This is the "Getting Started" page of the "ENGL 112-01 (Introduction to Literary Analysis)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENGL 112-01 (Introduction to Literary Analysis)   Tags: english, english literature, literary criticism, literature  

This guide is for a course taught by Dr. Andrea Ivanov-Craig
Last Updated: Mar 26, 2014 URL: http://apu.libguides.com/literaryanalysis Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Digging

Research begins by digging in core, scholarly resources and then reading and evaluating with a discerning eye

 

Reading

How to Read and Why, by Harold Bloom, PN83 .B55 2000

How to Read World Literature [electronic resource] by David Damrosch

How to Read a Book, by Mortimer J. Adler and Charles van Doren, PN83 .A43 1972

 

Guiding Principal

Give your attention to wisdom, your mind to understanding and dig for it - keep at it - dig, read, evaluate and then repeat these over and over, all the while writing down ideas until something sparks your imagination and interpretation begins to surface.

 

Library of Congress Classification Online

 

Core Scholarly Resources

Oxford English Dictionary (OED), THE premier English dictionary (hardcopy)

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) ONLINE, An elecronic version of THE English dictionary

Oxford Reference Online, an online reference library including dictionaries and encyclopedias

MLA Directory of Periodicals, publishing details about the journals indexed in MLA International Bibliography

Literature Online, searchable database of key criticism and reference resources

Litfinder, provides access to full-text poems, stories and plays plus bibliographies, essays and explanatio

 

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Cambridge biographical encyclopedia, E. Campus Reference, CT103.C26 1998 (hardcopy)

Cambridge biographical dictionary, E. Campus Reference, CT103.C25 1996 (hardcopy)

Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (open access)

The Concise Oxford dictionary of literary terms, (Chris Baldick), E. Campus Reference, PN41.C67 2004 (hardcopy)

The Bedford Glossary of critical and literary terms, (Ross Murfin, Supryia M. Ray), E. Campus Reference, PN44.5 .M86 1998 (hardcopy)

Norton Anthology of American Literature (Online Glossary)

A Glossary of Literary Terms (Gale Online Glossary)

Literary Vocabulary, Carson-Newman College (Online literary terms compiled by Dr. Wheeler)

Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms, E. Campus Reference, PN41 .C67 2004 (hardcopy)

 

Biography Resources

American National Biography Online, Offers portraits of over 18,700 men and women (database)

Gale Virutal Reference Library, Includes biographical and literary criticism resources (database)

Who's Who, premiere biographical information (hardcopy)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip