Admin Sign In 

Finding Full Text from the ERIC Database  Tags: education full_text  

How to find full text when ERIC only has an abstract
Last update: Oct 15th, 2009 URL: http://apu.libguides.com/ericfulltext  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Instructions for Azusa Campus Students             Print Page
  
 

Search ERIC

Search ERIC

 

(Results will open in a new window/tab)

 

What do you think?

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
 

First Step: Find the ERIC Number

Items in the ERIC database may be either journal articles or ERIC “documents.” The item type determines the steps you should take to locate the full text. To begin, locate the item’s ERIC number.

An ERIC number beginning with “EJ” indicates that the item was originally published in some kind of periodical (journal, magazine, or newspaper).

An ERIC number beginning with “ED” indicates that the item was originally published as a book, a government report, a dissertation, a lesson plan, a conference paper, etc. Click the title of the item, then look for the “Publication Type” to determine the format:

ERIC publication type

 

Finding Full Text--Journal Articles

  1. Click the "Periodical Finder" button under the article's title:
    ERIC periodical finder button
  2. If we have the journal electronically, you will see a link to access it. Make sure you confirm that the online link covers the year you need:
    Periodical finder
  3. If we have the article in "print/microform," you will need to come in to the library to make copies. Click the “Print/Microform” link to make sure the library has a copy of the volume/issue you need.
  4. If we don't have access to the journal at all, you can fill out the Interlibrary Services form and we will get a copy of the article for you from another library. There is a $2 per article fee for this service; articles will be emailed as scanned copies.
 

Finding Full Text--ERIC Documents

  1. If the item is a book, try searching the APU Library Catalog for the title. If APU owns the book, you can click the "Request" link next to the item you want and select a pickup location. We'll email you when your items are ready to pick up, which will usually be the next business day.
  2. If APU doesn't own the book (or if APU’s copy is checked out), search LINK+. If you find the book in LINK+, click "Request this Item," and fill out the form. We will get the book through the LINK+ system and email you when it is available for pickup. LINK+ items may be picked up in either Marshburn or Darling Library.
  3. We should have all non-book ERIC documents on microfiche. If you need a copy of one of these, write down the ERIC number and come in to Darling Library. One of the circulation workers can help you use and print from the microfiche reader.
 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageKimberley Stephenson
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor; Web Services Librarian
Darling Library
Azusa Pacific University
701 E. Foothill Blvd.
Azusa, CA 91702
(626) 815-6000 x5770
Send Email

Subjects:
Higher Education, Doctoral K-12 Education

 

Ask A Librarian

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait