EbooksPrint Books
Blogs & ListservsConferences, Associations, and OrganziationsGovernment Websites
ArticlesDatabases, Indexes, & AbstractsJournals
This is the "Home" page of the "Research Methods in TESOL" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Methods in TESOL   Tags: research, research methods, research methods in tesol, tesl589, tesol  

This research guide describes library resources and research techniques for TESL589 Research Methods in TESOL.
Last Updated: Apr 19, 2012 URL: http://apu.libguides.com/tesolresearchmethods Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Evaluate Me!

 

Guides to Research methods in TESOL and Applied Linguistics

Go to the following link to view the ooks in the series "Approaches to language and literacy research".

Cover Art
Handbook of Research in Second Language Teaching and Learning - Eli Hinkel
Call Number: WCampus P118.2 .H359 2005
ISBN: 9781410612700
Publication Date: 2005-02-01

Cover Art
Qualitative Inquiry in TESOL - Keith Richards
ISBN: 9781403901347
Publication Date: 2003-11-22


Cover Art
Case Study Research in Applied Linguistics - Patricia A. Duff
ISBN: 9780805823592
Publication Date: 2007-10-04

Cover Art
Research in Applied Linguistics - Fred L. Perry
ISBN: 0805846840
Publication Date: 2005-05-25

Cover Art
Research Methods in Applied Linguistics - Zoltan Dörnyei
ISBN: 9780194422581
Publication Date: 2007-12-29

Cover Art
Doing Action Research in English Language Teaching - Anne Burns
ISBN: 9780415991452
Publication Date: 2009-11-10

 

Research Methods in TESOL

This researh guide is for the Research Methods in TESOL class. It is a work in progress, so come back later to see other resources that I have added.

Library Resources & Services

  • APU Libraries  
      
    There are several library facilities available for student use, including the Darling Library & Stamps Theological Library (on West Campus) and the Marshburn Library (on East Campus). All APU libraries allow student access, check out and computer searching. Students are encouraged to use the resources in the libraries and to use the APU databases conveniently from your own home through the library website. To access the library website go to www.apu.edu/library.
  • Library Catalog & Quick Search  
      
    Find titles of books, eBooks (full text), journals and media items owned by the APU Libraries.

    Using Quick Search: From the Libraries’ Web site, locate the light gray box on the top right side of the page. Enter your keywords then select "search".

    Using the traditional catalog:
    From the Libraries’ Web site, locate the light gray box on the top right side of the page. Be sure to select “APU catalog” from the dropdown menu. Do a keyword, title, subject, or isbn search for your topic.

    Both Quick Search & Catalog: Click the “Request this Item” link to submit a request for the book to be delivered to the library of your choice.
  • Link+  
      
    Titles of the 30 million books owned by 53 participating libraries. This service is free.

    From the Library Web site ‐ Click on “More Search Options,” then “LINK+ Catalog— Advanced Search”. Do a keyword, title, or subject search for your topic.

    Click the “Request this Item” link to submit a request for the book. Requested books will be mailed to APU (which is normally 2‐4 business days after you submit your request). You will be notified through APU email when it is ready to pick up. You can also pick up items at any LINK+ participating library.
  • ILEAC (Inland Empire Academic Library Cooperative)
    Access library resources from other participating IEALC libraries. It is a cooperative arrangement between 18 academic libraries in San Bernardino, Riverside, Los Angeles, and Orange Counties. Go to http://iealc.wikispaces.com/Membership+List to view a list of participating libraries.

    It allows students to visit and borrow materials from participating libraries. Students must show their APU ID card and an IEALC card at the participating library in order to borrow books. This service is not available for faculty and staff. You can apply for the card by going to http://www.apu.edu/library/services/consortia/form/
  • Research Databases  
      
    Find journal/magazine/newspaper articles, statistics, book reviews, ebooks, and encyclopedia entries on your topic. Many databases provide instant access to the full text of the articles you find.

    From the Libraries’ Web site, click the “All Databases” link. Select a database from the alphabetical title list. Go to the Database/Journals tab for more information on specific databases that are related to Research Methods in TESOL.

    Do a keyword search for your topic in the database you have selected. Most of the databases allow you to limit your search to peer‐reviewed publications.
  • Periodical Finder/ Fulltext Finder
    Locate the full text of articles for which you have publication information. View the complete list of all journals, magazines, and newspapers to which the APU Libraries subscribe.

    From the Libraries’ Web site, click on “more search options”, then on “Periodical Finder.” Search for the journal title (not the article title). If the journal is available full‐text, you will see a link. Click on the link to browse for the article. If no link is available, APU does not subscribe to the journal; you will need to use ArticleReach to obtain a copy from another library. Some journals are available in multiple databases, so check the date coverage listed.
  • Article Finder / ArticleReach  
      
    Request copies of articles from other libraries.

    Library Web site ‐ Click on “More Search Options,” then “Article Finder” (directly)
    OR through any library database

    If the Periodical Finder and/or Full Text Finder indicate that APU does not subscribe to the journal article that you need, you can request it through ArticleReach. This can be done from the databases.
    1) Once you have found an article in a database and it is not fulltext, click on the "Full-Text Finder" Link. If it is not fulltext proceed to step 2.
    2) Click on the "ArticleReach" Link. Simply, indicate that you are affiliated with Azusa Pacific University. On the next page verify the article information and click Submit.
  • Interlibrary Loan (ILL)  
      
    Request copies of books and articles from other libraries.

    From the Library Web site ‐Click “more search options”, ‐Fill out the “Article Finder” form.

    This service is free. You may keep the articles you receive. This service may take a minimum of 7-10 working days.
  • Google Scholar Advanced Search  
      
    APU's electronic holdings data (Citations and abstracts to scholarly articles, books and reports from scholarly publishers, universities and professional societies) is available on Google Scholar. This means that links to full text will be provided within Google Scholar results when APU has subscription access to the article.

    Go to http://scholar.google.com/, ‐Click the “Advanced Search” link.
    Full text is usually available for a fee; check Article Finder to see if APU already subscribes to the title for free access.
  • Research Guides  
      
    LibGuides are created to help you learn about how you can use the library resources more effectively.

    Locate the TESOL related guides by going to http://apu.libguides.com/cat.php?cid=12817
    Locate the citation style guides by going to http://www.apu.edu/library/help/guides/citation/
    Locate other guides in different subject areas by going to http://apu.libguides.com/
  • Research Help
    Help with research or basic library resources. See the Research Help tab.
 

Guides to Research Methods in Education and the Social Sciences

Cover Art
Doing Your Research Project - Judith Bell
Call Number: LB1028|b.B45 2010eb
ISBN: 9780335235827
Publication Date: 2010-05-01

Cover Art
An Education Research Primer - Patricia A. Lauer
Call Number: WCampus Folio LB1028 .L29 2006
ISBN: 0787983233
Publication Date: 2006-03-31

Cover Art
Comparative and International Education - David Phillips; Erwin Epstein (Foreword by); Michele Schweisfurth
Call Number: WCampus LB43 .P54 2007
ISBN: 1847060595
Publication Date: 2008-06-20

Cover Art
Conducting Research Literature Reviews - Arlene Fink
Call Number: WCampus Q180.55.M4 F56 2010
ISBN: 1412971896
Publication Date: 2009-03-26

Cover Art
Designing and Conducting Research in Education - Clifford J. Drew; Michael L. Hardman; John L. Hosp
Call Number: WCampus LB1028 .D7 2008
ISBN: 1412960746
Publication Date: 2007-10-13

Cover Art
Doing Qualitative Research in Education Settings - J. Amos Hatch
Call Number: WCampus LB1028 .H36 2002
ISBN: 0791455033
Publication Date: 2002-08-01

Cover Art
Evidence Matters - Frederick Mosteller; Robert Boruch
Call Number: WCampus LB1028 .E95 2002
ISBN: 0815702043
Publication Date: 2002-02-01

Cover Art
Foundations for Research - Kathleen Bennett DeMarrais; Stephen D. Lapan (Editor)
Call Number: WCampus LB1028 .F64 2004
ISBN: 0805836500
Publication Date: 2003-09-01

Cover Art
How to do Your Research Project - Gary Thomas
Call Number: WCampus LB2369 .T466 2009
ISBN: 1847874436
Publication Date: 2009-06-04

Cover Art
Interviewing as Qualitative Research - Irving Seidman
Call Number: WCampus H61.28 .S45 2006
ISBN: 0807746665
Publication Date: 2005-12-01

Cover Art
The Sage Handbook of Action Research - Peter Reason (Editor); Hilary Bradbury (Editor)
Call Number: ECampus HM571 .H36 2008
ISBN: 1412920299
Publication Date: 2007-11-30

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Denise R. Gehring, MS(LIS), MA
Logo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Associate Professor
Head of Print Resources & Bibliographic Services
Hugh & Hazel Darling Library #210
701 E. Foothill Blvd.
Azusa, CA 91702
626-815-6000 x5264
Send Email
 

Background Information

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education - Josué M. González (Editor)
Call Number: LC3707|b.E523 2008
ISBN: 9781412937207
Publication Date: 2008-06-05

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Language and Education - Ruth Wodak (Editor); David Corson (Editor)
Call Number: ECampusRef P40.8 .E53 1997
ISBN: 0792345967
Publication Date: 1998-01-31

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics - William Bright (Editor)
Call Number: ECampusRef P29 .I58 1991
ISBN: 0195051963
Publication Date: 1992-01-09

Cover Art
Encyclopeida of Language and Education - Nancy H. Hornberger (Editor); Kendall A. King (Editor)
Call Number: ECampusRef P40.8 .E53 2008
ISBN: 0387328750
Publication Date: 2007-12-01

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Case Study Research - Elden Wiebe (Editor); Gabrielle Durepos (Editor); Albert J. Mills (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412956703
Publication Date: 2009-10-21

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics - Neil J. Salkind
Call Number: Call Number: HA29|b.S2363 2007
ISBN: 1412916119
Publication Date: 2006-10-13

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Research Design - Neil J. Salkind (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412961271
Publication Date: 2010-06-22

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods - Paul J. Lavrakas (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412918084
Publication Date: 2008-09-12

Cover Art
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods - Michael S. Lewis-Beck; Alan Bryman; Tim F. Liao
Call Number: H62 .L456 2004
ISBN: 0761923632
Publication Date: 2003-12-15

Facts about the World's Languages - Jane Garry (Editor); Carl Rubino (Editor)
Call Number: ECampus Ref - P371 .F33 2001
ISBN: 0824209702
Publication Date: 2001-01-01

Cover Art
Key Thinkers in Linguistics and the Philosophy of Language - Siobhan Chapman (Editor); Christopher Routledge (Editor)
Call Number: Link+ - P107 .K49 2005
ISBN: 9780195187687
Publication Date: 2005-07-21

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip