Keyword SearchSearch CINAHL HeadingsUse Search History to Combine SearchesLimit Search ResultsRetrieve Fulltext from APU
Keyword SearchSearch MESH HeadingsUse Search History to Combine SearchesLimit Search ResultsRetrieve Fulltext from APU
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Health Sciences Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health Sciences Research Guide   Tags: anatomy, cinahl, full_text, how_to, library_orientation, nursing, physical_therapy, pt, research  

A comprehensive research guide for nursing and the allied health fields of study.
Last Updated: Oct 7, 2013 URL: http://apu.libguides.com/healthsciences Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Searching for Books & Media

Search for books, DVDs, etc in the APU library catalog:

Library of Congress Subject Classification Headings

R - Medicine (General)
RA - Public aspects of medicine
RB - Pathology
RC - Internal medicine
RD - Surgery
RE - Ophthalmology
RF - Otorhinolaryngology
RG - Gynecology and obstetrics
RJ - Pediatrics
RK - Dentistry
RL - Dermatology
RM - Therapeutics. Pharmacology
RS - Pharmacy and materia medica
RT - Nursing
RV - Botanic, Thomsonian, and eclectic medicine
RX - Homeopathy
RZ - Other systems of medicine

EBOOKS:
Only the NetLibrary ebooks are available by searching the catalog or directly from the NetLibrary site. You can also search the Ebrary ebooks directly on the Ebrary site.

Suggest a Website

Do you know of a website that you think should be included on this guide? Send it to me!

Introduction

Welcome to the Health Sciences Research Guide!

Do you know how to use the health sciences databases like CINHAL, Medline, or Cochrane? This guide will help you figure these databases plus more out from simple keyword searching to subject searching and locating fulltext. We've also included search tips to help you with your searches. This guide is a starting point for your research in the areas of nursing, physical therapy, and other health professions.

Good luck! - Denise 

 

APU Library Resources:

  • APU Library Catalog  
      
    Titles of books, eBooks (full text), journals and media items owned by the APU Libraries.
    --Library Web site (www.apu.edu/library/) ‐Click on “More Search Options,” then “APU Catalog".
  • Google Scholar Advanced Search  
      
    APU's electronic holdings data is available on Google Scholar. This means that links to full text will be provided within Google Scholar results when APU has subscription access to the article.
    --Go to http://scholar.google.com/, ‐Click the “Advanced Search” link.
  • ILEAC (Inland Empire Academic Library Cooperative)  
      
    Access library resources from other participating IEALC libraries. It is a cooperative arrangement between 18 academic libraries in San Bernardino, Riverside, Los Angeles, and Orange Counties. Go to http://iealc.wikispaces.com/Membership+List to view a list of participating libraries.
  • Interlibrary Loan (ILL) & Document Delivery  
      
    Request copies of books and articles from other libraries or if you are a regional center or online student request copies of APU books and articles for free.
    --Library Web site ‐Click “Library Forms” under “Learn More”, ‐Fill out the “Document Delivery/ Interlibrary Loan Request” form.
  • Link+  
      
    Titles of the 30 million books owned by 53 participating libraries. This service is free. Books arrive in 2-4 days to campus.
    --Library Web site ‐ Click on “More Search Options,” then “LINK+ Catalog— Advanced Search”
  • My library account
    You can access your library account to see what books you have checked out or requested by link+. You can also view ILL charges and fines.
    --Library Web site (www.apu.edu/library/) ‐Click on “My Library Account" in the gray box.
  • Periodical Finder/ Fulltext Finder  
      
    Locate the full text of articles for which you have publication information. View the complete list of all journals, magazines, and newspapers to which the APU Libraries subscribe.
    --From the Libraries’ Web site, click on “more search options”, then on “Periodical Finder.”
  • Research Databases  
      
    Find journal/magazine/newspaper articles, statistics, book reviews, ebooks, and encyclopedia entries on your topic. Many databases provide instant access to the full text of the articles you find.
    --From the Libraries’ Web site, click the “All Databases” link. Select a database from the alphabetical title list or use the drop‐down subject menu to find databases related to your topic.
  • Research Guides  
      
    LibGuides are created to help you learn about how you can use the library resources more effectively.

Finding & Evaluating Health Information on the Web

Your Librarians

Ask a Questions on LibAnswers

Ask Us a Question

Type your question below - use the second box for any additional details/information.
Fields marked with * are required.
 

What do you think?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip