Which volumes in the IVP New Testament dictionaries in the box below should I use?
The most useful for Luke: Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels and Dictionary of New Testament Background volumes.
The most useful for Acts: Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Development and Dictionary of New Testament Background volumes.
Dictionaries/ Encyclopedias - New Testament
BOTH EBOOK/ONLINE AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK/ONLINE (DATABASE) REQUIRES LOGIN
Dictionary of New Testament Background by
ECPA Gold Medallion (Reference Works) The Dictionary of New Testament Background joins the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels, the Dictionary of Paul and His Letters and the Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments as the fourth in a landmark series of reference works on the Bible. In a time when our knowledge of the ancient Mediterranean world has grown by leaps and bounds, this volume sets out for readers the wealth of Jewish and Greco-Roman background that should inform our reading and understanding of the New Testament and early Christianity. The Dictionary of New Testament Background takes full advantage of the flourishing study of the Dead Sea Scrolls and offers individual articles focused on the most important scrolls. In addition, the Dictionary encompasses the fullness of second-temple Jewish writings, whether pseudepigraphic, rabbinic, parables, proverbs, histories or inscriptions. Articles abound on aspects of Jewish life and thought, including family, purity, liturgy and messianism. The full scope of Greco-Roman culture is displayed in articles ranging across language and rhetoric, literacy and book culture, religion and cults, honor and shame, patronage and benefactors, travel and trade, intellectual movements and ideas, and ancient geographical perspectives. No other reference work presents so much in one place for students of the New Testament. Here an entire library of scholarship is made available in summary form. The Dictionary of New Testament Background can stand alone or work in concert with one or more of its companion volumes in the series. Written by acknowledged experts in their fields, this wealth of knowledge of the New Testament era is carefully aimed at the needs of contemporary students of the New Testament. And its full bibliographies and cross-references to other volumes in the series will make it the first book to reach for in any investigation of the New Testament in its ancient setting. Reference volumes in the IVP Bible Dictionary Series provide in-depth treatment of biblical and theological topics in an accessible, encyclopedia format, including cross-sectional themes, methods of interpretation, significant historical or cultural background, and each Old and New Testament book as a whole.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440.D53 v.5ISBN: 0830817808Publication Date: 2000-11-16
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels by
ECPA Christian Book Award Winner Readers' Choice Award Winner Preaching's Preacher's Guide to the Best Bible Reference The second edition of the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels is a thoroughly reconstructed and revised version of the critically acclaimed 1992 first edition. Since that groundbreaking volume was published, a wave of Jesus and Gospel scholarship has crested and broken on the shores of a new century. Jesus has been proposed as sage, shaman, revolutionary, marginal Jew, Mediterranean peasant or a prophet of Israel's restoration. The non-canonical Gospels have been touted, examined and reassessed. There are revised understandings of historiography, orality, form criticism, empire and more. The second edition of the DJG amply weighs and assess the gains and shortcomings of this new scholarship. Here is a self-contained reference library of information and perspective essential to exploring Jesus and the Gospels. This volume bridges the gap between scholars and those pastors, teachers, students and interested readers who want thorough treatments of key topics in an accessible and summary format. Articles cover each Gospel, major themes in the Gospels, key episodes in the life of Jesus, significant background topics, as well as issues and methods of interpretation. Among other benefits, it allows multiple opportunities for each of the Gospels to be weighed and heard in its own voice. Bibliographies are full and up to date, putting readers in touch with the best work in the field. All of this allows the articles to serve as launching pads for further research. When the first edition of the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels was published, it was immediately recognized as an innovative reference work. By taking a particular corpus of biblical books and exploring it with in-depth articles written by specialists in the field, it refashioned a staple reference genre. This dictionary model has now been applied to each segment of the biblical canon in successive volumes. Those who have enjoyed and benefitted from the wealth in the first edition will find the second edition an equally indispensable companion to study and research. Over ninety percent of the articles have been completely rewritten, and the rest thoroughly revised and updated. Here is the doorway into a reliable and comprehensive summary and appraisal of the last twenty years of Jesus scholarship. A new generation of scholars has opened the way to make this a Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels for the twenty-first century. Reference volumes in the IVP Bible Dictionary Series provide in-depth treatment of biblical and theological topics in an accessible, encyclopedia format, including cross-sectional themes, methods of interpretation, significant historical or cultural background, and each Old and New Testament book as a whole.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440.D53 v.6ISBN: 9780830824564Publication Date: 2013-11-11 (2nd. ed.)
