Old & New Testament Introductions
Bible introductions (also called surveys) give you chapters on each book of the New and Old Testaments, which give you a lot of information such as literary genre, important themes, when the book was written, who wrote it, etc.
Exploring the New Testament (v.1 - A Guide to the Gospels & Acts) by Call Number: Theology BS2548 .W46ISBN: 083082555X
The Hebrew Bible: A Socio-Literary Introduction by Call Number: Theology BS1140.2 .G59 1987ISBN: 080061853X
Introducing the New Testament: Its Literature and Theology by Call Number: Theology BS2330.3 .A34 2001ISBN: 0802837174
Introduction to the Hebrew Bible: A Thematic Approach by Call Number: Theology BS1140.3 .I58 2008ISBN: 066423030X
An Introduction to the New Testament by Call Number: Theology Ref BS2330.2 .C34 2005ISBN: 0310238595
An Introduction to the Old Testament: The Canon and Christian Imagination by Call Number: Theology BS1140.2 .B78 2003ISBN: 0664224121
The New Testament: A Historical Introduction to the Early Christian Writings by Call Number: Theology BS2330.2 .E36 2008ISBN: 0195322592
The New Testament World: Insights from Cultural Anthropology by Call Number: Theology BS2545.S55 M34 2001ISBN: 0664222951
The Pentateuch: An Introduction to the First Five Books of the Bible by Call Number: Theology BS1225.2 .B544 2000ISBN: 0385497881
General Bible Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
The resources in this list are types of Bible dictionaries that cover all of Scripture. Look up people, places, themes, etc that you would find in your passage.
The Anchor Bible Dictionary/Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary by Call Number: Theology Ref BS440 .A54 1992 (vols.1-6)
The International Standard Bible Encyclopedia by Call Number: THEO REF BS440 .I6 (vols. 1-4)ISBN: 9780802837837
Old & New Testament Dictionaries
The dictionaries in this list are types of Bible dictionaries that focus on particular sections of Scripture. Look up people, places, themes, etc that you would find in the particular parts of the Bible. There are some background commentaries listed, too - look up a particular Bible passage, and discover context-specific information that will help you understand the passage.
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch by Call Number: THEO REF BS440.D53 v.1 & THEO REF BS440 .D5318 v.1 (Spanish)ISBN: 0830817816Ebook also available.
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books by Call Number: THEO REF BS440.D53 v.2 & THEO REF BS440 .D5318 v.2 (Spanish)ISBN: 0830817824Ebook also available as well as a print Spanish copy.
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets by Call Number: THEO REF BS440.D53 v.3ISBN: 9780830817849Ebook also available
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry & Writings by Call Number: THEO REF BS440.D53 v.4ISBN: 0830817832Ebook also available.
Dictionary of New Testament Background by Call Number: THEO REF BS440.D53 v.5ISBN: 0830817808Ebook also available
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels by Call Number: THEO REF BS440.D53 v.6ISBN: 9780830824564Ebook also available as well as a print Spanish copy.
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters by Call Number: THEO REF BS440.D53 v.7 & THEO REF BS440 .D5318 v.7 (Spanish)ISBN: 0830817786Ebook also available as well as a print Spanish copy.
Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments by Call Number: THEO. REF BS440.D53 v.8ISBN: 0830817794Ebook also available.
The IVP Dictionary of the New Testament; a one-volume compendium of contemporary biblical scholarship by Call Number: THEO REF BS2312 .I89 2004ISBN: 0830817875
The IVP Bible Background Commentary: Old Testament by Call Number: THEO REF BS1151.2 .W35 2000ISBN: 0830814191Ebook also available.
The IVP Bible Background Commentary: New Testament by Call Number: Theology Ref BS2341.2 .K445 1993ISBN: 0830814051Ebook also available as well as print Spanish and Korean copies.
