Databases for Tocqueville Research
The following databases contain a variety of material on Tocqueville. Click one of the links below and start searching.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexing for over 1,800 journals from 1895 to the present.
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
- Literature Online is the leading online resource for the study and teaching of literature in English, combining the texts of over 355,000 literary works with a vast library of key criticism and reference resources. Its ever-growing library of full-text journals and author biographies help keep you up to date on the latest research into every aspect of literary and linguistic study. Literature Online is updated at least nine times a year.
Cambridge Companion to Tocqueville
The Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture contain 1300+ downloadable essays. Each companion includes a bibliography, as well as glossaries and timelines. Click on the link below to access the online book.
- Cambridge Companion to Tocqueville"The essays cover Tocqueville's major themes (liberty, equality, democracy, despotism, civil society, religion) and texts (Democracy in America, Recollections, Old Regime and the Revolution, other important reports, speeches and letters)."
Articles from Academic Search Premier
The articles below are from Academic Search Premier (but may not be available in full-text).
Welcome!
Théodore Chassériau [Public domain] via Wikimedia Commons
This online guide is intended to complement the reading of Democracy in America by Alexis de Tocqueville. You will find a wide variety of library, database, and Internet resources in the boxes on this page.
Happy researching!
Google Scholar: Democracy In America
Click on 'Search' to find books and articles on Tocqueville and Democracy in America.
Tocqueville on the Web
The links below will take you to websites that provide a rich variety of information about Tocqueville. Feel free to add other websites you like by clicking on the 'Comments' link.
- Alexis de TocquevilleThis website created by the French Ministry of Culture contains portraits of Tocqueville and his family and friends, and a variety of information about his travels, writings, and politics.
- Democracy in America: Tocqueville's America"The site now contains a virtual tour of America based on Tocqueville's itinerary, on his and his friend Beaumont's letters and journals, on contemporaneous accounts of other foreign visitors, and on a variety of examples of material culture of the period , mostly paintings and engravings. It also holds explorations of Womens' Place at the time, of attitudes toward race and color, towards religion, and towards everyday life."
- Yale University, Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library: Yale Tocqueville Manuscripts, ca. 1802-1840Click on the 'See all images' link below the picture of Tocqueville to view all of the digital images in the collection. The images include correspondence, portraits, and sketches from both Tocqueville and Beaumont.
YouTube EDU
Search for YouTube EDU videos (like the one below) that are relevant to Tocqueville.
Library Resources: By Tocqueville
The links below will perform searches that will retrieve resources by Alexis de Tocqueville.
Library Resources: About Tocqueville
The links below will perform searches that will retrieve resources about Alexis de Tocqueville.
Select Resources At APU
The following resources are available in APU libraries - click on the title link to check for location and availability.
Alexis de Tocqueville: Democracy's Guide by Call Number: ECampus DC36.98.T63 E77 2006ISBN: 0060598980
Alexis de Tocqueville and Gustave de Beaumont in America by Call Number: ECampus E165 .T53213 2010ISBN: 9780813930626
Interpreting Tocqueville's "Democracy in America" by Call Number: ECampus JK216.T7193 I58 1991ISBN: 0847677117