Diccionario de Jesús y Los Evangelios by
Esta edición en español corresponde a la segunda edición en inglés del Diccionario de Jesús y los Evangelios. Es una versión completamente reconstruida y revisada de la aclamada primera edición en 1992. Desde la publicación de ese volumen innovador, una ola de nuevos descubrimientos y escritos académicos y de investigación han aparecido a orillas de este nuevo siglo muchos de los cuales están documntados en este tomo. Obra de referencia, independiente de la información y la perspectiva esencial para explorar sobre Jesús y los Evangelios. En este volumen se unen dos áreas y perspectivas: la de los académicos y la de los pastores, maestros, estudiantes y lectores interesados que desean tratamientos profundos de los temas claves, en un formato accesible y resumido. Los artículos cubren cada Evangelio, los episodios principales de la vida de Jesús, los temas transcendentales, así como los problemas y métodos de interpretación. Entre otras ventajas, la obra permite múltiples posibilidades para cada uno de los Evangelios por su propio valor y por ser expresados en su propia voz. Bibliografías actualizadas hasta la fecha, poniendo al lector en contacto con los mejores trabajos en este campo. Todo ello, permite que los artículos sirvan como plataforma de lanzamiento para futuras investigaciones. Proporciona una obra de referencia fundamental para el estudio de Jesús y los Evangelios. Incluye artículos sobre los Evangelios, los episodios y los temas. Cubre los aspectos de Jesús y el estudio del Jesús histórico. Cubre el origen judío, helenístico y romano. Incluye bibliografías actualizadas y amplias. Incluye estudios de métodos de estudio de Jesús y los Evangelios. Cuenta con 175 artículos de fondo. Más del noventa por ciento de los artículos son escritos recientes. Escrito por cerca de 100 colaboradores expertos.
Call Number: Spanish Language Reference BS440 .D5318 v.6ISBN: 9788482678382Publication Date: 2016-06-28
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters by
ECPA Gold Medallion The Dictionary of Paul and His Letters is a one-of-a-kind reference work. Following the format of its hightly successful companion volume, the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels, this Dictionary is designed to bring students, teachers, ministers and laypeople abreast of the established conclusions and significant recent developments in Pauline scholarship. No other single reference work presents as much information focused exclusively on Pauline theology, literature, background and scholarship. In a field that recently has undergone significant shifts in perspective, the Dictionary of Paul and His Letters offers a summa of Paul and Pauline studies. In-depth articles focus on individual theological themes (such as law, resurrection and Son of God), broad theological topics (such as Christology, eschatology and the death of Christ), methods of interpretation (such as rhetorical criticism and social-scientific approaches), background topics (such as apocalypticism, Hellenism and Qumran) and various other subjects specifically related to the scholarly study of Pauline theology and literature (such as early catholicism, the center of Paul's theology, and Paul and his interpreters since F. C. Baur). Separate articles are also devoted to each of the Pauline letters to hermeneutics and to preaching Paul today. The Dictionary of Paul and His Letters takes its place alongside the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels in presenting the fruit of evangelical New Testament scholarship at the end of the twentieth century--commited to the authority of Scripture, utilizing the best of critical methods, and maintaining dialogue with contemporary scholarship and challenges facing the church. Reference volumes in the IVP Bible Dictionary Series provide in-depth treatment of biblical and theological topics in an accessible, encyclopedia format, including cross-sectional themes, methods of interpretation, significant historical or cultural background, and each Old and New Testament book as a whole.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440.D53 v.7ISBN: 0830817786Publication Date: 1993-10-28
Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments by
Academy of Parish Clergy Top Ten Books of the Year Christianity Today's Books of the Year ECPA Gold Medallion The third of IVP's critically acclaimed series of dictionaries of the New Testament provides focused study on the often-neglected portions of the New Testament: Acts, Hebrews, the General Epistles, and Revelation. Furthermore, its scope goes beyond the life of the New Testament church to include the work of the apostolic fathers and early Christianity up through the middle of the second century. The Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments offers a summa of New Testament studies. Designed to bring students, teachers, pastors, and general readers up to date and up to speed, this one-of-a-kind reference volume presents more information than any other single work--dealing exclusively with the theology, literature, background, and scholarship of the later New Testament and the apostolic church. In-depth, comprehensive articles focus on theological themes, methods of interpretation, background topics, and various other subjects specifically related to the study of New Testament theology and literature. Expert contributors include Darrell Bock, George R. Beasley-Murray, I. Howard Marshall, Ben Witherington III, and James D. G. Dunn. Wide-ranging articles span from the books of James and Jude to household codes, from the Roman emperor cult to gnosticism and docetism, questions of canon to second-century church leaders like Ignatius and Polycarp. The Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments takes its place alongside the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels and Dictionary of Paul and His Letters in presenting mature evangelical scholarship--committed to the authority of Scripture, utilizing the best of critical methods, and maintaining a dialogue with contemporary scholarship and the challenges facing the church. Reference volumes in the IVP Bible Dictionary Series provide in-depth treatment of biblical and theological topics in an accessible, encyclopedia format, including cross-sectional themes, methods of interpretation, significant historical or cultural background, and each Old and New Testament book as a whole.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440.D53 v.8 and Stamps Stacks BS2625.5 .D53 1997ISBN: 0830817794Publication Date: 1997-11-24
PRINT COPY ONLY
Dictionário de Paulo e Suas Cartas by Call Number: Spanish Language Reference BS440 .D5318 v.7ISBN: 9788515034765Publication Date: 1993
Additional Bible/Biblical Studies Dictionaries
AVAILABLE BOTH ONLINE (DATABASE) AND IN PRINT - ONLINE REQUIRES LOGIN
The Anchor Bible Dictionary/Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary (set) by Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440 .A54 1992 (v.1-v.6)ISBN: 0385193513Publication Date: 1992/2008
The Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible by
Offering a wealth of reliable information, The Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible provides more than 300 articles that cover everyone from Adam and Eve to Jesus Christ and everywhere from the Garden of Eden to Golgotha and Gethsemane.Readers will find fascinating, informative entries on virtually every major figure who walked across the biblical stage. Here are Hebrew Bible figures such as Cain and Abel, Noah and Methuselah, Abraham and Isaac, David and Goliath, Solomon and Sheba, Moses and Aaron, Naomi and Ruth, andSamson and Delilah. The New Testament is likewise well covered, with pieces on Peter and Paul, John the Baptist and Mary Magdalene, the apostles (Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John), Pontius Pilate and Judas Iscariot, and of course Jesus, Mary, and Joseph. Articles also define groups of people whofigure in the Bible, such as Angels, Archangels, and Demons, the Magi, the Tribes of Israel, and Women. Entries on the significant places of the Bible, both ancient and modern, include kingdoms and countries (Egypt, Assyria, Mesopotamia) and cities (Bethlehem, Jerusalem, Sodom and Gomorrah), as wellas geographical features such as the Sea of Galilee and Mount Hebron. The guide includes a detailed index for ease of use, and 14 pages of color maps, providing an accurate, detailed portrait of the biblical world.Here then is the first place to turn to find factual information on the people and places of Holy Scripture. Written by an international team of noted biblical experts, it is an essential addition to any family library as well as a useful, reliable resource for scholars and students.
Online from the Oxford Reference Online database.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS570 .O94 2004ISBN: 0195176103
Dictionary of Biblical Imagery by
Christianity Today 1999 Book of the Year Every reader of the Bible has encountered the powerful, comforting and sometimes puzzling imagery of Scripture. These concrete pictures with their hidden force have struck sharp and lasting impressions on our minds. Their imprint has etched itself on the language and grammar of Christian faith and Western culture. Why then do traditional Bible dictionaries and reference works offer so little help to explorers of the Bible's galaxy of verbal pictures? They excel in describing the climate, borders and location of Galilee or Sinai. But they are often blind to the artistic expressions and deaf to the musical meanings that echo from within the world of the biblical text. The Dictionary of Biblical Imagery is the first contemporary reference work dedicated to exploring the images, symbols, motifs, metaphors and literary patterns found in the Bible. More than that, it examines the Bible's universal archetypes or master images--including the plot motifs and character types that recur throughout life, literature and the Bible. This unique dictionary explores the dazzling variety in which the Word of God comes dressed in clothes of everyday life. It traces the trail of images from Eden to the New Jerusalem. It captures the plotted patterns of biblical narrative. It surveys the imaged texture of each book of the Bible. In short, The Dictionary of Biblical Imagery is an inviting, enlightening and indispensable companion to the reading, study, contemplation and enjoyment of the Bible.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS537 .D48 1998ISBN: 0830814515Publication Date: 1998-11-02
The Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism by
The Dictionary of Early Judaism is the first reference work devoted exclusively to Second Temple Judaism (fourth century b.c.e. through second century c.e.). The first section of this substantive and incredible work contains thirteen major essays that attempt to synthesize major aspects of Judaism in the period between Alexander and Hadrian. The second ? and significantly longer ? section offers 520 entries arranged alphabetically. Many of these entries have cross-references and all have select bibliographies. Equal attention is given to literary and nonliterary (i.e. archaeological and epigraphic) evidence and New Testament writings are included as evidence for Judaism in the first century c.e. Several entries also give pertinent information on the Hebrew Bible. The Dictionary of Early Judaism is intended to not only meet the needs of scholars and students ? at which it succeeds admirably ? but also to provide accessible information for the general reader. It is ecumenical and international in character, bringing together nearly 270 authors from as many as twenty countries and including Jews, Christians, and scholars of no religious affiliation.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BM176 .E34 2010ISBN: 9780802825490Publication Date: 2010-11-11
Handbook of Biblical Criticism, Fourth Edition by
The fourth edition of this best-selling textbook continues to be a valuable resource for the beginning student in the critical study of the Bible. Thoroughly revised to include the newest methods, recent discoveries, and developments in the field of biblical criticism over the past decade, the Handbook of Biblical Criticism is designed to be a starting point for understanding the vast array of methods, approaches and technical terms employed in this field. Updates in this edition also include an expanded dictionary of terms, phrases, names, and frequently used abbreviations, as well as a bibliography that includes the most up-to-date date publications. The Handbook of Biblical Criticism is a valuable introductory textbook and a reliable guide for pastors, laypersons, and scholars whose expertise lies in other fields.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS511.2 .S68 2001 (3rd. ed.)ISBN: 9780664235345Publication Date: 2011-11-23
PRINT COPY ONLY
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible (set) by
The New Interpreter's® Dictionary of the Bible (NIDB) in five volumes provides the best quality in contemporary biblical scholarship on a comprehensive range of topics from the Old and New Testaments, the Deuterocanonical books, and from contextual studies of the ancient Near East and the Greco-Roman worlds and their literatures. The dictionary contains maps, charts, and illustrations to further clarify the written material. The biblical text used is the NRSV translation. A diverse group of 900 scholars from 40 countries have contributed 7100 fresh new articles with 8400 entries including persons, places, things, theological concepts, and much more. These contributors were selected by the editorial board for their expertise in their field and for the quality of their scholarship in publication. Special care was taken to select authors who could provide a variety of perspectives from different theological traditions (Protestant, Catholic, Jewish), diverse theological trajectory (conservative and liberal), and from the social locations of gender, ethnicity, and race. Topics are listed in alphabetical order from A-Z and evenly divided among the five volumes. The main entry (in bold) includes a pronunciation guide. Hebrew and Greek origins of the entry follow, with transliteration. Longer articles contain an introduction that summarizes the topic and include a helpful outline to guide the reader. Articles conclude with a short bibliography and cross references to related articles. In each definition, authors strive to incorporate as many biblical instances of the term as possible in the given amount of space, and to discuss the theological, social, or ecclesial implications of the topic, so that the definitions are practical aids to the tasks of preaching, teaching, and study of the Bible. Volume Structure; 1. A - C 2. D - H 3. I - Ma 4. Me-R 5. S - Z Readers who are trained in ancient languages will appreciate the discussion of Hebrew and Greek terms, while at the same time, readers who are not familiar with Hebrew or Greek should not have difficulty following the articles, because transliteration and complete definitions are used throughout. "The New Interpreter's Bible Dictionary combines the latest biblical scholarship with the practical needs of pastors, teachers and students in a way that will deepen their understanding and enliven their experience of the living Word in scripture." Rev. Jim Harnish, Hyde Park United Methodist Church, Tampa, Florida "I'm looking forward to the New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible so I may continue with the work of the church. I've read many articles already, and it is very helpful when you are working on a sermon, a presentation, or preparing for a Bible study class." Rev. Evelene "Tweedy" Navarrete-Sombrero, Holbrook United Methodist Church, Holbrook, Arizona
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440 .N443 2006 (v.1-v.5)ISBN: 9780687054275Publication Date: 2006-2009)- The International Standard Bible Encyclopedia by Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440 .I6 (v.1-v.4)ISBN: 9780802881601Publication Date: 1979-01-01
Zondervan Illustrated Bible Dictionary (rev. ed.) by
A visually stimulating journey for anyone interested in learning more about the world of the Bible. The Zondervan Illustrated Bible Dictionary offers a wealth of insight into the historical, chronological, archaeological, geographical, social, theological, and biographical aspects of the Bible. Through the articles, sidebars, charts, maps, and full-color images included in this volume, the text of the Old and New Testaments will come alive for you as never before. As a condensation of the Zondervan Pictorial Encyclopedia of the Bible, the information contained within this reference work is solid and biblically sound. The material is based completely on the NIV and cross-referenced to the King James Version. Features include: Over 7,200 entries with up-to-date scholarship, archaeological findings, and more 75 full-color maps created with new mapping technologies Over 500 full-color photographs, charts, and illustrations Understanding the Bible can be difficult. The Zondervan Illustrated Bible Dictionary will help you make sense of the Bible's context, people, places, and objects so you can better understand and apply the scripture. Ideal for pastors, Sunday school teachers, students, and general Bible readers.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440 .Z66 2011ISBN: 9780310229834Publication Date: 2011-02-06
Dictionary of Daily Life in Biblical and Post-Biblical Antiquity by Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440 .Y37 2014 (v.1-v.4)ISBN: 9781619707283Publication Date: 2014-2016Sampling of entries: Abortion, Adoption, Adultery, Contraception and Control of Births, Hair, Infanticide and Exposure, Inheritance, Marriage, Purity and Impurity, Same-Sex Relations, Widows and Orphans, and many more ...
Dictionary of Deities and Demons in the Bible (2nd. rev. ed.) by
The Dictionary of Deities and Demons in the Bible is the single major work of reference on the gods, angels, demons, spirits and semi-divine heroes whose names occur in the biblical books. First published in 1995 and chosen by "Choice" as Best Reference Work of 1996, an extensively revised edition was published in 1998. Arranged in the order of the Latin alphabet, the more than four-hundred names are those found in the books of the Hebrew and the Greek Bible, Old and New Testament, including the Apocrypha. There are entries on divine names recognized as such by the biblical authors; divine names in theophoric toponyms and anthroponyms; secular terms which occur as divine names in neighbouring civilizations, conjectural divine names, at times based on textual emendation, proposed by modern scholarship; and humans who acquired a semi-divine status in tradition. A typical entry contains a discussion of the pertinent name, its meaning, the religio-historical background, relevant biblical passages and an up-to-date bibliography. Extensive indices and cross-references provide easy access to the rich information of the dictionary. The Dictionary of Deities and Demons is the fruit of a common effort of a group of more than a hundred international scholars from a variety of traditions.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS680.G57 D53 1999ISBN: 9004111190Publication Date: 1999
Gran Diccionario Enciclopédico de Imágenes y Símbolos de la Biblia by
El «Diccionario enciclopédico de imágenes y símbolos de la Biblia» es la primera obra de referencia contemporánea dedicada a la exploración de las imágenes, símbolos, motivos, metáforas y modelos literarios que se encuentran en la Biblia. Todo lector de la Biblia se ha encontrado con el poder que tienen en nosotros las imágenes y símbolos de las Escrituras ya que son enigmáticas y desconcertantes. Estas imágenes con su fuerza oculta se han grabado en la propia lengua y la gramática de la fe cristiana y la cultura occidental, con un sentido completo y profundo, imágenes y símbolos que dicen mucho más que su sentido gramatical, por ejemplo: Mateo 19.24 Reina Valera 1977 (RVR1977) 24 «Otra vez os digo: Es más fácil que un camello pase por el ojo de una aguja, que el que un rico entre en el reino de Dios». El significado de esta imagen o símbolo dice mucho más de lo que gramaticalmente se expresa, e incluso está interiozizado dentro de nuestra cultura cristiana y occidental. Es una imagen y símbolo con un significado amplio. ¿Por qué entonces los diccionarios bíblicos tradicionales y obras de referencia ofrecen tan poca ayuda a los exploradores de la galaxia de imágenes verbales de la Biblia? Sobresalen en describir muchos conceptos y palabras, pero a menudo son ciegos a las expresiones artísticas y sordos a los significados musicales que se hacen eco de dentro del mundo del texto bíblico, y perdemos una riqueza enorme a no saber interpretarlos en su profunidad. El propósito del Gran diccionario enciclopédico de imágenes y símbolos de la Biblia es servir como libro de referencia que ayude a los lectores de la Escritura, estudiantes y comunicadores cristianos a explorar el fascinante y variado mundo del simbolismo bíblico. Los escritores de la Biblia -afirman los autores de este diccionario- eran verdaderos artistas desde un punto de vista literario. Por tanto, leer y estudiar la Biblia desde una perspectiva literaria que incluya la aclaración de sus imágenes, símbolos y figuras de lenguaje, aporta una comprensión mucho más amplia de su significado y con ello una mejor captación de su mensaje moral y espiritual. Aunque pensado y escrito a nivel académico, su principal audiencia no son los eruditos. Los autores se han esforzado en conseguir una obra legible y entendible, que no solo sirva como herramienta de referencia indispensable para complementar los diccionarios bíblicos, sino también que despliegue nuevas vías de lectura y apreciación de la Biblia.
Call Number: Spanish Language Reference BS537 .D4818 2015ISBN: 9788482677033Publication Date: 2016-02-02
Zondervan Dictionary of Bible Themes by
This instantly accessible and easy-to-use dictionary of Bible themes was complied by the outstanding editorial team of Martin Manser, Alister McGrath, J. I. Packer, and Donald Wiseman.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS432 .Z66 1999ISBN: 0310206685
EBOOK/ONLINE (DATABASE) COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
All the People in the Bible by
"More than any other book, the Bible offers an amazing collection of fascinating characters ranging from the holiest of the holy to some of the most depraved scoundrels imaginable. Many are mentioned only in passing, yet history and archaeology can often fill in the blanks and flesh them out as exciting human beings. For this reason we have in many cases been able to tell much more about them than the Bible alone reveals." -- Richard R. Losch (from the preface) A comprehensive gathering of persons found in the Bible, including the Apocrypha, All the People in the Bible really delivers on its title: literally all of the Bible's characters appear in this fascinating reference work. From the first article on Aaron to the final entry on Zophar, Richard Losch details each person in a lively narrative style. The bulk of the book consists of Losch's A-Z articles covering the familiar and the not-so-familiar figures in Scripture. Names of people who are found only in genealogies or who had no significant effect on history are included solely in the alphabetical listing starting on page 452. That listing, "All the People in the Bible and Apocrypha," includes pronunciations, brief identifications, and biblical references. Persons covered in greater detail in the main part of the book are identified in bold print. Losch's intriguing look at all the people in the Bible is anything but a dry reference work. This is a book to dip into and enjoy over and over.
ISBN: 9780802824547Publication Date: 2008-05-13
Essential Figures in the Bible by
For millions of people throughout the world, the Hebrew Bible functions as the foundation of their faith. For millions more, the same book functions as the subject of their studies. For both groups, the characters discussed in the Bible lend key insight to the lessons found there. However, sifting through the hundreds of names mentioned in this key religious text to find information about one figure can be tedious and time-consuming, and most reference guides either provide only brief, unhelpful entries on every character, including minor figures, or are so extensive that they can be more intimidating than the original text. Essential Figures in the Bible compiles thorough but manageable entries on the figures most vital to an understanding of the Bible and its teachings. In this valuable reference, Dr. Ronald L. Eisenberg catalogs and explains the importance of more than 250 figures who are most vital to an understanding of the Hebrew Bible and its teachings. For these figures selected from the more than 3,000 names found in the Hebrew Bible, Eisenberg provides summaries of the narratives relevant to each figure discussed along with illustrative quotations from the Bible and supplementary material from rabbinic literature when appropriate. Both religious studies and rabbinical students and casual readers of the Hebrew Bible will benefit from the comprehensive entries on the most-frequently discussed biblical figures and will gain valuable insights from this reader-friendly text. Complete in a single volume, this guide strikes a satisfying balance between the sparse, uninformative books and comprehensive but overly complex references that are currently the only places for inquisitive Bible readers to turn. For any reader who wishes to gain a better understanding of the Bible, Eisenberg's text is just as "essential" as the figures listed within.
ISBN: 9780765709394Publication Date: 2012-09-14
