How to Find Books & MediaHow to Find Journals & ArticlesHow to Find WebsitesLibrary Vocabulary
Don't Forget About Us! Library Support for ESL StudentsResearch Tips for Faculty
This is the "Getting Started!" page of the "Library Resources for International Students" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Resources for International Students   Tags: diversity, efl, esl, global_studies, how_to, international, international_student, library_orientation, multicultural, research, tesol  

A library guide for international students to survive academic life and general life in America.
Last Updated: Aug 26, 2012 URL: http://apu.libguides.com/internationalstu Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started! Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

APU Libraries' Twitter Feed

Subscribe to the APU Libraries Twitter Feed!

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

What Do You Think?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Welcome!

Welcome to Azusa Pacific University Libraries information for International Students! We realize that you have come from different cultural and educational backgrounds, including the fact that many times US libraries are different from those around the world. Therefore, the library has resources and services that we help you adjust to library research in the US and to help you succeed in your academic experience at APU. Not only is there a librarian assigned (Denise Gehring) to help you as international students, there are many other librarians with specific subject specialties that you can contact for research assistance. Please be sure to contact someone if you need assistance with your research.

- Denise

Guide Tabs:

  • Life in America: Find resources to help you adapt to living in the US.
  • Academic Life: Learn how to find information to help you complete homework assignments
    • How to find Books & Media: Do you need books or media for you homework assignments? Go to this page for help on locating books & media.
    • How to find Journals & Articles: Do you need to find scholarly journal articles? Go to this page for help on locating them.
    • How to find Websites: Do need help finding and evaluating websites? How about information on learning English or test preparation? Check out this page for more information.
    • Library VocabularyThis list of key terms is useful for international students as they become acquainted with the APU libraries, especially when speaking about the process of finding information for research papers in the library.
  • APU Library Website: Check out the library website!

About the Libraries

There are three Libraries at the Azusa campus: Specialized collections include: The links below provide more information about APU Libraries:
  • Hours
    This link contains the hours for the main campus libraries.
  • Policies
    This link contains information on policies in the library.
  • Faculty & Staff
    This link contains contact information for all library faculty and staff.
  • Libraries & Collections
    Learn about the libraries and the collections available for students.

Library Services

These links provide information on library services available to students, faculty, and staff at APU:

  • How to Borrow Materials from the Library
    Find out information on borrowing materials from the library including how to checkout materials, borrowing privileges, accessing materials from partner libraries, and how to handle overdue and lost materials.
  • How to use Interlibrary Services
    "The Interlibrary Services Department provides a means for prompt delivery of books, articles and other resources to APU students and faculty for the support of research and teaching."
  • How to Access Reserves
    A guide for students on locating and using materials placed on reserve by course professors
  • How to Access Technology in the Library
    "The APU Libraries provide computers, Internet access, printers, and photocopiers for use by library patrons."

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Denise R. Gehring, MS(LIS), MA
Logo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Associate Professor
Head of Print Resources & Bibliographic Services
Hugh & Hazel Darling Library #210
701 E. Foothill Blvd.
Azusa, CA 91702
626-815-6000 x5264
Send Email
 

Ask A Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip