Social Psychology: Home

To find books in the APU Libraries use the library catalog under Books and Media.

Type your topic, OR the title of a book OR an author's name in the search box and click on "Search."

The next screen will indicate whether the APU Libraries have any books on your topic, or the specific title you are looking for, or any books by the author you identified.  This screen will also tell you if the book is available or checked out or on reserve for a class, and which APU library has the book.

East Campus = Marshburn Library = East Campus

West Campus = Darling Library = West Campus

Theological Library = Stamps Library on West Campus

eBook = Digital availability

Pick the book up from the library or put a request by clicking on the Request this item button to place a hold. Click on the title, then Request this item. We will email you when it's ready for pickup: 

Click on the View eBook button to access eBooks and View Online or Download. We recommend View Online or download by chapter:

If you'd like the book to be sent to another APU library, click on the "Request It" link, log in, and complete the pop-up box by choosing which library - Darling or Marshburn - you would like to have the book sent to.  The book should arrive within 8-24 hours and can be picked up at the circulation (check-out) desk.  You should also receive an email letting you know the book has arrived at the library you requested it to be sent to.

You can find guidelines to APA citations in the following places:

APU Library Guide:  https://apu.libguides.com/APA_7th_Edition

Purdue University's Online Guide:  http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/01/ 

PLEASE ASK YOUR APU LIBRARIAN FOR HELP IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS ABOUT APA!

Finding journal articles

The best database for finding social psychology journal articles is PsycINFO, published by the American Psychological Association.  To search for articles in PsycINFO, go to the University Libraries homepage and click on Articles and Databases. Select the subject of psychology:

Your best bets are in yellow. Click PsycINFO:

Once you are in PsychINFO, you can begin constructing searches for a specific topic. PsycINFO is owned by EBSCO, which means you can also search other databases at the same time. It is recommended to choose HAPI and PsycArticles under the Choose Databases menu:

Begin searching using the search menu. Multiple search menus are available as a convenience to separate words in groups. But, writing them in a single search bar will also produce the same results:

Always choose Scholarly/Peer reviewed from the Limit to options and update the publication date to be more current:

HTML, PDF, or Open Access tells you the article is immediately available in PsycINFO. Click on any to gain access:

If the full text of an article is not provided within PsycINFO, you will see a Full Text Finder, Full Text or similar access button. This means another database has it or you will need to request through interlibrary loan. You will see link options after clicking on the Full Text button for articles available in other databases. Several databases or only a couple may have it. Sometimes links are broken from the databases or dated. Don't be discouraged, this is normal because links need updates all the time. Start from top to bottom until you are able to access the article through another database:

If there are no links, select ILL, request free copy. Article requests usually only take a couple of days. So don't limit yourself. Click on the Request free copy to fill out the form. We will email it your APU email.

If you are looking for a book which is not available at APU, you can request it free of charge through the Request button. It usually takes 7 to 10 days to receive a book after you have placed your request.

To search for books, go to the University Libraries homepage at http://www.apu.edu/library and type the title of your book (or subject) in the Books and Media search box. If APU doesn't have it, select the option for searching worldwide:

The location will tell you if the book is available in California or worldwide:

Click on the title and request the book through interlibrary loan:

You may be asked to log in with your APU NetID and Password. You will be able to get updates through My Library Account on the home page and will be notified via APU email when your book is ready for pick up.  Requesting a book through WorldCat is also a free service and generally takes 7 to 10 days to receive a book after the request is placed.