EbooksPrint Books
ArticlesDatabases, Indexes, & AbstractsJournals
Blogs & ListservsConferences, Associations, and OrganziationsGovernment Websites
BibliographiesBiographiesCorporaDictionariesDirectoriesEncyclopediasHandbooksStatistics Sources
This is the "Home" page of the "TESOL Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

TESOL Research Guide   Tags: bibliography, citations, efl, esl, full_text, library_orientation, matesol, research, tesol  

Provides information to library resources and services for those studying Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages at APU.
Last Updated: Sep 10, 2013 URL: http://apu.libguides.com/tesol Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Evaluate Me!

  • FES
    Assess a library instruction session
 

Introductory Resources

Cover Art
Key thinkers in linguistics and the philosophy of language - edited by Siobhan Chapman and Christopher Routledge
Call Number: Ebook - P107 .K49 2005
ISBN: 9780195187687
“A reference text on noted thinkers from antiquity to the present day who have made important contributions to the description or the theory of language. Included are linguists, philosophers, psychologists, anthropologists, cognitive scientists, critical theorists, and mathematicians, all from the Western tradition of thought. Each of the 80 entries offers an overview of the individual's work and a closer analysis of one or more aspects of that work; sufficient biographical information to place the individual's career and ideas in their historical and cultural context; names of other related key thinkers; and suggestions for primary and further reading. For undergraduate and graduate students, academics, and general readers in linguistics and the philosophy of language.”

Cover Art
Facts about the world's languages : an encyclopedia of the world's major languages, past and present - edited by Jane Garry and Carl Rubino ; contributing linguistics editors, Adams B. Bodomo, Alice Faber, Robert French.
Call Number: ECampus Ref - P371 .F33 2001
ISBN: 0824209702
“Provides linguistic descriptions of a selected assortment of languages from renowned scholars, as well as historical and cultural information for each language.”

Cover Art
Handbook of research in second language teaching and learning - Eli Hinkel
Call Number: Ebook - P118.2 .H359 2005
ISBN: 9781410612700
“Sixty-nine international academics contribute 57 chapters to a broad- based, state-of-the-art overview of current knowledge and research in second language (L2) teaching and learning. Coverage includes social contexts of learning; research methodologies in learning, acquisition, and teaching; contributions of applied linguistics to the teaching and learning of discrete and inextricably intertwined L2 skills; L2 processes and development; teaching methods and curricula; second or foreign language testing and assessment; and language planning and policies. For researchers, practitioners, graduate students, and faculty in teacher education and applied linguistics programs; teachers; teacher trainers and trainees; curriculum and material developers; and others in the field of L2 teaching and learning.”

 

Introduction

"The field of TESOL is a multifaceted academic discipline and profession with a distinct pedagogy that requires specialized training. That someone speaks English does not by itself qualify that person to teach it, especially to those who are learning English as an additional language. TESOL focuses on how to use English as a world language and how to understand and become acquainted with the various cultural practices of English-speaking people." (TESOL, 2008) This interdisciplinary "academic discipline requir[es] training in linguistics, language acquisition, language pedagogy, methodology, materials development, testing and research, curriculum and syllabus design, program administration, and cross-cultural communication." (TESOL, 2008) In addition, the MATESOL program at APU "provide graduate students from around the world with opportunities to acquire the values, attitudes, concepts, and skills required for teaching English to diverse student populations in a variety of educational contexts locally and internationally, in a manner marked by professional innovation, intercultural sensitivity, and spiritual passion" (Dep. of Global Studies, Sociology, & TESOL, 2009). For more information on the MATESOL program at APU go to http://www.apu.edu/clas/globalstudies/graduate/

Since TESOL draws from multidisciplinary fields, this guide identifies a variety of resources that will facilitate research. It contains scholarly and professional, print and electronic resources for graduate students in TESOL. The resources listed in this guide are available through the APU Libraries website - http://www.apu.edu/library/.

Library Resources & Services

  • APU Libraries  
      
    There are several library facilities available for student use, including the Darling Library & Stamps Theological Library (on West Campus) and the Marshburn Library (on East Campus). All APU libraries allow student access, check out and computer searching. Students are encouraged to use the resources in the libraries and to use the APU databases conveniently from your own home through the library website. To access the library website go to www.apu.edu/library.
  • Library Catalog & Quick Search  
      
    Find titles of books, eBooks (full text), journals and media items owned by the APU Libraries.

    Using Quick Search: From the Libraries’ Web site, locate the light gray box on the top right side of the page. Enter your keywords then select "search".

    Using the traditional catalog:
    From the Libraries’ Web site, locate the light gray box on the top right side of the page. Be sure to select “APU catalog” from the dropdown menu. Do a keyword, title, subject, or isbn search for your topic.

    Both Quick Search & Catalog: Click the “Request this Item” link to submit a request for the book to be delivered to the library of your choice.
  • Link+  
      
    Titles of the 30 million books owned by 53 participating libraries. This service is free.

