Introduction
Welcome to the Health Sciences Research Guide!
Do you know how to use the health sciences databases like CINHAL, Medline, or Cochrane? This guide will help you figure these databases plus more out from simple keyword searching to subject searching and locating fulltext. We've also included search tips to help you with your searches. This guide is a starting point for your research in the areas of nursing, physical therapy, and other health professions.
Good luck! - Denise Gehring, Librarian for Graduate Nursing
APU Library Resources:
- APU Library CatalogTitles of books, eBooks (full text), journals and media items owned by the APU Libraries.
--Library Web site (www.apu.edu/library/) ‐Click on “More Search Options,” then “APU Catalog". - Article FinderLocate full text articles by citation using the citation of the article.
- Google Scholar Advanced SearchAPU's electronic holdings data is available on Google Scholar. This means that links to full text will be provided within Google Scholar results when APU has subscription access to the article.
--Go to http://scholar.google.com/, • For your 1st time: click on “Settings” (upper right), then “Library links” (middle left) and type Azusa Pacific in the Library Links box. Select “Azusa Pacific University – APU Library FT Finder” and click Save - ILEAC (Inland Empire Academic Library Cooperative)Access library resources from other participating IEALC libraries. It is a cooperative arrangement between 18 academic libraries in San Bernardino, Riverside, Los Angeles, and Orange Counties. Go to http://iealc.wikispaces.com/Membership+List to view a list of participating libraries.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL) & Document DeliveryRequest copies of books and articles from other libraries free of charge. For articles go to --Library Web site ‐> More Search Options -> Article Finder (enter citation information) -> Request a free copy... For books go to --Library Web site ‐> More search options -> Link+ (select book) -> Request
- My library accountYou can access your library account to see what books you have checked out or requested by link+. You can also view ILL charges and fines.
--Library Web site (www.apu.edu/library/) ‐Click on “My Library Account" in the gray box. - Periodical FinderLocate the full text of articles for which you have publication information. View the complete list of all journals, magazines, and newspapers to which the APU Libraries subscribe.
--From the Libraries’ Web site, click on “more search options”, then on “Periodical Finder.” - Search EverythingSearch Everything allows you to discover books and articles that they library may not subscribe to. You can easily request these books and articles through Link+ (for books) and ArticleReach (for articles) by click on the "fulltext finder" button.
- Research DatabasesFind journal/magazine/newspaper articles, statistics, book reviews, ebooks, and encyclopedia entries on your topic. Many databases provide instant access to the full text of the articles you find.
--From the Libraries’ Web site, click the “All Databases” link. Select a database from the alphabetical title list or use the drop‐down subject menu to find databases related to your topic. - Research GuidesLibGuides are created to help you learn about how you can use the library resources more effectively.
Finding & Evaluating Health Information on the Web
- Health information on the internet: Seeking the gold standardBrown, C., Yff, B., & Brown, C.. (2009, August). Health information on the internet: Seeking the gold standard. Choice, 46(12), 2239-2249.
- A user’s guide to finding and evaluating health information on the webMedical Library Association. (2009). A user’s guide to finding and evaluating health information on the web. Retrieved from http://www.mlanet.org/resources/userguide.html
- Essential nursing resources for the Interagency Council on Information Resources in nursingSchnall, J., and J. Levy. (2012). Essential nursing resources for the Interagency Council on Information Resources in nursing. Retrieved from http://icirn.org/Homepage/Essential-Nursing-Resources/Essential-Nursing-Resources-PDF.pdf
- Clinical Trials.gov"Offers up-to-date information for locating federally and privately supported clinical trials for a wide range of diseases and conditions."
- Medline Plus Diseases"Read about symptoms, causes, treatment and prevention for over 800 diseases, illnesses, health conditions and wellness issues. MedlinePlus health topics are regularly reviewed, and links are updated daily."
- TripDatabaseThis is a free online database that simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, and critically-appraised topics and articles -- including most of those listed above and many more. Also searches MEDLINE’s Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information leaflets. Sign up for a free account so that you can link to APU’s journal holdings.
- Evidenced Based Medicine ToolsProvides tools for each step of the EBM process.
- Centre for Reviews and Dissemination“ The CRD databases are updated daily and provide decision-makers with access to: Over 21,000 quality assessed systematic reviews; Over 11,000 economic evaluations; Over 10,000 summaries of completed and ongoing health technology assessments; Summaries of all Cochrane reviews and protocols; & Summaries of Campbell reviews”.
- National Guidelines ClearinghouseA comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents produced by the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans. Updated weekly. Note: Guideline evidence varies from expert opinion to high levels of evidence.