What's In this Guide
Use the links below to navigate through this guide.
- Books About Don Quixote
- Books By Cervantes
- Books About Cervantes
- Selected APU Library Resources
- Credo Reference Topic Page
- Don Quixote & Cervantes in Academic Search Premier
- Don Quixote & Cervantes in MLA International Bibliography
- Google Scholar: Cervantes & Don Quixote
- ARTstor Images
- YouTube Videos
- Don Quixote & Cervantes on the Internet
Books About Don Quixote
The links below will perform searches in various library catalogs. For more information about LINK+, click here. If you'd like to have a book you find in WorldCat (and it's not in APU or LINK+ libraries), you can use interlibrary loanto request a copy.
Books By Cervantes
The links below will perform searches in various library catalogs. For more information about LINK+, click here. If you'd like to have a book you find in WorldCat (and it's not in APU or LINK+ libraries), you can use interlibrary loan to request a copy.
Books About Cervantes
The links below will perform searches in various library catalogs. For more information about LINK+, click here. If you'd like to have a book you find in WorldCat (and it's not in APU or LINK+ libraries), you can use interlibrary loanto request a copy.
Selected APU Library Resources
The following resources are available in APU libraries (or online) - click on the title link to check for location and availability. The image link will take you to the resource in Amazon.
The Cambridge Companion to Cervantes by Call Number: ECampus PQ6351 .C27 2002ISBN: 0521663210This is also available online in the Literature Online database.
Cervantes' Don Quixote: A Casebook by Call Number: EbookISBN: 0195169379Click on the title link, and then on the 'view electronic book' link.
Cervantes on Don Quixote by Call Number: EbookISBN: 3034303521Click on the title link, and then on the 'view electronic book' link.
Critical Images: The Canonization of Don Quixote Through Illustrated Editions of the Eighteenth Century by Call Number: EbookISBN: 0773517545Click on the title link, and then on the 'view electronic book' link.
Don Quixote Among the Saracens: A Clash of Civilizations and Literary Genres by Call Number: ECampus PQ6353 .D37 2011ISBN: 1442643455
Fighting Windmills: Encounters with Don Quixote by Call Number: ECampus PQ6352 .D83 2006ISBN: 0300110227This is also available electronically. Click here, and then click on the 'View electronic book' link.
The Humble Story of Don Quixote: Reflections on the Birth of the Modern Novel by Call Number: EbookISBN: 0813214521Click on the title link, and then on the 'view electronic book' link.
Love and the Law in Cervantes by Call Number: EbookISBN: 030010992XClick on the title link, and then on the 'view electronic book' link.
Preaching Fools: The Gospel as a Rhetoric of Folly by Call Number: Theology BV4211.3 .C355 2012ISBN: 160258365X
El Quijote en América by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9042030518Click on the title link, and then on the 'view electronic book' link.
Transliterating a Culture: Cervantes and the Moriscos by Call Number: ECampus PQ6353 .J637 2010ISBN: 158871182X
Credo Reference Topic Page
Credo Reference topic pages provide links to a variety of resources, including images, journal articles, books, etc. The topic page listed below lists a variety of resources related to Don Quixote.
ARTstor Images
Click here to view a variety of interpretations of Don Quixote from the ARTstor database. You may have to disable your pop-up window blocker.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
This link will take you into the Gale Virtual Reference Library where you will find essays, biographies, overviews, and other information about Don Quixote.
Welcome!
Illustration by Gustave Doré via Wikimedia Commons
Cervantes' Don Quixote
This online guide is intended to complement the reading of Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes. You will find a wide variety of library and Internet resources in the boxes on this page.
Happy researching!
Forthcoming Book
Cascade Books will be publishing Twelve Great Books that Changed the University: And Why Christians Should Care, edited by Steve Wilkens and Don Thorsen. One of the chapters, "Literature: Cervantes, Don Quixote (1605-1615)," is written by Andrea Ivanov-Craig. Look for this book to be available sometime in 2014!
Don Quixote & Cervantes in Academic Search Premier
The following articles are from an RSS feed in Academic Search Premier for a particular search. This list is automatically sorted by date (newest first). If you would like to sort by relevance, click on the 'View Website' link below, and then look for the menu at the top right of the results list - make sure this says 'Relevance.' You can also modify the search by clicking on the 'View Website' link below, and then on the 'Advanced Search' link under the search box.
Don Quixote & Cervantes in MLA International Bibliography
The following articles are from an RSS feed in MLA International Bibliography for a particular search. This list is automatically sorted by date (newest first). If you would like to sort by relevance, click on the 'View Website' link below, and then look for the menu at the top right of the results list - make sure this says 'Relevance.' You can also modify the search by clicking on the 'View Website' link below, and then on the 'Advanced Search' link under the search box.
Google Scholar: Cervantes & Don Quixote
Click on 'Search' below to get a variety of results from Google Scholar.
YouTube Videos
The videos below are just a small sampling of all that has been inspired by Don Quixote. Find more by clicking here.
Don Quixote & Cervantes on the Internet
The links below will take you to some selected Internet resources. if you would like to recommend websites that you've found, click on the 'Comments' link below.
- Anales CervantinosThis is a Spanish journal dedicated to Cervantes and his works.
- Centro Virtual Cervantes: El QuijoteThis site includes a variety of resources related to Don Quixote. To translate into English, use the Chrome translate feature or go to Google Translate and paste the website URL into the box and click 'Translate' (make sure the language tabs are set from Spanish to English).
- Columbia University Literature Humanities: Don QuixoteThis page includes several links and a variety of information about Cervantes and Don Quixote.
- Don Quijote: Engravings by Gustavo DoréThis page contains 222 engravings by Gustave Doré from the Edoardo Perino Italian edition of the Quijote (Rome, 1888).
- Don Quixote Illustrated: An Exhibit in Celebration of the 4th Centenary of the Quixote, 1605-2005"This catalogue and the exhibit which it commemorates features 45 books from the Eduardo Urbina Cervantes Project Collection in the Cushing Memorial Library and Archives, Texas A&M University."
- Don Quixote in English: A ChronologyThis site in an interactive chronology of translations of Don Quixote into English.
- H-Cervantes"H-Cervantes is a network for scholars and professionals active in studies related to Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra. It encourages scholarly exchanges on all aspects of the author, his works, his circle, his times, and scholarship on the era, and welcomes participation by scholars/specialists from all disciplines." This site includes discussion logs, images, reviews, Internet resources, and Cervantes Society of America publications.
- Open Yale Courses: Cervantes' Don QuixoteThis page includes 24 lectures delivered in 2009 by Dr. Roberto González Echevarría, Sterling Professor of Hispanic and Comparative Literature at Yale. The first lecture provides good introductory information about Don Quixote.
- Project Gutenberg: Books By CervantesThis page includes several downloadable versions of Don Quixote, including English, Dutch, German, French, and Spanish.
- Proyecto CervantesProjecto Cervantes is composed of the Cervantes International Bibliography Online, the Cervantes Digital Library, and the Cervantes Digital Archive of Images. The Cervantes Project ia housed at Texas A&M University (TAMU), is a joint collaboration of the following organizations: TAMU Department of Hispanic Studies, the Center for the Study of Digital Libraries (CSDL), and Dr. Fred Jehle of Indiana-Purdue University.
- Raymond Cooper Photography: Windmills in Consuegra, SpainThis blog post describes the scenery in Consuegra and is accompanied by several photos of the restored windmills that would have been familiar to Don Quixote.
- El Quijote en InternetEl Quijote Channel by La Real Academia Española "has embarked on an exciting new project in which people from around the world are assigned a fragment from the Quixote to read on YouTube."
- University of Rochester: Collection HighlightThis page provides information about and illustrations from the 1738 edition of Vida y Hechos del Ingenioso Hidalgo Don Quixote de la Mancha, which was "the first deluxe edition of the novel, and the first edition in Spanish published in England."