This is the "Introduction" page of the "Multicultural Education Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Multicultural Education Research Guide   Tags: education, multicultural  

Resources and research tips for undergraduate and graduate education students. Note: This LibGuide was originally created by Kimberley Stephenson.
Last Updated: May 13, 2013 URL: http://apu.libguides.com/multiculturaled Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Note

 

What Do You Think?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Introduction

Multicultural education is an educational philosophy that promotes recognition, tolerance, and affirmation of racial, ethnic, linguistic, religious, gender, socioeconomic, age, and ability differences among all students and faculty. The beginnings of multicultural education are generally attributed to the U.S. civil rights movement of the 1960s.

Proponents of multicultural education frequently advocate pedagogical and curricular change, social justice, school reform, and political activism as a means of ensuring educational equality for students of all backgrounds.

Prominent scholars in the field of multicultural education include James A. Banks, Sonia Nieto, Carl A. Grant, Christine E. Sleeter, Cameron McCarthy, and Peter McLaren.

For a more detailed discussion, see the National Association for Multicultural Education's "Definition of Multicultural Education."

 

Introductory Resources

Cover Art
An Introduction to Multicultural Education - James A. Banks
Call Number: LC1099.3 .B36 1994
ISBN: 0205149103


Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education - Josué M. González, ed.
ISBN: 1412937205
A completely searchable electronic encyclopedia. Requires APU login and password.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Education - Bruce M. Mitchell and Robert E. Salsbury
Call Number: LC1099.3 .M58 1999
ISBN: 0313300291
Also available as an eBook.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education
ISBN: 1412906784
A completely searchable electronic encyclopedia. Requires APU login and password. Contains an excellent entry on multicultural education.




Your Librarian

Profile Image
Evelyn Shimazu Yee
 

Ask A Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip