Skip to Main Content

UBBL317 (Ruth & Esther): Journal Articles: Intro to Databases & Services

This guide is intended to help those in UBBL317 begin their research on Ruth or Esther. Rev. 6/2022, Sharon Ralston

NOTE

THIS PAGE IS UNDERGOING REVISION/REVIEW subject to functionality and services changes -- and developing changes -- due to the migration to our new library system.

Biblical Studies Databases

The following databases will provide you with journal articles, book reviews, essays, and more in the area of biblical studies. 

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

The subject-specific databases listed in the 'Biblical Studies" Subject listing under the Articles and Databases tab on the library home page are the best places to start searching for biblical studies materials, but you will probably also benefit from searching in some of the multi-disciplinary databases. Here are a few that are recommended. Hint: JSTOR can be useful for Biblical Studies topics that intersect with history and/or archaeology:

APU Databases

APU has close to 235 databases to assist you in your research. Most of these databases will help you find journal articles. However, there are many more types of content that you will discover in these databases, such as music scores (IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library), electronic books (Ebooks) (JSTOR Ebook Collection), art images (ARTstor), just to name a few.

To access the databases...

  • Go to the library website and click the Articles and Databases tab.  (This will generate an A-Z list of databases.)
  • For databases relevant to Ruth and Esther, click on the red Search "button" (no need to input anything into the Browse by Subject search box); on the A-Z Databases page generated, find the All Subjects box on the top left and click on the dropdown menu; click on Biblical Studies and a list of relevant databases will be provided; use the ATLA Religion Database with ATLAS PLUS as your first option.

Need help using ATLA Religion database and/or searching for articles about particular biblical passages? Go to the Search for Articles in Biblical Studies sub-tab above (linked from the Stamps Virtual Theological Library).

Finding Full Text Articles Online

There are usually a couple of scenarios in which you find yourself needing to know if APU Libraries can provide you with a particular journal article: 1) you found a journal article listed in a bibliography, or a syllabus, or elsewhere, and you'd really like to get it, or 2) you're searching in one of the many journal article databases, and you find an article in the results list that you want, but you don't see a full-text link. In the first case, a tool called 'Article Finder' will be helpful, and in the second case, the 'Full Text Finder' links will assist you.

Have a Particular Article You Want to Find? Use Article Finder!

When you want to know if APU Libraries can provide you with a particular journal article you have citation information for, Article Finder is the tool for you. Follow these steps:

  1. Go to the library website: http://www.apu.edu/library/
  2. Click on the 'Articles and Databases' tab, and then on the 'Article Finder' link (see graphic below). 


  3. Type in at least the journal title (or ISSN), volume, issue and the article title, and click 'Search' or 'Go.' More information is good, too. If you have a DOI, no other information is necessary.
  4. If the article is available in full-text for you to read online, you will be taken to a page displaying linked options for full text availability for the article and you can follow the link(s) to your database of choice when any such options are displayed and then find the article. [Note: This functionality may change with our new library system in 2022.]
  5. If there are no full text listings, this means that it isn't available in any of our databases nor in our print holdings. You will see a form with most of the citation filled out. Fill out any other citation information if necessary, and submit the form. You will receive the article in your email within 2-10 business days if it's available from our partner libraries. See the interlibrary loan services section of the library website. 
  6. If you are having problems using Article Finder, or if you're interested in simply checking to see if APU has a particular journal title, use the search box on the 'Journal Titles' tab. As opposed to Article Finder which takes complete citation information, Periodical Finder only requires the journal title to be inputted to check holdings.  If we have that journal in our databases, you will see a "virtual shelf" listing of the volume numbers available and you can click on the volume link and then use "search within" to find the needed article. 

Found a Great Article in a Database but No Full Text? Use Full Text Finder!

Before following the instructions below, note that not all of our databases will have Full Text Finder links (but most will).

  1. When you've performed a search in one of the journal article databases, and you have a list of results, you'll eventually start noticing that some results will have a full-text link (which means you can access the article online), and others have a Full Text Finder link (which means the database you're using does not provide access to the article online): 
  2. Click on the Full Text Finder link. You will be taken to a page listing links to possible options for finding or requesting the full text of the article, including:  Full Text - APU Licensed Resources (when it's available in any other databases) and ILL/Interlibrary Loan for APU patrons that has a link to a form so that you can request it via our ILL team - fill out any additional information, submit the form, and you should receive the article by email within 2-10 business days.  Additional groups of Browse options by journal title, author or article can be found there as well that can be pursued to try to unearth full text, but the most useful are the above-mentioned APU Licensed Resources (which sometimes includes Open Access as well), ILL services or searching APU's catalog to determine if we have the journal (and the volume and issue needed) in our print collection and then go to the library and make a copy or scan of it.