Find the best library databases for your research at Azusa Pacific University.
Announcements
The A-Z Databases list is in the process of being updated to a new format. Come back later to see what we have done.
For information on databases that are not working properly, please click on "Alerts" in the left side bar.
Provides full text for nearly 4,000 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,100 peer-reviewed journals in a wide variety of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
The Azusa Pacific University Libraries support the research pursuits of APU students, faculty, and staff, as well as those of the community. Maintained by expert library faculty and staff, the libraries offer patrons access to varied collections, rare archives, and an extensive catalog of print and electronic resources, bringing the information you need within reach. The university library’s mission is to provide access to resources and services to support the research and information needs of faculty, staff, students, and the surrounding community; offer instruction on the use of those resources and services; and strive to honor God and fulfill the university’s mission.
Special Collections of Azusa Pacific University are housed in the Thomas F. Andrews Room of the Hugh and Hazel Darling Library, located on APU’s West Campus. Access to the items in Special Collections is provided through the Library Catalog and through finding aids. Images from the library’s Special Collections, consisting of more than 6,500 holdings ranging from presidential signatures to historical citrus crate labels, are available online. This includes APU’s Historical Institutional Archives Collection - Highlights of this collection include the original 1900 catalog of the Training School for Christian Workers, and a comprehensive collection of sound recordings issued by the School of Music dating from the 1940s to the present.
Fitne Nursing Theorists is a series of videos about major female nursing theorists, their lives, and their work. Each video is between 25-45 minutes in length, and many contain interviews with the theorists themselves including 28 prominent education nurse theorists and 3 education nursing theories.
The Los Angeles Times is one of the largest metropolitan newspapers in the U.S. It has won numerous journalism awards including 37 Pulitzer prizes, five of which are gold medals for public service.
We are now pleased to offer Alumni access to this database!
Creates lovable language-learning experiences for language fanatics worldwide. You will have access to over 60 foreign-language courses and 17 English courses taught in the native language of the user. Each Mango lesson incorporates the four key conversational components crucial for successful communication: vocabulary, pronunciation, grammar, and culture.
Open Science Framework (OSF) is a free and open-source tool that allows you to manage all of the components of your research project (files, data, code, protocols, citations, etc.) from a simple web interface. More than 150 public materials have been posted by APU-affiliated users in the areas of theology, biblical studies, church history, religion, psychology, leadership, nursing, public health, and higher education. Researchers use OSF to collaborate, document, archive, share, and register research projects, materials, and data. OSF integrates easily with the tools you already use in your everyday workflows (Google Drive, Dropbox, GitHub, Zotero, etc.), provides fine-grained access controls, and enables open and reproducible research practices. With just one click, you can make any part of your project publicly available or completely private.
APU currently does not have an institutional membership; however, if you would like APU to get a membership to facilitate institutional linking and easy authentication, please complete the trial database feedback form.
Largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985. This database is available on the ProQuest platform.
Developed with guidance from Asian American scholars and historians, The Asian American Experience applies a critical lens to the study of U.S. history, exploring the social, political, and economic forces that have shaped the experiences of Asian Americans in distinct historical eras. The database also explores some of the rich and varied experiences of Native Hawaiians and other Pacific Island and indigenous groups.
The Asian American Experience includes a rich and diverse variety of primary sources, student skill-building activities, and perspective essays designed to provoke critical thinking. Extensive reference libraries equip students with the tools to conduct in-depth explorations of key issues, such as the role of discrimination in Asian American history and its effect on citizenship and civil liberties, the economic impacts of immigration and labor, and changing political and cultural representation.
Features
A rich and diverse variety of primary sources, including images, audio clips, documents, and video, covering multiple dimensions of Asian American history and culture
Perspective essays designed to provoke critical thinking about issues of enduring importance to the Asian American community
An interdisciplinary approach to understanding the historical and current experiences of persons of Asian and Pacific Island ancestry in the United States
Advanced search, save, and citation tools to support effective student research
Features approximately 1,600 primary source documents related to critical people and events in Black or African American history, particularly regarding the struggle against racial injustice in the United States.
Trial access will be granted through December 31, 2024.
ebooks: Access 30,000 eBooks covering 26 subject areas from across the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Life Sciences. More than 2,000 titles are published annually, primarily in English.
eJournals: Gain access to more than 500 non-OA journals. All articles, all years, from volume 1, issue 1. Popular titles include Historical Materialism, Amphibia-Reptilia, and Behavior.
Trial access will be granted through December 31, 2024.
De Gruyter offers libraries and vendors excellent titles across 29 subject areas, a deep backlist, and partnerships with prominent publishers. Our Book Archive contains over 50,000 titles spanning our 270-year history, from 1749 until today. Our search options help you find the works you want - and discounts start already for orders of 20 books or more.
Trial access will be granted through December 31, 2024.
The De Gruyter University Press Library (UPL) is an acquisition model for academic libraries that brings together eBook collections from more than 27 of the world’s most prestigious university presses and publishing houses, including Harvard, Princeton, and Edinburgh .
Eerdmans Digital Reference Library is a collection of 43 core reference volumes necessary for every student and scholar of theology, biblical and religious studies. This collection offers a fantastic base to jumpstart an academic career as well as deepen scholars’ current knowledge. Featuring award-winning encyclopedias, theological dictionaries of the Bible, and more, this resource is an essential comparison to enrich understanding of the Bible and subsequent scholarship and traditions. As the third collection in the Eerdmans Publishing Co suite on Theology & Religion Online, it is easier than ever to cross-search and research all in one place.
This module includes the Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament, Theological Dictionary of the New Testament, Encyclopedia of Christianity, Eerdmans Encyclopedia of Christian Art and Archeology, and many more.
This collection brings together eCases commissioned by Emerald, as well as licensed content from our case partners. As a result, we are able to provide teaching faculty with a comprehensive collection of international business cases.
APU Libraries have access to The Case Journal, Emerging Markets Case Studies, & Cases for Women from 2018 to 2023.
The Latino American Experience: The American Mosaic defines this national identity as it embraces the heritage and culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Dominicans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Latino peoples in the United States. By featuring articles and essays from Latino authors and contributors on topics ranging from changing landscapes to immigration, civil rights to the Chicano movement, and economic adversity to the fight to carve out Latino communities while simultaneously assimilating into American culture, The Latino American Experience: The American Mosaic gives voice to the Latino American experience that features so largely in the making of American history.
Latino Americans now comprise about 18 percent of the U.S. population. Over 60 million individuals have formed vibrant communities across the nation, contributing substantially to the national identity.
Research Methods content is often theoretical and abstract and can be difficult to apply to real world scenarios. Sage Research Methods Cases offers hundreds of case studies of actual research projects from many different disciplines to show how methods are applied. These cases add color and context to the more theoretical material found in Sage Research Methods and underscore the nuances and decisions researchers face when designing projects.
You can do a quick search across all cases or search by Subject area, Academic Level, and/or Methods used. Cases content is also included in search results on Sage Research Methods and on the Methods Map.
Master quantitative and qualitative data analysis with step-by-step guides and sample data.
Looking to learn new statistical techniques? Or do you just need some practice on techniques you have been shown in class? Our Datasets are a collection of resources which include real research data, how-to guides, and instructional materials that can be used to support the teaching and independent learning of quantitative and qualitative analytical methods. Datasets are taken from real research projects but edited and cleaned for learning purposes. Each dataset is accompanied by a short, clear, narrative description of the data and easy-to-follow instructions on how to apply the research method, providing a step-by-step guide to analyzing the data, and then allowing students to practice the analysis themselves.
The T&T Clark Theology Library, part of Theology and Religion Online, offers students and scholars of theology core theological content via primary texts and supporting articles. An imprint of Bloomsbury, T&T Clark has been publishing cutting-edge books in biblical studies since 1821 and brings authoritative and systematic scholarship to this comprehensive resource.
This module includes introductory articles commissioned exclusively for T&T Clark Theology Library, written by key academics. These articles are comprehensive overviews of the theologians featured on the platform, and introduce the doctrines, their relevance for study today, and their importance for our understanding of theology.
