COMM215-03 (Writing for Communication): Home

"JB Priestley at work in his study, (Highgate, London), 1940, Daily Herald Archive, The National Media Museum, FLICKR Creative Commons

How to Read and Why, by Harold Bloom, PN83 .B55 2000

Writing Effective Policies and Procedures:  A Step by Step Resource for Clear Communication, by Nancy Campbell (ebook)

Writing in Communication Studies, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill (online resource)

A Writer's Reference, sixth edition, Diane Hacker (online resource)

The Writer's Web, University of Richmond (online resource)

How to Cite Sources in APA Format: creating in-text citations and reference lists in APA Style, by Kimberley Stevenson, APU Librarian

How to Write an Annotated Bibliography, by Denise Gehring, APU Librarian

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APU copy)

Zotero, Free, Firefox extension to help you manage your citations

Online Writing Lab (OWL), Purdue University, APA Style

How to Cite Sources in APA Format: creating in-text citations and reference lists in APA Style, by Kimberley Stevenson, APU Librarian

APU SEARCH OPTIONS

APU Library Catalog (Search Everything)

APU Library Catalog (Advanced Search)

Link+ Catalog- Advanced Search

Periodical Finder - Full-text Journals by Title

WorldCat, a catalog of North American Libraries

Encyclopedia of Communication Theory, Steven W. Littlejohn (on order)

Journalism Theory Practice and Criticism, (ebook)

Encyclopedia of Public Relations, Ed., Robert L. Heath, ECampus Ref HD59 .E48 2005 vol. 2

Handbook of Discourse Analysis, Ed., Deborah Schiffrin, ECampus P302 .C36 2003

What is a library database? (RMIT University)

Academic Search Premier, full-text academic journals

Project Muse, digital humanities and social science resource

Oxford Reference Online Premier Collection, an online, reference library

Credo Reference (A database of subject specific reference resources)

JSTOR, over six hundred core, scholarly journals

CQ Researcher, (apu users online access), political reports covering international affairs, social trends, criminal justice, education, the enviornment and more

Steps of a Literature Review

1) QUESTION:  What is the research question you are asking?

2) SEARCH AND RESEARCH:  Discover what has already been said about your question by using scholarly databases and resources

3) MANAGE:  Organize and manage your results topically

4) SYNTHESIZE:  Read, write, dig, wrestle with your findings

5) WRITE:  Write your assessment of the literature you've reviewed

Resources

Doing a Literature Review:  Releasing the Social Science Research Imagination by Chris Hart, ECampus H62 .H2566 1998

Conducting Research Literature Reviews: From the Internet to Paper, by Arlene Fink, WCampus Q180.55 .M4 F56 2010

David C. Bicker Communication Ethics Conference:  Communication, Ethics and Civiity, Azusa Pacific University, February 7, 2013

Major Communication Conferences, Annenberg School for Communiction, University of Pennsylvania

Go to, FES for librarians

Select librarian

Evaluate