Theories, Theorists, & Models in Nursing & Public Health Research

The nursing profession has evolved greatly over time. Moving from dependence upon total medical direction providing basic care into an independent practice modality, nursing has its own nursing theory practice, nursing models, and distinct nursing interventions. Nursing theories have been developed by a large number of leaders in the nursing field. This link includesmajor nursing theorists who have contributed to the development of professional nursing practice into what it is today.

You are now entering the Jones and Bartlett Nursing Theory Art Gallery which displays the creative works of nursing students across the country. If you would like to exhibit your or your students’ artistic impressions of nursing theory using the concepts presented in Sitzman and Eichelberger’s Understanding the Work of Nurse Theorists. We will post them for others to view and use in their discussion of nursing theory.

Digitized collection of books by and about Florence Nightingale was a gift from urologist Elmer Belt to UCLA's Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library in 1958.

Includes background information on nursing theorists and artifacts such as videos and pictures.

More then 28000 items on Nursing Theory or Theorists. The keywords "nurs* theor*" were used in the search. To filter the results select "All Filter" at the top of the page.

Links to information about nursing theorists and theories. Developed and maintained by Clayton State University Department of Nursing.

Links to nursing theory related sites. From Hahn School of Nursing, University of San Diego.

The Nursing Theory Page is a collaborative effort by an international group interested in developing a collection of resources about nursing theories throughout the world. The project began on 21 May 96 and will always be a work in progress.

Series of 15 nursing videos produced in the 1990s by Sigma Theta Tau International & Samuel Merritt College Studio Three Productions, archived by the Ruth Lilly Special Collections & Archives at Indiana University Library.

A selected collection of letters, including images, written by Florence Nightingale; Provided by the Clendening History of Medicine Library, University of Kansas Medical Center.

Provides a timeline of Nightingale's life, many of her quotes, and graphic images; Also links to other sites about Nightingale.

An extensive list of links to nursing history resources; Provided by VCU Libraries at Virginia Commonwealth University.

This collection of books by and about Florence Nightingale was a gift from urologist Elmer Belt to UCLA's Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library in 1958. The gift honored School of Nursing Dean Lulu Wolf Hassenplug for her successful creation of the school in 1948 and her direction of it through its first ten years at the University of California, Los Angeles. The books have a characteristic mid-Victorian appearance; they are not beautiful either in typography or binding but, with content reflecting the influence of Florence Nightingale, they are immensely rich in human value. The collection includes editions of Nightingale's influential "Notes on Nursing" (1859 and later) and her other publications as well as biographies and tributes.

This organization provides nursing history information as well as links to other nursing history resources.

The mission of CAHN is to promote interest in the history of nursing and to develop scholarship in the field.
CAHN is a charitable organization founded in 1987, and is an affiliate group of the Canadian Nurses Association.

University of Virginia School of Nursing. The Eleanor Crowder Bjoring Center for Nursing Historical Inquiry was established at the University of Virginia in 1991 to support historical scholarship in nursing. Dedicated to the preservation and study of nursing history, the Bjoring Center collects historical materials, promotes nursing history scholarship, and disseminates historical research findings.

The Center was established in 1985 to “encourage and facilitate historical scholarship on health care history and nursing in the United States.” Located at the University of Pennsylvania.

In January of 2013, La Salle University welcomed the Museum of Nursing History to reside in the St. Benilde Tower of the former Germantown Dispensary and Hospital in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, which is now the West Wing of the University.

Maryland’s only museum dedicated to nursing, the Living History Museum honors the critical role of nurses and chronicles the continuing story of the profession.