The Internet back in the day
Flickr Creative Commons
Other Catalogs to Search
Metropolitan Museum of Art Collections Database
Catalog of Illuminated Manuscripts, British Library
Warburg Institute, University of London
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) & the Repertoire de la Litterature de l'Art (RILA), covering the history of Western Art through Late Antiquity, 1975 - 2007, Getty Institute
Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles, CA
Online Scholarly Resources
The European Library, online portal to 48 national libraries in Europe
Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and Collections, an institute in Washington, D.C. that supports research in Byzantine studies
Dictionary of Art Historians, Department of Art, Art History and Visual Studies, Duke University
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP), published by the Metaphysics Research Lab, Center for the Study of Language and Information, Stanford University, California
New Advent, Catholic Encyclopedia (defining Modernism)
Art Forum, (online contemporary art journal)
Frieze, (online art magazine)
Open Culture, Dan Coleman, lead editor (free cultural and educational media)
Digital Image Collections
CARLI Digital Collections, developed by the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI)
HathiTrust Digital Library, collaborative effort at preserving culture
APIS UM, Advanced Papyryology Information System, UM, a virtual library created and maintained by the University of Michigan
Digitized Images from the Bodleian Special Collections, Oxford University
Digital Medieval Manuscripts at Houghton Library, Harvard University
Europeana, European Commission portal
Google Art Project, 156 Art Collections
Archives and Special Collections
The Archives of American Art, The Smithsonian Institutes research center housing the history of American art
Art and Architecture Collection, New York Public Library
Classical Art Research Center and The Beazley Archive, University of Oxford
Museums
Museums, complied by the University of Michigan