This is the "Introductory Resources" page of the "Philosophy Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Philosophy Research Guide   Tags: philosophy  

Resources and research tips for students and faculty in philosophy.
Last Updated: Mar 13, 2013 URL: http://apu.libguides.com/philosophy Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Introductory Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Subject Introduction

Philosophy (from the Greek, philosophia) literally means the love of wisdom. This discipline studies the nature of the world and human conduct and the basis for human knowledge. Among the major areas of study in philosophy are logic, metaphysics (study of being or reality), epistemology (origin and nature of human knowledge), aesthetics (evaluative study of beauty, often as applied in the arts), and ethics. This guide is designed to be an entry into the study of philosophy and provides information on useful resources available in the Azusa Pacific University libraries. Resource collections in philosophy may be reviewed by key ideas, personalities, cultures, and time periods.

A good introductory review of philosophy and key concepts which might be helpful in your studies is:

Cover Art
Chronological and Thematic Charts of Philosophies and Philosophers - Milton D. Hunnex
Call Number: Theology Ref and Folio BD21 .H725 1986
ISBN: 0310462819
Publication Date: 1986-10-01

 

Reference Books

These works may provide introductory and background information related to your topic. Look for bibliographies within the articles to help you find additional resources.

To find more books, use the subject headings on the "Books and Media" tab of this guide, or click on the titles below and use the subject headings listed there.

Cover Art
A Companion to the Philosophers - Robert L. Arrington
Call Number: Theology Ref B72 .C595 1999
ISBN: 155786845X
Publication Date: 1998-10-29
A Companion to the Philosophers includes signed articles that are arranged by cultures, such as African, Chinese, European, Islamic, etc.

Cover Art
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy - Robert Audi (Editor)
Call Number: Theology Ref B41 .C35 1995
ISBN: 0521402247
Publication Date: 1995-07-28

Cover Art
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy - Edward Craig (Editor)
Call Number: Theology Ref B51 .R68 1998 (10 vols.)
ISBN: 0415073103
Publication Date: 1998-05-26

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Philosophy - Macmillan Publishing Company Staff
Call Number: Theology Ref B41 .E5 1967 (8 vols.)
ISBN: 0028949609
Publication Date: 1967

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Philosophy Supplement - Donald M. Borchet
Call Number: Theology Ref B41 .E5 1996 suppl
ISBN: 0028970489
Publication Date: 1996-12-01
The Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Supplement is related to the 8-volume work listed above it.

Cover Art
Dictionary of World Philosophy - A. Pablo Iannone
Call Number: Theology Ref B41 .I26 2001
ISBN: 0415179955
Publication Date: 2001-04-25

Cover Art
Augustine through the Ages - Allan D. Fitzgerald (Editor)
Call Number: Theology Ref B655.Z69 A84 1999
ISBN: 080283843X
Publication Date: 1999-06-01
Stamps Theological Library has a variety of dictionaries and companion volumes related to specific philosophers and time periods. You can search for these by the name of the philosopher and adding the term encyclopedias. Here is an example: Augustine, Saint, Bishop of Hippo – Encyclopedias

With this search, you will locate this very helpful encyclopedia on Augustine.

 

Ask A Librarian

 

What Do You Think?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip