Design Periods
Art Nouveau & Deco | Dada | Bauhaus |
Russian Constructivism | Swiss Style | Digital Revolution
Library of Congress Subject Headings
Library of Congress Classification Outline, (for all subject areas)
Library of Congress Class N - Fine Arts
Subclass N Visual Arts
Subclass NA Architecture
Subclass NB Sculpture
Subclass NC Drawing, Design, Illustration
Subclass ND Painting
Subclass NE Print Media
Subclass NK Decorative Arts
Subclass NX Arts in General
Library of Congress Class T - Technology
Subclass TR Photography
Library of Congress Subject Headings Subclass NC
LC Subclass NC
NC1-1940 Drawing. Design. Illustration
NC1-45 General Including collective biography
NC50-266 History of drawing
NC390-670 Study and teaching
NC673-677 Competitions
NC703-725 General works
NC730-758 Technique
NC760-825 Special subjects
NC845-915 Graphic art materials
NC930 Conservation and restoration of drawings
NC950-(996) Illustration
NC997-1003 Commercial art. Advertising art
NC1280-1284 Printed ephemera. Imagerie populaire
NC1300-1766 Pictorial humor, caricature, etc.
NC1800-1850 Posters
NC1860-1896 Greeting cards, postcards, invitations, book jackets, etc.
NC1920-1940 Copying, enlarging, and reduction of drawings
APU Art Databases
ARTstor - Getting Started
ARTstor, the premier image database
Oxford Art Online, Oxford University Press
Grove Art Online, (including Grove Art Dictionary and others)
Project Muse, digital humanities and social science resource
Credo Reference (A database of subject specific reference resources)
JSTOR (scholarly journals)
Academic Search Premier (scholarly journals)
National Gallery Collection, National Gallery London (Credo Reference)
The Arts Database (ProQuest)
Reference Resources for Graphic Design
Design Thinking: Understanding How Designers Think and Work, Nigel Cross, (ebook)
Design and the Creation of Value, John Heskett (et. al), (ebook)
Meggs: Making Graphic Design History, Philip B. Meggs, Marshburn Library Z246 .M427 2008
Graphic Design: A New History, Stephen Eskilson, Marshburn Library NC998 .E85 2007
Graphic Design, translated: a Visual Dictionary of Terms for Global Design, Peter J Wolf (ebook)
Graphic Design, referenced: a visual guide to the language, applications, and history of graphic design, Bryony Gomez-Palacio & Armin Vit (ebook)
Graphic Design Theory, Meredith Davis, Thames & Hudson, Marshburn Library NC998 .D38 2012
Design Literacy (continued): Understanding Graphic Design, Steven Heller, Marshburn Library NC998 .H453 1999
Design Encyclopedia, Mel Byars, Ref NK1370 .B93 2004
The Origins of Graphic Design in America, Ellen M. Thomas, NC998.5.A1 T56 1997
The Story of Graphic Design: from the invention of writing to the birth of digital design, Paddy Cramsie, NC998.C72 2010
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers, Alan Livingston, Isabella Livingston,(ebook)
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Design Since 1900, Guy Juiler, East Campus Ref NK 1390 .J85 2005
Writing and Research for Graphic Designers: a designers manual to strategic communication, Steven Heller (ebook)
Art and Design Museum Resources
Design Museums (a sampling)
The Design Museum, London, UK
Signarama, Ontario, CA
Cooper Hewett, New York, NY
MOMA, New York, NY
MOCA (Museum of Contemporary Art), Los Angeles, CA
a + d museum, Los Angeles, CA
Museum of Craft and Design, San Francisco, CA
Art Museums (a sampling)
Norton Simon Museum of Art, Pasadena, California
Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Los Angeles, California
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, San Francisco, California
Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, New York
Whitney Museum of Art, New York
Tate, United Kingdom
Guggenheim Museum of Art, New York
APU Catalogs
APU Library Catalog (Search Everything)
APU Library Catalog (Advanced Search)
Article Searching (with known citation)
WorldCat, a catalog of North American Libraries
Associate Professor, Head of User Services, Librarian
Marshburn Library
901 E. Alosta Ave.
Azusa, CA 91702
Online and Digital Resources
Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for the Visual Arts, College Art Association, 2015
A Short Intro to Graphic Design History, Nancy Stock-Allen
Artland Magazine - Art Movements
Dictionary of Art Historians (Department of Art, Art History and Visual Studies, Duke University)
Google Art Project, Online Art Collections
Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institute (see Research Collections)
The Getty Research Institute, J.Paul Getty Trust
Digital Public Library of America, Boston, MA
Organizations
AIGI, the professional association of design
Graphic Artists Guild, advocacy and resources
CIVA, Christians in the Visual Arts, art and design network