Text of the Book of Jubilees
- Text and Intro to Jubilees from Charles Apocrypha and PseudepigraphaFrom the Wesley Center at Northwest Nazarene University. A scanned and edited version of Charles' Apocrypha and Pseudepigrapha. The text of Jubilees is found below a lengthy introduction.
Books About Jubilees
Just an alphabetical listing of ebooks related to Jubilees.
Hover over the "info" icon to read a brief abstract of the book.
Ancient Israelite and Early Jewish Literature by
Ancient Israelite and Early Jewish Literature offers more than simply an introduction to the Old Testament (Hebrew Bible). The Hebrew Bible remains not only the primary quantitative source for our knowledge of the literature of Ancient Israel, it also enjoys decisive religious and cultural significance for both Judaism and Christianity. However, increased interest in Early Judaism as successor to the religion of Ancient Israel and background to the New Testament demands an introduction that guides the reader through the maze of Jewish literature dating from the Hellenistic and Early Roman periods.This introduction primarily offers a literary and historical-critical approach to the material it treats. Given the nature of certain Ancient Israelite inscriptions, the books of the Hebrew bible and the texts of Early Judaism, however, it contains some religio-historical or theological explanations where appropriate. In particular, the literary-historical analysis found in this volume underlines the canonical character of the Hebrew Bible.The book concludes with a helpful appendix that briefly explains technical concepts and exegetical methods.
ISBN: 9004141812Publication Date: 2005-07-29
Book of Jubilees by
The Book of Jubilees, a Jewish retelling of Genesis and the first half of Exodus, was an important work for the community of the Dead Sea Scrolls. This Guide, following the format of this successful series, gives an introduction to Jubilees that covers its dating, its textual history and its purpose; a survey of its theological teachings and themes; and a section-by-section commentary that includes a comparison of its divergences from Genesis and the meaning and emphasis of each section. This volume, by the leading authority on Jubilees, provides the very best introduction for the student and scholar to one of the most important texts of Early Judaism.
ISBN: 9781850757672Publication Date: 2001-07-01
Creation, Covenant, and the Beginnings of Judaism by
This study examines the relationship between time and history in Second Temple literature. Numerous sources from that period express a belief that Jewish history began with an act of covenant formation and proceeded in linear fashion until the exile, an unprecedented event which severed the present from the past. The authors of Ben Sira, Jubilees, the Animal Apocalypse, and 4 Ezra responded to this theological challenge by claiming instead that Jewish history began at creation. Between creation and redemption, history unfolds as a series of static, repeating patterns that simultaneously account for the disappointments of the Second Temple period and confirm the eternal nature of the covenant. As iterations of timeless, cyclical patterns, the difficult post-exilic present and the glorious redemption of the future emerge as familiar, unremarkable, and inevitable historical developments.
ISBN: 9789004281059Publication Date: 2014-10-22
Essays on the Book of Enoch and Other Early Jewish Texts and Traditions by
This volume brings together twenty-one essays by Michael Knibb on the Book of Enoch and on other Early Jewish texts and traditions, which were originally published in a wide range of journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings and thematic collections. A number of the essays are concerned with the issues raised by the complex textual history and literary genesis of 1 Enoch, but the majority are concerned with the interpretation of specific texts or with themes such as messianism. The essays illustrate some of the dominant concerns of Michael Knibb's work, particularly the importance of the idea of exile; the way in which older texts regarded as authoritative were reinterpreted in later writings; and the connections between the apocalyptic writings and the sapiential literature.
ISBN: 9789004167254Publication Date: 2008-11-27
Moses in Biblical and Extra-Biblical Traditions by
The papers in this volume revolve around the history of the influence exerted by the person of Moses and the traditions associated with him. They deal not only with the function of the figure of Moses in the Pentateuch, the salvation in the Red Sea and the final day of Moses' life, but also with the way Moses was received in the Deuteronomic history, the Psalms, the Book of Jeremiah, the Septuagint, in Qumran, early Jewish extra-biblical literature, the New Testament and the Early Church.
ISBN: 9783110194609Publication Date: 2007-07-16
Of Scribes and Sages by
The studies that make up Of Scribes and Sages once again illustrate the fruitful results of tradition-critical investigations. Readers will observe again and again the coherence and convergence in the methods and findings of these studies, despite being developed in diverse contexts and often with very different points of departure. A great deal of progress has been made in the last twenty-five years of research in the field of comparative midrash. New texts and broader, more encompassing methods have invigorated the field and have led to new insights and genuine progress. The studies contained in Of Scribes and Sages have opened up new lines of inquiry that readers will find stimulating and suggestive of further avenues of research.
