| APA Manual 8.13, 8.28, 9.2, 9.33, 9.30, 9.34, 9.41-42, 10.2 intro, 10.2.22, 10.2.28, 10.2.30, 10.2.36, APA Style website> "Database Information in Reference." Also see examples in tabbed pages Books, Ebooks, Websites (when completed); 9.39,10.2.25, 10.2.28, 10.2.34, 10.3.42, 10.3.46.
|
Style notes: Be sure to adjust the indentation of runover lines in these examples that cannot be adjusted in this software. 2. Page number or other such part/location information in the in-text citation is not needed when paraphrasing, although it can be included when useful to the reader, such as when citing from a longer work (APA Manual 8.13).
1. Citing from the digital Loeb Classical Library database:
a. Option 1: Cited just as a print book of an Ancient Greek or Roman Work (and other "classical works"). (See 10.2.22 note and sections cited above, especially 10.2.36 [start with this], 10.2.37, 10.2.30, 10.2.31 and APA Style-"Religious Works" that says to follow 10.2.37 for print version of Greek/Roman works and religious works.) Citing as the print format of the bookis the preferred format by Loeb Classical Library database. APA advises citing as print when content in digitized format is the same, especially when there is no DOI. This example is a hybrid of 10.2.36, 37 and 10.2.30 as there is no exact example. Some would place the main title and volume number with the title of the volume, but this adheres more closely to the Ancient Greek or Roman work example in absence of more direction from 10.2.37. Do not include database information for this option! Loeb shows you an image and bibliographic information on the print book viewed when you click on a link in the right-hand corner of the page such as LCL 411and you are citing as though you used the print book when choosing this option:
P: (Augustine, ca. 426 C.E./1957, p. 145)
R: Augustine. (1957). City of God, Vol. 1: Books 1-3 (G. E. McCracken, Trans.). Loeb Classical Library: Vol. 411. Harvard University Press (Original work published ca. 426 C.E.)
b. Option 2: Cited as an electronic source publication of an Ancient Greek or Roman work: See 10.2.36 for the closest guiding example and least complicated solution versus synthesizing a format accommodating an ebook of a republished work in translation in a database with an available DOI and more. The database title is included here as primary sources collections are considered of "limited distribution" and so meet that guideline and are not treated as ebook monographs. DOI provided here rather than a URL as in 10.2.36 as the database URL would require a login versus when accessing a public website (also see 10.2.20).
P: (Augustine, ca. 426 C.E./1957, p. 145)
R: Augustine. (1957). City of God (G. E. McCracken, Trans.). Digital Loeb Classical Library. DOI: 10.4159/DLCL.augustine-city_god_pagans.1957 (Original work published ca. 426 C.E.)
2. Past Masters: APA allows you to cite a source as a print book when the content is the same (10.2.22 second bullet point), particularly as DOIs are not provided and the URL "will not resolve for the reader" (also see APA Style website). Use that option -- unless your professor prefers formatting as an electronic source, since they are the reader with access to APU databases and the URL will resolve for him/her. See Primary Texts-Print Books to the right and the Books tab; follow the most appropriate example. Example 5 in that box, a work in an anthology/titled volume in a multivolume work, is a common publication type for these authors' works.
You can alternatively follow the examples provided for Loeb Classical Library for authors such as Augustine and others in Past Masters, including early works (ie Aquinas, Luther) and more modern works (ie Kierkegaard) in Past Masters (also see 10.2.28 "Book republished in translation"). Option 1 of citing like a print version is preferred. All bibliographic information is provided in Past Masters.
In the in-text citation, locations for a specific part may have to be cited as a para. # or Part or Chapter or truncated title of a section and para # in that section for a work when there is no pagination (8.13 "Citing specific parts of a source," also 8.28, 9.42).
Choose one model from the options as deemed allowed in compliance with APA 7 guidelines for these resources/works, adding or dropping elements given the particulars of a publication, when citing as either a print version or an electronic version. Note the distinctions carefully, however, between the examples for different formats and publications, as one must do following the discrete examples provided by style manuals. Be careful not to mix elements for a database/ebook/website collection with the elements for citing as a print work.
3. CCEL: See examples provided for Loeb Classical Library entry 1 above when using the print view interface, and entry 5 below for the web view, although if you choose to cite the electronic source, you will provide the website name rather than the database title and a URL rather than a DOI of the page cited (9.33, 10.2.36, 10.2.37 and entry 5 below). Note that you can change the HTML view of a page in CCEL to print view. Also see location/part of a work citation note in the Past Masters entry above. Note that some APU nursing professors prefer one option versus the other and have required that the student actually consult and cite he print edition (pre-COVID-19) but using the print interface accomplishes that -- see Primary Texts Print Books box to the right for a specific example. Some would still recommend following the website format for CCEL works see 5 below).
4. Citing from an ebook without a DOI, from an academic research database, such as EBSCO or ProQuest (this includes most ebooks in our online catalog, but see Dictionaries for ebook dictionary examples): Cite as a print book. (See 10.2 intro, 10.2.21)
a. A basic template:
P: (Author, year, p. #)
R: Author, A. A. (year). Title of book. Publisher Name.
b. An basic example:
P: (Lewis, 1955, p. 24)
R: Lewis, C. S. (1955). Surprised by joy: the shape of my early life. Harcourt, Brace & Court.
c. A more complicated example (citing from an authored chapter/work in edited anthology republished from selections in one volume of a multivolume edited work in translation from an original authored work in German, ebook -- cited as the print book):
P: (Bonhoeffer, 1937/2013, p. 475)
R: Bonhoeffer, D. (2013). Discipleship (B. Green & R. Kraus, Trans.). In C. J. Green & M. P. DeJonge (Eds.), The Bonhoeffer reader (pp.455-513). Fortress Press. (Reprinted from Dietrich Bonhoeffer Works: Vol. 5. Discipleship, pp. 37–83, 100–110, 137–146, 161–169, 181–182, 201–204, by G. B. Kelly & J. D. Godsey, Eds., 2001, Fortress Press (Original work published 1937)
5. Primary text work on the Web (with a nondatabase URL), ie as one option for CCEL and similar websites (not in an academic research database):
a. Basic templates:
P: (Author, date, p. # or other part location info).
-or sometimes-
(Author, ca. original date C.E. or B.C.E./modern date of publication, p. # or other part location info)
R: Author, A. A. (date). Title. Website title. http://xxx.
-or sometimes-
Author. (date). Title (A. A. Trans.). Website Title. http://xxx (Original work published ca. xxx C.E. or B.C.E. or simply a year for older non-classical works such as Luther or Bonhoeffer)
b. An example for the template above for a web view versus a page/PDF view of the digitized primary text , for example one option for some texts in CCEL, or for other websites when the publication that is digitized is not identified (such as Early Christian Writings website, no page numbers in this example:
P: (Catherine of Siena, 1370/1907, "How desire and contrition" section, para.6)
R: Catherine of Siena. (1907). The dialog of the seraphic virgin Catherine of Siena (A. Thorold Ed. & Trans.). The Christian Classics Ethereal Library. https://ccel.org/ccel/catherine/dialog (Original work published 1370)
When a work in CCEL provides a page view, it can viewed and cited as a print book, including for Ancient Greek and Roman authors. The APA Style website directs you to follow the model in 10.2.37 for the Shakespeare/classical literature example and similar to the Torah and Qur'an examples in 10.2.35 when the ancient work is published as a book versus the one example for Ancient Greek and Roman works that only provides a specific example in the case when the work is published on a website (see the Loeb Option 1 example for citing as a print book).
| The APA Style website directs you to follow the model in 10.2.37 for Shakespeare/classical literature example (and similar to the Torah and Qur'an examples in 10.2.35 ) when the ancient work is published as a book versus the example for Ancient Greek and Roman works in 10.2.36 that only provides a sample when the work is published on a website (see the Loeb Option 1 example). |
1. Citing a primary text (usually Ancient Greek or Latin/Roman for our purposes) from a (print) book (10.2.21) include the commonly encountered examples in the box to the left which are also used for ebooks without a DOI, as used for many works in Loeb, Past Masters, and CCEL: See 1.a and 4 examples and directives in 2 and 3. Also see Books tab for additional examples (when completed**)
2. Citing from an Ancient Greek or Roman work, with translator, print book (also use for ebook without a DOI) (10.2..36, 10.2.37, 9.8) [this is listed as Example 2 as it's a basic format, but Examples 3 and, especially, 4-5 are the more common kinds of publications found for Ancient Greek and Roman works in print, especially those by the Church Fathers]:
a. A template:
P: (Author, ca. year B.C.E. or C.E. or n.d. for original publication/year modern publication, p. xx)
R: Author. (year of modern publication). Title of book (A. A. Translator, Trans.). Publisher. (Original work published ca. xxx B.C.E. or C.E.)
b. An example:
P: (John Chrysostom, ca. 390-391 C.E., p. 26)
R: John Chrysostom (with Neville, G.). (1984). Six books on the priesthood (G. Neville, Trans.). St. Vladimir's Seminary Press. (Original work published ca. 390-391 C.E.)
3. Citing from an Ancient Greek or Roman work, book in a series or multivolume work, with translator (10.2..30, 10.2.31, 10.2.36 [start with this], 10.2.37) such as Fathers of the church series (see Loeb classical library example for citing a work in that as a print book, similar to this):
a. A template:
P: (Author, ca. date written or activity/modern publication date, p. #)
R: Author. (modern publication date). Title of ancient work/volume (A. A. Translator, Trans.). Main title: Vol. #. Publisher. (Original work published ca. xxx-xxx B.C.E. or C.E.)
b. An example:
P: John Chrysostom, ca. 386-387 C.E./1998, p. 46)
R: John Chrysostom. (1998). On repentance and almsgiving (G. G. Christo, Trans.). Fathers of the church: Vol. 96. Catholic University of America Press (Original work published ca. 386-387 C.E.)
4. USEFUL FOR ANF/NPNF, CCEL, PAST MASTERS: Citing from a primary text (including an Ancient Greek or Roman work) in a book, multivolume work, in this case sometimes different authors within one volume and/or within the multivolume work (ie an anthology), with editors and translators: This can be used for ANF (Ante-Nicene Fathers) or NPNF (Nicene and post-Nicene Fathers), which are the series for most of the Church Fathers' print works digitized in CCEL. This can also be adopted and adapted as necessary for "collected works of" multivolume publications of an author, often with an editor and/or translator, eg, some of the publications digitized in Past Masters database which are similar to Loeb in the respect that they can be cited as print. An example in Past Masters could be for consulting a work Exposition on Psalm 129 by Augustine in a volume entitled and numbered as Expositions of the Psalms, 121-150, Volume III/20 in the multivolume work having the main title of The Works of Saint Augustine could fit into this example. Note the distinctions carefully, however, between the examples for different formats and publications, as one must do following the discrete examples provided by style manuals. Be careful not to mix elements for a database/ebook/website collection with the elements for citing as a print work.
Here we are using the Work in an Anthology and One Titled Volume in a Multivolume Work examples to build our basic template (8.15,9.41,1010.2.30, 10.2.36, 10.2.37, 10.3.42, 10.3.46), similar to a chapter in a volume in an edited multivolume work. [See other examples below suitable for other common publications of works by the Church Fathers and other Greek and Roman authors/works]:
a. A basic template:
P: (Author, date of original work/anthology publication date, p. #).
R: Author. (publication year of anthology ie modern volume). Title of original work. In A. A. Editor (Ed.). Title of multivolume work: Vol. #. Volume title ( p. # or xx--xx pp. for page range of original work). Publisher name. (Original work published xxxx or ca. xxx-xxx B.C.E. or C.E.)
For Ancient Greek/Roman put ca. and approximate date; use B.C.E. or C.E. with the year for ancient works; for more modern original works, such as in RCS, put the year; omit original work date if unknown. You may need to skim intro or preface to the work or the book or other reliable source to find the date attributed by scholars to an ancient work.
b. An example:
P: (John Chrysostom, ca. 390-398 C.E./1885, p. 5).
R: John Chrysostom. (1885). Homilies on the Gospel of John. In P. Schaff (Ed. & Trans.). A select library of the Nicene and post-Nicene Fathers of the Christian church. First series: Vol. 14. Homilies on the Gospel of St. John and the Epistle to the Hebrews (pp. 1-332). Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Company. (Original work published ca.390-398 C.E.)
Use the publisher name as shown on the work even if the format of the name has changed over time (9.29). Do not use titles such as Saint for the author element (9.8). If uncertain about the proper format for an author's name, start with the name on the published work you are using, but consult other works that cite that author, as well as bibliographic and catalog records (9.9).