How to Create a Bibliography
To create a bibliography for an MS Word document from your Zotero references:
- Select the references or collections you want to include.
- Hold the control key and click to select multiple items.
- Right-click one of the selected items and choose the book icon in the upper ribbon.
- In the pop-up window, select citation style.
- You may add other styles (select Manage Style in the pop-up window)
- Output Mode - select bibliography
- Output Method - Copy to Clipboard
- Paste into a Word document
To create a bibliography for Google Docs from your Zotero references:
Zotero works with Google Docs. You must have the Zotero Connector installed in Chrome, Firefox or Safari.
Instead of a toolbar with buttons, as in the Word screenshot above, look for the Zotero menu in your Google Docs editor.
Creating a Bibliography While You Write
Zotero offers word processing plugins for Word and OpenOffice. The plugin adds a Zotero toolbar to your word processor that allows you to add citations to your document while you write.
To add a citation, click the first button ("Add/Edit Citation") on the toolbar. Search for the reference you want to cite and press Enter. Zotero will add the citation at your cursor.
At the end of your paper, click the "Insert Bibliography" button. Your bibliography will appear, and new citations will be added automatically. Change bibliographic styles with the "Document Preferences" button.
The toolbar looks different on different operating systems and versions of Word. Mousing over the toolbar will pop up each button's function if it's not clearly labeled.
