LibGuides: THEO352 (Church History: Apostolic Era to the Eve of the Reformation): Find Web Resources

Evaluating Websites

There are several excellent resources on the Internet that will aid you in your studies. Be sure to evaluate websites for not only relevancy, but also authority and quality. Take a look at the handout below for tips on evaluating websites.

Evaluating Web Pages

Finding Primary Sources

Defining and finding primary sources can be challenging. The resources below provide a good overview and several examples of primary sources.

Primary Sources at Yale
Introduces researchers to the various types of primary sources - includes images.
Reference & User Services Association: Using Primary Sources on the Web
Includes definition of primary sources, and how to find, evaluate and cite primary sources on the Web.
University of California Berkeley Library: Finding Historical Primary Sources
Defines both primary and secondary sources, and provides instruction on how to find them.
University of California Irvine Libraries: Primary Sources Tutorial
Includes two tutorials: Introductions to Primary Sources, and How to Find Primary Sources

Recommended Websites

The following websites provide information on a variety of topics in church history.

Association of Religion Data Archives This site has an incredible amount of information on religions, especially denominations within Christianity
Augustine of Hippo This website, dedicated to the study of Augustine, provides texts, commentaries, essays and other research materials.
Byzantium: Byzantine Studies on the Internet This website supplements a course in Byzantine Studies at Fordham University, and includes a collection of articles, syllabi, images of Byzantine icons, and links to other sites.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library An excellent resource for electronic texts: the Bible, commentaries, hymns, sermons, Early Church Fathers, and many texts from the history of Christianity.
Early Christian Writings "The purpose of this web site is to set out all of the Christian writings that are believed to have been written in the first and second centuries, as well as a few selected from the early third."
ECOLE Initiative This is "a hypertext encyclopedia of early Church history (to the Reformation) on the World-Wide Web," created by several scholars. While no longer maintained, this site contains short and long essays on numerous topics, as well as a chronology with cross-referencing.
The Hall of Church History This is essentially a portal page to Internet resources relevant to church history. Links include sites with primary sources, sites dedicated to particular movements and people, etc.
Internet Christian Library: Early Church Documents This website provides links relating to the early church, including canonical documents, creeds, the writings of the Apostolic Fathers and other historical texts relevant to church history.
The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies Sponsored by Georgetown University, The Labyrinth provides free, organized access to databases, services, texts, and images in medieval studies.
Monachos Monachos.net is a web site dedicated to the study of Orthodox Christianity through its patristic, monastic and liturgical heritage.
New Advent A gateway to the electronic Catholic Encyclopedia, St. Thomas' Summa Theologica, the writings of the Church Fathers, and the Douay-Rheims Bible, as well as other Catholic resources.
Worlds of Late Antiquity This is a mainly a course supplement (by Dr. James O-Donnell, Georgetown University), and contains miscellaneous materials relating to the culture of the Mediterranean world in late antiquity (roughly 200-700 C.E.).

Internet Searching

Try searching for online texts by particular theologians by using Google. Use the examples below as guides for your searches - simply substitute the names of various theologians where you see "soren kierkegaard."

"soren kierkegaard" online texts

-OR-

"soren kierkegaard" online books