Course Description
To support scholarship in medical humanities through careful reading of literary texts to study concepts like narrative empathy, sympathetic imagination, perspective taking and emotional cognition in the field of narrative medicine or medical humanities. Dr. Emily Griesinger
Medical Humanities, Narrative Medicine
Medicine practiced with narrative competence as a way to promote and support healing
Pioneers in the field:
Rita Charon and Rachel Naomi Remen
Keywords
Healthcare
Illness experience
Narrative genetics
Palliative care
Scholarly Journals
British Medical Journal
The Journal of Medical Ethics
Institute of Medical Ethics
Music and Medicine
Pellegrinaio Santa Maria della Scala
"Healing the Sick," fresco by Domenic di Bartolo, 1441- 1442, The Hospital of Santa Maria della Scala. In the Public Domain.
APU Databases
What is a library database? (RMIT University)
MLA International Bibliography, core literature database
Project Muse, complete, full-text collection of scholarly journals in a variety of fields
Literature Online, a searchable database of key criticism and reference resources
Proquest Databases, multiple databases in the arts and the humanities
Oxford Reference Online, an online reference library including dictionaries and encyclopedias
Librarian & Curator
Hugh and Hazel Darling Library
701 E. Foothill Blvd., Azusa, CA 91702
Sample articles for research
Norton, Kay, "How music-inspired weeping can help terminally ill patients," Journal of Medical Humanities (Academic Search Premier [database]).
Clinch, Nanette, "Liminality and the ethical challenges presented by innovative medical procedures," Global perspectives on technological innovation (Academic Search Premier [database]).
Citation Resources
Online Writing Lab, (OWL), Perdue University
How to Cite Sources in MLA Format, Kimberley Stephenson, APU Libguide
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, APU hardcopy
MLA Formatting and Style Guide, Purdue Online Writing Lab
Zotero, Free, Firefox extension to help you manage your citations