Platon, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons - https://commons.wikimedia.org /wiki/File:P._Oxy._LII_3679.jpg (attribution)
PUBLIC DOMAIN, (PD-US), - fragment of Plato's, Republic
Library of Congress Classification System (subject searches)
Library of Congress Research Guide on Classics, step by step strategies for using subject headings for research, Library of Congress
Classification P
- P Philology. Linguistics
- PA Greek language and literature. Latin language and literature
- PB Modern languages.Celtic languages
- PC Romance languages
- PD Germanic languages.Scandinavian languages
- PE English language Subclass PF West Germanic languages
- PG Slavic languages. Baltic languages.Albanian language
- PH Uralic languages.Basque language
For example, see PA4279-4333 for works by Plato
Search, PA4279 as a Call Number in APU's Library Catalog
APU LibGuides
PHIL220 (Introduction to Philosophy) - a library guide developed by Theological Librarian, Professor, Lindsey Sinnott
Honors240: Exegesis Paper - a library guide developed by Theological Librarian, Professor Lindsey Sinnott
APU Library Catalog (keyword and subject heading searches)
APU SEARCH OPTIONS
APU Library Catalog (Search Everything)
APU Library Catalog (Advanced Search)
Article Searching (with known citation)
WorldCat, a catalog of North American Libraries
APU Library Databases (keyword and subject heading searches)
Past Masters, searchable, full-text writings by ancient philosophers and theologians
Philosopher's Index, abstracts and full-text of journals and books about philosophy
Cambridge Companions: Philosophy, Religion & Culture
Literature Online, ProQuest
JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections I - IV, authoritative, full-text database
Academic Search Premier, widest reaching scholarly database
Historical Plato Resources (Samples)
Adamson, Peter. Philosophy in the Hellenistic and Roman Worlds, (Oxford University Press, 2015).
Annas, Julia. An Introduction to Plato's Republic, Oxford University Press, 1981 (Print).
Cartledge, Paul. Cambridge History of Greek and Roman Political Thought, edited by Christopher Rowe and Malcolm Schofield in association with Simon Harrison and Melissa Lane. (Cambridge, 2000).
Dover, Kenneth J. Greek Popular Morality in the Time of Plato and Aristotle, (Berkeley/Los Angeles, CA,1974).
Kraut, Richard. Cambridge Companion to Plato, (Cambridge University Press, 2022 - ebook and 1992 - hardcopy)
Edwards, IES; Gadd, C.J. The Cambridge Ancient History, (Cambridge University Press, 1970 - 2000).
Parker, Robert. Athenian Religion: A History, (Oxford University Press, 1997).
Snow, Nancy E. Oxford Handbook of Virtue, Oxford University Press, 2018.
Pappas, Nickolas. Routledge Guide to Plato's Republic, Routledge, 2023 (Print).
Sesonke, Alexander. Plato's Republic: Interpretation and Criticism, Wadsworth Publishing Co., 1966 (Print).
Books, Handbooks, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias
The Collected Dialogues of Plato, including the letters. Princeton University Press, 1989.
Cambridge Companion('s), Cambridge University Press.
Oxford Handbook('s), Oxford University Press.
Plato (Greek Philosopher)
Plato, son of Ariston and Perictione, was schooled under the tutelage of Socrates and founded an Academy in or near the 380s BCE (Britannica Encyclopedia)
Born, 428/427 BCE, Athens, Greece
Died, 348/347 BCE, Athens, Greece
Structure of Research Tools
Cultural and historical background
Complete versions and translations of the text
Greek versions of the texts
Commentaries
Introductions
Handbooks, Encyclopedias, Dictionaries
Collections of Essays
Librarian & Curator
Hugh and Hazel Darling Library
701 E. Foothill Blvd., Azusa, CA 91702