Skip to Main Content

University Libraries Department of Collections & Technical Services : Staff Home

This is a work in progress

Staff Directory

Meetings and Events

Time Off Calendar

About Us

Role & Purpose of Technical Services & Collections Units:

  • Technical Services & Collections have traditionally handled tasks associated with bringing materials into the library and preparing them for use by students, faculty, & other qualified library users.  According to Evans (2011), there are nine basic functions of all libraries, out of the nine, five are exclusively completed by technical services & collections for all types of materials (physical & digital). They are:

    • Identification:  Locating potentially worthwhile items to add to the collection(s).

    • Selection:  Deciding which of the identified items to add to the collection(s).

    • Acquisitions:  Securing the items selected for the collection(s).

    • Organization:  Indexing and cataloging the items acquired in a manner that will help the end-user locate materials in the collection(s).

    • Preparation:  Labeling and otherwise making the items ready for storage in a manner that allows for easy retrieval.

  • Technical services & Collections are the infrastructures that enable the user's experience of many library services. It "...provides both information resources that end-users need and the means of gaining effective and efficient access to those materials. Technology has played an ever-greater role in changing the way in which technical services operate but it has not changed the basic function" (Evans, 2011)

The information above is from

Gehring, D. (2020). 2020 Strategic Plan Technical Services & Collections Units Summary. University Libraries Strategic Plan 2020, Azusa Pacific University.

Mission Statements

Azusa Pacific University Mission

"Azusa Pacific University is an evangelical Christian community of disciples and scholars who seek to advance the work of God in the world through academic excellence in liberal arts and professional programs of higher education that encourage students to develop a Christian perspective of truth and life."

APU Library Mission:

"The University Libraries at Azusa Pacific University provide access to resources and services to support the research and information needs of faculty, staff, students, and the surrounding community; offer instruction on the use of those resources and services; and strive to honor God and fulfill the university’s mission."

Technical Services:
Working closely with all University Libraries staff and faculty, it is the Technical Services’ mission to acquire, accurately describe, process, preserve, maintain, organize, and provide access to physical and virtual resources in the most efficient, effective, and innovative ways possible, in order to support the university curriculum and academic research needs of students, staff, and faculty.
 
Collection Management & Development:
The mission of the Collections Unit is to create an inclusive environment in the collections it considers for purchase (or use), in all its available formats, so that all patrons can access, interpret and create scholarly resources of excellence within a faith-based academic institution following the University Library Collection Development & Management policy.