Master of Arts in English: Literature Resources

Library of Congress Classicification Outline

P -- Language and Literature (select Word or PDF)

Cambridge Companion to African American women's literature, Marshburn Library

Cambridge Companion to Children's Literature, Marshburn Library

Cambridge Companion to the Harlem Renaissance, Marshburn Library

Oxford English Dictionary (OED), THE premier English dictionary (hardcopy)

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) ONLINE, An elecronic version of THE English dictionary

Oxford Reference Online, an online reference library including dictionaries and encyclopedias

MLA Directory of Periodicals, publishing details about the journals indexed in MLA International Bibliography

Cambridge Companion to Allegory, Marshburn

Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature, Marshburn

Cambridge Companion to Puritanism, Marshburn

Cambridge Companion to Thomas More, Marshburn (Utopian)

Literature Online (LION), fully searchable criticism and reference in poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the 7th century to the present

Project Muse, digital humanities and social science resource

Credo Reference (A database of subject specific reference resources)

JSTOR (a database with 600 core scholarly journals dating back to the 1600s)

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals), free, full text, quality controlled and scholarly journals

MLA International Bibliography, core literature database

Gale Virtual Reference, includes literary criticism resources

Proquest Databases, multiple databases in the arts and the humanities

Cambridge biographical encyclopedia, WorldCat (ILL)

Cambridge biographical dictionary

Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (open access)

The Concise Oxford dictionary of literary terms, (Chris Baldick), E. Campus Reference, PN41.C67 2004 (hardcopy)

Norton Anthology of American Literature (Online Glossary)

A Glossary of Literary Terms (Gale Online Glossary)

Literary Vocabulary, Carson-Newman College (Online literary terms compiled by Dr. Wheeler)