About Reference Resources
Reference books can be useful for all sorts of reasons. They can give you brief overviews of a particular topic. They can be used to find a topic to write about if you don't have a topic in mind. Lastly, many articles in encyclopedias have bibliographies at the end that will contain more resources for further research.
SAGE eReference
- 21st Century Psychology: A Reference HandbookDavis, S. F., & Buskist, W. (Eds.). (2008). 21st century psychology: A reference handbook. (Vols. 1-2). Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc.
- Encyclopedia of Educational PsychologySalkind, N. J. (Ed.). (2008). Encyclopedia of educational psychology. (Vols. 1-2). Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc.
- Encyclopedia of IdentityJackson, R. L., II, & Hogg, M. A. (Eds.). (2010). Encyclopedia of identity. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc.
- Encyclopedia of Research DesignSalkind, N. J. (Ed.). (2010). Encyclopedia of research design. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc.
Oxford Reference Online
- Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of SexualityFrancoeur, R. T. & Noonan, R. J. (n.d.). The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality.
- Dictionary of the Social SciencesCalhoun, C. (n.d.). Dictionary of the Social Sciences.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Gale Encyclopedia of PsychologyGale Encyclopedia of Psychology. Bonnie Strickland, ed. 2nded. Detroit: Gale, 2001.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health: Infancy through AdolescenceGale Encyclopedia of Children's Health: Infancy through Adolescence. Kristine Krapp and Jeffrey Wilson, eds. Detroit: Gale, 2006.
Credo Reference
Print Collection
The reference books listed below can all be found in the print reference collections in APU Libraries.
21st Century Psychology: A Reference Handbook by Call Number: WCampus Ref BF131 .A15 2008 vs.1-2ISBN: 1412949688Electronic version available through SAGE eReference (see box to the left)
Encyclopedia of Applied Developmental Science by Call Number: WCampus Ref HQ767.84 .E52 2005 vs.1-2ISBN: 0761928200
Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development by Call Number: WCampus Ref LB15 .E473 2005 vs.1-3ISBN: 0765612682
Encyclopedia of Human Development by Call Number: WCampus Ref HM626 .E53 2006 vs.1-3ISBN: 1412904757
Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood and Adolescence by Call Number: WCampus Ref HQ772 .G27 1998ISBN: 0810398842
Handbook of Social Work Research Methods by Call Number: ECampus Ref HV11 .H342 2001ISBN: 0761919066
SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods by Call Number: WCampus Ref H62 .L456 2004 vs.1-3ISBN: 0761923632
