Skip to Main Content

How to do Scripture Research in the ATLA Database: New Testament Abstracts

This guide offers strategies for finding information on particular Bible passages in APU databases.This guide was originally created by Michelle Spomer.

Database Information

Four of the EBSCOhost databases (ATLA Religion, New Testament Abstracts, Old Testament Abstracts, and Catholic Periodical & Literature Index) offer a unique searchable field called either 'Scripture Citation' or 'Scripture Reference.' This allows the researcher to find items in the database that are relevant to particular scripture passages. When this search is used, the items retrieved will generally be quite academic and will focus on analysis of particular passages.

New Testament Abstracts is a product of a partnership between ATLA and Boston College. The database contains more than 42,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 15,600 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts. While this database will provide only a few 'PDF Full Text' or 'Linked Full Text' items, you can always use Periodical Finder to see if items you find in this database are in full-text in a different database.

In addition to article citations, you will find that your results lists will also contain several book citations. Look up these items in the APU Libraries or LINK+ catalogs to obtain them.


All APU Databases can be accessed via the APU Libraries website by clicking on "All Databases."

 

Scripture Research Instructions

The following instructions will aid you in finding articles that explore particular Bible passages. If you'd like to find articles on particular topics or terms in specific books in the Bible, follow the instructions for Search #2 in the ATLA Religion Database page.

  • Access the database by clicking on the 'New Testament Abstracts' link in the box above.
  • Click on the 'Indexes' link near the top of the page.

  • Select 'Scripture Reference' from the 'Browse an Index' drop-down menu.
  • In the 'Browse' for box, type in the book name and chapter of the scripture passage you’re studying. If there is more than one book, type in the name of the book followed by a comma and '1st, '2nd,' or '3rd' (i.e. for I Corinthians, simply type in 'Corinthians, 1st').

  • Click the 'Browse' button.
  • In the resulting list, put a check mark next to relevant items and then click othe 'Add' button. You'll see your selections in the search box near the top of the page.

NOTE: Be sure to click 'Add' for each page before moving on to the next page of results (by clicking the 'Next' link).

  • Once you’ve added all your scripture passages to the search box, go ahead and click the 'Search' button to see your list of results. All of the items in your results list will have something to do with one or more of the scripture passages you selected.
     
    NOTE: If the chapter number is a single digit (e.g. Acts 2), follow the steps above and add the passages that are relevant. Before clicking on 'Search,' add a colon to your search (e.g. Acts 2:) and click 'Browse' again. Go through the entire list of passages for the chapter and add the ones that are relevant. Then click the 'Search' button for the results.