural diversity. Grand Rapids, Mich: William B. Eerdmans Pub.

Smith, D., & Osborn, T. A. (2007). Spirituality, social justice, and language learning. Charlotte, NC: IAP - Information Age Pub.

Spring, J. H. (2004). How educational ideologies are shaping global society Intergovernmental organizations, NGO's, and the decline of the nation-state. Sociocultural, political, and historical studies in education. Mahwah, N.J.: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates.

Spring, J. H. (2006). Pedagogies of globalization: The rise of the educational security state. Sociocultural, political, and historical studies in education. Mahway, N.J.: L. Erlbaum Associates.

Storti, C. (2001). Art of crossing cultures. Yarmouth, Me: Intercultural Press.

Tokuhama-Espinosa, T. (2008). Living languages: Multilingualism across the lifespan. Westport, Conn: Praeger.

Tollefson, J. W. (1991). Planning language, planning inequality: Language policy in the community. Language in social life series. London: Longman.

Townson, D. (2008). Handbook of sociolinguistics. Oxford, UK: Blackwell.

Valdés, G. (2006). Developing minority language resources: The case of Spanish in California. Bilingual education and bilingualism, 58. Buffalo: Multilingual Matters.

Verplaetse, L. S., & Migliacci, N. (2008). Inclusive pedagogy for English language learners: A handbook of research-informed practices. New York: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates.

Wolfram, W., & Thomas, E. R. (2002). The development of African American English. Oxford, U.K.: Blackwell.

Wong, M. S., & Canagarajah, A. S. (2009). Christian and critical English language educators in dialogue Pedagogical and ethical dilemmas. New York: Routledge.

Youmans, M. (2007). Chicano-Anglo conversations: Truth, honesty, and politeness. ESL and applied linguistics professional series. Mahwah, N.J.: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates.

Zamel, V., & Spack, R. (2004). Crossing the curriculum multilingual learners in college classrooms. Mahwah, N.J.: L. Erlbaum Associates.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Denise R. Gehring, MS(LIS), MA
Logo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Associate Professor
Head of Print Resources & Bibliographic Services
Hugh & Hazel Darling Library #210
701 E. Foothill Blvd.
Azusa, CA 91702
626-815-6000 x5264
Send Email

Suggest other materials

Please suggest other titles that you think are appropriate to add to this bibliography.

Other TESOL Related Guides

Accessing TESOL Quarterly
by Denise Gehring - Last Updated Jul 2, 2012
TESOL Quarterly is a scholarly/peer reviewed journal published by the Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages, Inc. (TESOL) association and is the most widely used journal of APU TESOL graduate students for research.
36 views this year
Diversity in Language Teaching: A select bibliography
by Denise Gehring - Last Updated Jun 17, 2010
A bibliography on diversity in TESOL and Modern Languages.
91 views this year
Second Language Acquisition Research Guide
by Denise Gehring - Last Updated Aug 19, 2010
Research guide to support the study and teaching of SLA at Azusa Pacific University.
1,234 views this year
TESOL Research Guide
by Denise Gehring - Last Updated Jul 19, 2012
Provides information to library resources and services for those studying Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages at APU.
60 views this year
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip