This is the "Home" page of the "Internet Resources for Global Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Internet Resources for Global Studies   Tags: bibliography, global_studies, missions  

Recommended web sites for global studies research
Last Updated: Dec 4, 2009 URL: http://apu.libguides.com/globalstudiesweb Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Useful Web Resources for Global Studies

  • Background Notes
    “These publications include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.”
  • Country Studies
    “This Web site contains the online versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress. Each study offers a comprehensive description and analysis of the country or region's historical setting, geography, society, economy, political system, foreign policy, and national security.”
  • Economist.com: Country Briefings
    “Country Briefings includes news, country profiles, forecasts, statistics and more.”
  • Portals to the World
    “Portals to the World contains selective links providing authoritative, in-depth information about the nations and other areas of the world. They are arranged by country or area with the links for each sorted into a wide range of broad categories.”
  • World Factbook
    “The World Factbook is produced by CIA's Directorate of Intelligence. The Factbook is a comprehensive resource of facts and statistics on more than 250 countries and other entities.”
  • National Geographic: Travel & Cultures
    This website has a lot to offer including country information, world music, a “map machine,” great photographs, and more.
  • Festivals.com
    Festivals.com is "the Internet's largest Festival and Event resource." The site also includes destination information, travel tools, maps, and other features.
  • UN News Centre
    “A one-stop guide to essential resources on UN issues in the news”
  • TimeOut.com
    "Within these pages you will find huge amounts of information about the world's greatest cities."
  • RootsWorld
    “A magazine of world music, roots and folk music, the most extensive collection of articles, reviews and audio features on the Internet.”
  • Foreign Languages for Travelers
    Learn basic words, numbers, shopping terms, travel terms, time/dates and more.
  • Wikitravel: List of Phrasebooks
    This is just what the URL implies: a list of phrasebooks.
  • Human Rights Watch
    “Human Rights Watch is the largest human rights organization based in the United States. Human Rights Watch researchers conduct fact-finding investigations into human rights abuses in all regions of the world. Human Rights Watch then publishes those findings in dozens of books and reports every year, generating extensive coverage in local and international media.”
  • U.S. Department of State: Issues & Press
    This part of the U.S. Department of State site includes information on human rights issues, and current world affairs.
  • Sociosite: Sociological Subjects
    This is a portal site that provides dozens of links for websites on several different sociological subjects.

Online Publications

  • The Economist
    “Economist.com is the premier online source for the analysis of world business and current affairs, providing authoritative insight and opinion on international news, world politics, business, finance, science and technology, as well as overviews of cultural trends and regular industry, business and country surveys.”
  • Foreign Policy
    “Foreign Policy is the premier, award-winning magazine of global politics, economics, and ideas. Our mission is to explain how the world works—in particular, how the process of global integration is reshaping nations, institutions, cultures, and, more fundamentally, our daily lives.”
  • Foreign Affairs
    Foreign Affairs “…is the international forum of choice for the most important new ideas, analysis, and debate on the most significant issues in the world.”
  • New Internationalist
    “New Internationalist is renowned for its radical, campaigning stance on a range of world issues, from the cynical marketing of babymilk in the Majority World to human rights in Burma.”

Missionary Websites

  • Ethnic Harvest: People-Group Specific Info
    This site includes several links to the Bible in various languages --- they are accessible by either country or language.
  • Peoplegroups.org
    Although there is no evidence anymore for this, this site was created by the International Mission Board of the Southern Baptist Convention. It contains good overviews of most people groups.
  • Commission Stories
    Commission Stories is published by the International Mission Board to communicate the work God is doing around the world.
  • International Mission Board: Peoples Around the World
    This site includes many different resources, including research tools, country and people group information, and media.
  • MisLinks
    This is a web-based missions directory with hundreds of resources for studying and “doing” missions.
  • Network for Strategic Missions
    This site is a portal for missions news, research tools, articles, college and university courses, e-groups and more.

Useful Web Tools

  • Eldis (Development Studies)
    The Eldis databases includes 18,000 online full text documents, resource guides, RSS newsfeeds, country profiles, and more --- all free of charge.
  • Amazon (Multi-Subject)
    This is a great resource for books. For more search options, be sure to click on “Advanced Search.”
  • Newspaperindex.com (World News)
    This is a portal site that provides access to hundreds of international online newspapers.
  • Onlinenewspapers.com (World News)
    This is a portal site that provides access to hundreds of international online newspapers.
  • Anthropological Index Online (Anthropology)
    “The Anthropological Index Online is based on the journal holdings of The Anthropology Library at the The British Museum which receives periodicals in all branches of anthropology, from academic institutions and publishers around the world.” This database does not include any full text articles.

High-Quality Directories

  • Librarian's Internet Index (LII)
    “You can search and browse LII for the best of the Web. LII has over 20,000 entries, maintained by librarians and organized into 14 main topics and nearly 300 related topics.”
  • Academic Info
    “Academic Info is an online subject directory of over 25,000 hand-picked educational resources for high school and college students, as well as a directory of online degree programs and admissions test preparation resources.”
  • INFOMINE
    INFOMINE is a virtual library of Internet resources relevant to faculty, students, and research staff at the university level. It contains useful Internet resources such as databases, electronic journals, electronic books, bulletin boards, mailing lists, online library card catalogs, articles, directories of researchers, and many other types of information.
  • Scout Report
    “Scout Reports provide educators, students, researchers, and librarians with fast, convenient ways of staying informed about the most valuable online resources.”
  • WWW Virtual Library
    “The WWW Virtual Library is the oldest catalogue of the Web, and is run by a loose confederation of volunteers, who compile pages of key links for particular areas in which they are expert. Even though it isn't the biggest index of the Web, the VL pages are widely recognised as being amongst the highest-quality guides to particular sections of the Web.”
  • Virtual Learning Resources Center
    “The mission of the Virtual Learning Resources Center is to index thousands of the best academic information websites, selected by teachers and library professionals worldwide, in order to provide to students and teachers current, valid information for school and university academic projects.”
  • Intute
    “Intute is a free online service that helps you to find the best web resources for your studies and research. ... Intute is created by a consortium of seven universities, working together with a whole host of partners.”

Commercial Directories

  • Google Directory
    “The Google directory is particularly useful when you're not sure how to narrow your search from a broad category. The directory can help you understand how topics within a specific area are related and may suggest terms that are useful in conducting a search. Google's directory engine also lets you search within a category once you've decided on the specific subsection of the web that interests you.”
  • Yahoo! Directory
  • IncyWincy
    IncyWincy includes 150 million webpages, and hundreds of thousands of search engines that are indexed and searchable.
  • CompletePlanet
    CompletePlanet includes over 70,000+ searchable databases and specialty search engines.

Other Search Engines

  • Google Scholar
    With Google Scholar, “you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.” NOTE: This doesn’t provide much full text, but is good for citations that we might have at APU in one of our databases or on our shelves.
  • Clusty
    “Clusty queries several top search engines, combines the results, and generates an ordered list based on comparative ranking.”

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Evelyn Shimazu Yee
 

Note

This guide was created by Michelle Spomer, M.Div., M.L.S., Reference & Instruction Librarian, Azusa Pacific University Libraries, December, 2006.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip