Reference Works
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets (DOTPr) by
2013 ECPA Book Award finalist!With the Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets, IVP's Black Dictionary series completes its coverage of the Old Testament canonical books. A true compendium of recent scholarship, the volume includes 115 articles covering all aspects of Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, the twelve "minor prophets" and Daniel. Each book's historical, cultural, religious and literary background is thoroughly covered, alongside articles on interpretation history and critical method. Pastors, scholars and students will find this a deep resource for their Old Testament studies.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440.D53 v.3ISBN: 9780830817849Publication Date: 2012-05-17
An Introduction to the Old Testament by
Enter the classroom of one of today's premier biblical interpreters as he shares his infectious love for the Old Testament. This is where you begin the adventure of exploring the Bible's First Testament. Some Old Testament introductions tell you what you could have seen for yourself. They might recount in detail what other scholars have said, and then tell you what you should think about it. But with refreshing directness, John Goldingay outfits you with basic knowledge, points out the main approaches, outlines the primary issues and then sets you loose to explore the terrain for yourself. Traverse the grand tapestry of the Torah. Discern the art and grain of biblical narrative. Listen to the cries, confessions and cadences of the Psalms. Probe the varied textures of wisdom literature. And ponder the prophets in the darkening nightmare of exile and the distant light of hope. More workbook than handbook, this introduction to the Old Testament is rooted in decades of tried and proven teaching. Goldingay displays a robust confidence in the truthfulness of Scripture combined with a refreshing trust in the reader's ability to grapple responsibly with the Old Testament. Even when the text hits you sideways, Goldingay encourages you not to squirm or run, but to grab hold and go deeper. Under his expert guidance the cordon between faith and criticism swings open into theological and spiritual insight.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1194 .G635 2015ISBN: 9780830899081Publication Date: 2015-11-01
Monographs
Introduction to the Hebrew Prophets by
Following the Hebrew canon, the author offers a basic introduction, which includes critical issues such as authorship, unity, dates of composition and revision, and structure. Drawing upon current scholarship, Dr. Nogalski shows how these issues are relevant to the theological themes and movements that help characterize the text and hold meaning for us. The last decades have seen many changes when it comes to the study of the four Latter Prophets (Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, and the book of the Twelve). Among others, these changes have identified a greater role for the prophetic scroll - not merely the prophetic character - as a vehicle for conveying the prophetic message. Nogalski's introduction to the prophets invites modern readers to hear these scrolls through the processes that shaped them, to recognize the thematic threads that traverse them, and to react to the words that confront religious and ethical complacency, that speak truth to power, and that offer hope to the oppressed. Each chapter will include a brief bibliography for further reading and discussion questions to help students focus on key concepts.
ISBN: 9781426742286Publication Date: 2018-02-20
A Chorus of Prophetic Voices by
While there are many textbooks about the prophetic literature, most have taken either a historical or literary approach to studying the prophets. A Chorus of Prophetic Voices, by contrast, draws on both historical and literary approaches by paying careful attention to the prophets as narrative characters. It considers each unique prophetic voice in the canon, in its fully developed literary form, while also listening to what these voices say together about a particular experience in Israel's story. It presents these four scrollsâe"Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, and the Book of the Twelveâe"as works produced in the aftermath of destruction, works that employ prophetic characters, and as the words uttered during the crises. The prophetic literature became for Israel, living in a context of dispersion and imperial domination, a portable and adaptable resource at once both challenging and comforting. This book provides the fullest picture available for introducing students to the prophetic literature by valuing the role of the original prophetic characters, the finished state of the books that bear their names, the separate historical crises in the life of Israel they address, and the âeoechorus of prophetic voicesâe� one hears when reading them as part of a coherent literary corpus.
ISBN: 9780664239985Publication Date: 2015-08-24
The Prophets of Israel by
The book offers an up-to-date and readable introduction to the manifold literary and historical problems of biblical prophecy. Reinhard Gregor Kratz provides the reader with a clear analysis of the development of the institution of prophecy in ancient Israel and Second Temple Judaism. Through a close reading of the prophetic corpus he demonstrates that in biblical tradition we have to distinguish between the historical and the literary prophet. The historical prophet is a representative of ancient Israelite religion while the literary prophet - as presented in the biblical books--is part of the tradition of emerging Judaism. This development from historical representative to literary figure guides the analysis and it becomes clear that the special character of biblical prophecy as encountered in the books of the Bible is the result of a long process of tradition during which older material is reworked, restructured, and applied to new situations. The book takes the distinction between the historical and the literary phenomenon of prophecy seriously and, therefore, will focus primarily on the literary tradition. This tradition will be recognized as such and should not be confused with the historical prophet and his words. After an overview of various models of interpretation of biblical prophecy, Kratz will consider first the broader historical background and the phenomenology of prophecy in the ancient Near East and ancient Israel. Then he moves on to the literary evidence of prophecy in biblical tradition and its historical context, including the earliest commentaries on prophetic books, the Pesharim from Qumran. The study concludes with an appendix that will introduce the reader to the scholarship on the prophets and provide some suggestions for further reading.
ISBN: 9781575063171Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Constructs of Prophecy in the Former and Latter Prophets and Other Texts by
This collection of essays, arising from the meetings of the SBL's Prophetic Texts and Their Ancient Contexts Group, examines how prophecy has been constructed in biblical literature such as the Former Prophets, the Latter Prophets, Chronicles, and Daniel, and even in the Qur'an. Recognizing that these texts do not simply describe the prophetic phenomena but rather depict prophets according to various conventional categories or their own individual points of view, the essays analyze the way prophecy or prophets are portrayed in these writings to better understand how they were structured by their respective authors.
ISBN: 9781589836006Publication Date: 2011-08-01
Daughter Zion by
This volume showcases recent exploration of the portrait of Daughter Zion as she appears in biblical Hebrew poetry. Using Carleen Mandolfo's Daughter Zion Talks Back to the Prophets (Society of Biblical Literature, 2007) as a point of departure, the contributors to this volume explore the image of Daughter Zion in its many dimensions in various texts in the Hebrew Bible. Approaches used range from poetic, rhetorical, and linguistic to sociological and ideological. To bring the conversation full circle, Carleen Mandolfo engages in a dialogic response with her interlocutors. The contributors are Mark J. Boda, Mary L. Conway, Stephen L. Cook, Carol J. Dempsey, LeAnn Snow Flesher, Michael H. Floyd, Barbara Green, John F. Hobbins, Mignon R. Jacobs, Brittany Kim, Cheryl A. Kirk-Duggan, Christl M. Maier, Carleen Mandolfo, Jill Middlemas, Kim Lan Nguyen, and Lena-Sofia Tiemeyer.
ISBN: 9781589837010Publication Date: 2012-11-01
Feminist Companion to the Latter Prophets by
The authoritative status of 'Prophecy' in the Bible poses a challenge to the feminist readers. This challenge is sharpened by the widespread symbolism in prophetic discourse of woman, wife, mother, harlot and the use of what the volume call 'pornoprophetics'. In this collection it is the book of Hosea that attracts special attention, but there are also articles on sexual violence and an introductory essay on prophecy itself as a literary phenomenon. ThisFeminist Companion offers a sharp confrontation between the voice of the prophetic male and the resistance of the feminist reader.
ISBN: 9780567040305Publication Date: 2004-12-07
Helpmates, Harlots, and Heroes: Women's Stories in the Hebrew Bible, Second Edition by
This best-selling book, now revised and updated, shares the work of many feminist biblical scholars who have examined women's stories for several years. These stories are powerful accounts of women in the Old Testament--stories that have profoundly affected how women understand themselves as well as men's perception of them. Here, Alice Bellis shares the research of feminist biblical scholarship during a quarter of a century, which renders a vast amount of refreshing, exciting, sometimes disturbing material.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS575 .B45 1994 (1st. ed.)ISBN: 9780664230289Publication Date: 2007-07-03
The Prophets Speak on Forced Migration by
"In this collection of essays dealing with the prophetic material in the Hebrew Bible, scholars explore the motifs, effects, and role of forced migration on prophetic literature. Students and scholars interested in current, thorough approaches to the issues and problems associated with the study of geographical displacement, social identity ethics, trauma studies, theological diversification, hermeneutical strategies in relation to the memory, and the effects of various exilic conditions will find a valuable resource with productive avenues for inquiry"--
ISBN: 9781628370539Publication Date: 2015-02-22
Prophecy and the Biblical Prophets by
A revised and updated edition of a classic textbook in the Oxford Bible Series about prophecy and prophets, this book is a clear and succinct study of prophecy both as a phenomenon in the wide context and as represented in the Bible. Surveying all the prophets from Moses to Huldah, the author also looks at the interpretation of prophecy through history by Christians, Muslims, and Jews--and most recently by feminists. This lucid and succinct study will be essential to those interested in biblical studies or religion--be it Christianity, Judaism, or Hinduism.
ISBN: 0585129061Publication Date: 1993-01-01