ISBN: 9780567084477Publication Date: 2004-11-30
On Earth as in Heaven by
This volume deals with the chronological and spatial conceptions underlying the Book of Jubilees, a Jewish apocalyptic writing of the mid-second century BCE, and shows how in these respects Jubilees forms a bridge between the earlier Enochic tradition and the later Qumran sectarian writings. The book argues essentially that for Jubilees, the consummation of the ages will effect the restoration of sacred space and sacred time, so that all things correspond to God s original will for the creation on earth as in heaven. This book has important implications not only for the study of Jubilees itself and other Jewish writings of the Second Temple period, but also for research on early Christian chiliasm.
ISBN: 9004137963Publication Date: 2004-10-28
Past Renewals by
How did ancient Jewish authors claim authority for their interpretations? How, after the "end of prophecy", could they claim the authority of revelation? Whom did one have to be, or aspire to be, in order to merit authority? Hindy Najman addresses these questions through close readings of ancient Jewish texts, e.g., Ezra-Nehemiah, Philo of Alexandria, 4Ezra, Dead Sea Scrolls, and Jubilees. In Seconding Sinai (Brill, 2003), Najman reconceived pseudepigraphy, developing the idea of a Mosaic discourse that comprised a series of ancient texts attributed to Moses. Here she develops the broader notion of a discourse tied to a founder, situating practices of pseudepigraphy and authoritative interpretation within a variety of ways of seeking perfection in ancient Judaism.
ISBN: 9789004180468Publication Date: 2010-03-02
The Subversion of the Apocalypses in the Book of Jubilees by ISBN: 9781589836426Publication Date: 2012-03-01
A Teacher for All Generations by
This collection of essays honors James C. VanderKam on the occasion of his sixty-fifth birthday and twentieth year on the faculty of the University of Notre Dame. An international group of scholars--including peers specializing in Second Temple Judaism and Biblical Studies, colleagues past and present, and former students--offers essays that interact in various ways with ideas and themes important in VanderKam's own work. The collection is divided into five sections spanning two volumes. The first volume includes essays on the Hebrew Bible and ancient Near East along with studies on Qumran and the Dead Sea Scrolls. Essays in the second volume address topics in early Judaism, Enoch traditions and Jubilees, and the New Testament and early Christianity.
ISBN: 9789004215207Publication Date: 2011-10-28
Things Revealed by
This rich collection of articles dedicated to Michael E. Stone by his colleagues and students honors his contributions to the study of Judaism and Christianity. Many of the articles discuss apocryphal and pseudepigraphical works stemming from Jewish or Christian authors and transmitted primarily but not exclusively by Christian scribes. Particularly well-represented are the earliest books of 1 Enoch and the Testaments of the Twelve Patriarchs. A number of articles introduce newly available material from the Dead Sea Scrolls while others deal with Philo, Hellenistic Judaism, and early Christianity. Issues of biblical interpretation, tradition-history, literary transmission, and social context figure prominently. This book is a companion to the study of apocrypha, pseudepigrapha, Dead Sea Scrolls, early Judaism, and early Christianity.
ISBN: 9004138854Publication Date: 2004-10-28
A Walk Through Jubilees by
The first part of this book is an extensive verse-by-verse commentary on the Book of Jubilees. Kugel's stated aim is "to understand what the text is saying and why it is saying it," and in particular to explore the numerous bits of biblical interpretation found in Jubilees and their connection to other exegetical writings of the Second Temple period. Subsequent chapters focus on the possibility that Jubilees had more than one author, as well as on the book's specific relationship to four other Second Temple texts: the Genesis Apocryphon, the Aramaic Levi Document, 4Q225 Pseudo-Jubilees, and the writings of Philo of Alexandria.
ISBN: 9789004217683Publication Date: 2012-03-02
Links to Articles about Jubilees
** You will have to log in with your APU credentials to access these links. **
The links below are saved searches in the Atlas database. They are searches for the Subject Heading mentioned. There are no limiters used. Consult with your professor as to things like acceptable date range or if they must be "peer reviewed" articles.
You may want to add another search term in the second search box, at the top of the screen, to narrow the list.
Hint: read the subject headings for the articles listed and only use those that fulfill your needs.
- Atlas database articles SU Bible. JubileesA link to all the journal articles in the Atlas database that have the subject heading "Bible. Jubilees".
- Atlas database articles SU Dead Sea Scrolls. jubileesA link to all the journal articles in the Atlas database that have the subject heading "Dead Sea Scrolls. Jubilees".
Link to Electronic Encyclopedia Entries
- Anchor Bible Dictionary Book of Jubileesa scanned entry
** Must log in using APU credentials** - Dict of New Testament Background entry on Jubileesby James VanderKam
** Must log in using APU credentials** - Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism Jubileesa scan of the entry
** Must log in using APU credentials **