Design Fundamentals 1, Professor Brenda Whitehill Schlenker, MFA
Bauhaus - - Art Deco -- De Stijl -- Arts and Crafts --Harlem Renaissance -- Dada
"Diagram of the causes of mortality in the army in the East" (1858) by Florence Nightingale, a colored pie chart to illustrate causes of death in the British Army
I N F O G R A P H I C (sample)
https://www.davidrumsey.com/luna/servlet/s/h6xid2, Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=1474443 - by Florence Nightengale
Library of Congress Subject Headings
Library of Congress Classification Outline, (for all subject areas)
Library of Congress Class N - Fine Arts
Subclass N Visual Arts
Subclass NA Architecture
Subclass NB Sculpture
Subclass NC Drawing, Design, Illustration
Subclass ND Painting
Subclass NE Print Media
Subclass NK Decorative Arts
Subclass NX Arts in General
Library of Congress Class T - Technology
Subclass TR Photography
APU Catalogs
APU Library Catalog (Search Everything)
APU Library Catalog (Advanced Search)
Article Searching (with known citation)
WorldCat, a catalog of North American Libraries
APU Art Databases
ARTstor - Getting Started
ARTstor, the premier image database
Oxford Art Online, Oxford University Press
Grove Art Online, (including Grove Art Dictionary and others)
Project Muse, digital humanities and social science resource
Credo Reference (A database of subject specific reference resources)
JSTOR (scholarly journals)
Academic Search Premier (scholarly journals)
National Gallery Collection, National Gallery London (Credo Reference)
The Arts Database (ProQuest)
Reference Resources for Design (and Art)
Graphic Design, translated: a Visual Dictionary of Terms for Global Design, Peter J Wolf (ebook)
Design Encyclopedia, Mel Byars, Ref NK1370 .B93 2004
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers, Alan Livingston, Isabella Livingston,(ebook)
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Design Since 1900, Guy Juiler, East Campus Ref NK 1390 .J85 200
Oxford Dictionary of Art, ECampus Ref N33 .O93 2004
Adeline's Art Dictionary, ECampus Ref N33.A223 1966
Bridgeman Art Library Archive (Credo Reference)
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms, Edward Lucie-Smith (ebook)
Museum Resources
Museums, complied by the University of Michigan (full list of museums)
Norton Simon Museum of Art, Pasadena, California
Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Los Angeles, California
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History, Metropolitan Museum of Art
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, San Francisco, California
Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, New York
Whitney Museum of Art, New York
MOMA, New York
Tate, United Kingdom
Guggenheim Museum of Art, New York
Example of a De Stijl Design
Composition II in Red, Blue, and Yellow. By Piet Mondrian - [1], Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=37642803
Associate Professor, Head of User Services, Librarian
Marshburn Library
901 E. Alosta Ave.
Azusa, CA 91702
Online and Digital Resources
Artland Magazine - Art Movements
Artcyclopedia - a guide to great art online
Dictionary of Art Historians (Department of Art, Art History and Visual Studies, Duke University)
Google Art Project, Online Art Collections
Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institute (see Research Collections)
The Getty Research Institute, J.Paul Getty Trust
Digital Public Library of America, Boston, MA