    From the Library Web site ‐ Click on “More Search Options,” then “LINK+ Catalog— Advanced Search”. Do a keyword, title, or subject search for your topic.

    Click the “Request this Item” link to submit a request for the book. Requested books will be mailed to APU (which is normally 2‐4 business days after you submit your request). You will be notified through APU email when it is ready to pick up. You can also pick up items at any LINK+ participating library.
  • ILEAC (Inland Empire Academic Library Cooperative)
    Access library resources from other participating IEALC libraries. It is a cooperative arrangement between 18 academic libraries in San Bernardino, Riverside, Los Angeles, and Orange Counties. Go to http://iealc.wikispaces.com/Membership+List to view a list of participating libraries.

    It allows students to visit and borrow materials from participating libraries. Students must show their APU ID card and an IEALC card at the participating library in order to borrow books. This service is not available for faculty and staff. You can apply for the card by going to http://www.apu.edu/library/services/consortia/form/
  • Research Databases  
      
    Find journal/magazine/newspaper articles, statistics, book reviews, ebooks, and encyclopedia entries on your topic. Many databases provide instant access to the full text of the articles you find.

    From the Libraries’ Web site, click the “All Databases” link. Select a database from the alphabetical title list. Go to the Database/Journals tab for more information on specific databases that are related to TESOL.

    Do a keyword search for your topic in the database you have selected. Most of the databases allow you to limit your search to peer‐reviewed publications.
  • Periodical Finder/ Article Finder
    Locate the full text of articles for which you have publication information. View the complete list of all journals, magazines, and newspapers to which the APU Libraries subscribe.

    From the Libraries’ Web site, click on “more search options”, then on “Periodical Finder.” Search for the journal title (not the article title). If the journal is available full‐text, you will see a link. Click on the link to browse for the article. If no link is available, APU does not subscribe to the journal; you will need to use ArticleReach to obtain a copy from another library. Some journals are available in multiple databases, so check the date coverage listed.
  • Article Finder / ArticleReach  
      
    Request copies of articles from other libraries.

    Library Web site ‐ Click on “More Search Options,” then “Article Finder” (directly)
    OR through any library database

    If the Periodical Finder and/or Full Text Finder indicate that APU does not subscribe to the journal article that you need, you can request it through ArticleReach. This can be done from the databases.
    1) Once you have found an article in a database and it is not fulltext, click on the "Full-Text Finder" Link. If it is not fulltext proceed to step 2.
    2) Click on the "ArticleReach" Link. Simply, indicate that you are affiliated with Azusa Pacific University. On the next page verify the article information and click Submit.
  • Interlibrary Loan (ILL)  
      
    Request copies of books and articles from other libraries.

    From the Library Web site ‐Click “more search options”, ‐Fill out the “Article Finder” form.

    This service is free. You may keep the articles you receive. This service may take a minimum of 7-10 working days.
  • Google Scholar Advanced Search  
      
    APU's electronic holdings data (Citations and abstracts to scholarly articles, books and reports from scholarly publishers, universities and professional societies) is available on Google Scholar. This means that links to full text will be provided within Google Scholar results when APU has subscription access to the article.

    Go to http://scholar.google.com/, ‐Click the “Advanced Search” link.
    Full text is usually available for a free; check Article Finder to see if APU already subscribes to the title for free access.
  • Research Guides  
      
    LibGuides are created to help you learn about how you can use the library resources more effectively.

    Locate the TESOL related guides by going to http://apu.libguides.com/cat.php?cid=12817
    Locate the citation style guides by going to http://www.apu.edu/library/help/guides/citation/
    Locate other guides in different subject areas by going to http://apu.libguides.com/
  • Research Help
    Help with research or basic library resources. See the Research Tips tab.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Denise R. Gehring, MS(LIS), MA
Logo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Associate Professor
Head of Print Resources & Bibliographic Services
Hugh & Hazel Darling Library #210
701 E. Foothill Blvd.
Azusa, CA 91702
626-815-6000 x5264
Send Email

Other TESOL Related Guides

Diversity in Language Teaching: A select bibliography
by Denise Gehring - Last Updated Jun 17, 2010
A bibliography on diversity in TESOL and Modern Languages.
66 views this year
Second Language Acquisition Research Guide
by Denise Gehring - Last Updated Aug 19, 2010
Research guide to support the study and teaching of SLA at Azusa Pacific University.
792 views this year
Research Methods in TESOL
by Denise Gehring - Last Updated Apr 19, 2012
This research guide describes library resources and research techniques for TESL589 Research Methods in TESOL.
91 views this year
How to Write an Annotated Bibliography
by Denise Gehring - Last Updated Sep 28, 2010
Do you have an assignment to write an annotated bibliography? This guide will help you get started.
2,027 views this year
Current Events, Opposing Viewpoints, and Controversial Issues
by Denise Gehring - Last Updated Apr 26, 2012
Find research on pro/con issues, current events, opposing viewpoints, and controversial issues.
223 views this year
 

What Do You Think?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip