Select Reference Works I
BOTH ONLINE AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - ONLINE (EBOOK/DATABASE) REQUIRES LOGIN
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry & Writings by
2009 Christianity Today Merit Award winner!2009 ECPA Gold Medallion (Bible Reference & Study)The Old Testament books of wisdom and poetry carry themselves differently from those of the Pentateuch, the histories or the prophets. The divine voice does not peal from Sinai, there are no narratives carried along by prophetic interpretation nor are oracles declaimed by a prophet. Here Scripture often speaks in the words of human response to God and God's world. The hymns, laments and thanksgivings of Israel, the dirge of Lamentations, the questionings of Qohelet, the love poetry of the Song of Songs, the bold drama of Job and the proverbial wisdom of Israel all offer their textures to this great body of biblical literature. Then too there are the finely crafted stories of Ruth and Esther that narrate the silent providence of God in the course of Israelite and Jewish lives.This third Old Testament volume in InterVarsity Press's celebrated "Black Dictionary" series offers nearly 150 articles covering all the important aspects of Job, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Psalms, Song of Songs, Lamentations, Ruth and Esther. Over ninety contributors, many of them experts in this literature, have contributed to the Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry & Writings. This volume maintains the quality of scholarship that students, scholars and pastors have come to expect from this series.Coverage of each biblical book includes an introduction to the book itself as well as separate articles on its ancient Near Eastern background and its history of interpretation. Additional articles amply explore the literary dimensions of Hebrew poetry and prose, including acrostic, ellipsis, inclusio, intertextuality, parallelism and rhyme. And there are well-rounded treatments of Israelite wisdom and wisdom literature, including wisdom poems, sources and theology. In addition, a wide range of interpretive approaches is canvassed in articles on hermeneutics, feminist interpretation, form criticism, historical criticism, rhetorical criticism and social-scientific approaches.The Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry & Writings is sure to command shelf space within arm's reach of any student, teacher or preacher working in this portion of biblical literature.Tremper Longman III and Peter E. Enns edit this collection of 148 articles by 90 contributors on Job, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song of Songs, Lamentations, Ruth and Esther.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440.D53 v.4ISBN: 9780830817832Publication Date: 2008-06-06
The Anchor Bible Dictionary/Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary (set) by Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440 .A54 1992 (v.1-v.6)ISBN: 0385193513Publication Date: 1992/2008
Wisdom Literature Monographs
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN
The Tree of Life: An Exploration of Biblical Wisdom Literature by
Since 1990 Roland Murphy's Tree of Life has been a standard introduction to the wisdom literature of the Bible. Now The Tree of Life is available in a third edition, complete with a new preface by the author and a special supplement that surveys the latest developments in wisdom research. This superb study thoroughly explores the wisdom writings of the Bible, interpreting this literature in a way that illumines the development of Israel's search for wisdom throughout its tumultuous history. Murphy looks at each wisdom book individually -- Proverbs, Job, Ecclesiastes, Ecclesiasticus, and Wisdom of Solomon -- and adds to them a discussion of wisdom from other parts of the Old Testament. His careful investigations expose the various guises that wisdom adopts -- the "fear of the Lord," moral formation, the universality of human experience, the mysteries of creation, and others.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1455 .M83 2002ISBN: 0802839657Publication Date: 2002-01-28 (3rd ed.)
Wisdom's Wonder: character, creation, and crisis in the Bible's wisdom literature by
Wisdom's Wonder offers a fresh reading of the Hebrew Bible's wisdom literature with a unique emphasis on "wonder" as the framework for understanding biblical wisdom. William Brown argues that wonder effectively integrates biblical wisdom's emphasis on character formation and its outlook on creation, breaking an impasse that has plagued recent wisdom studies. Drawing on various disciplines, from philosophy to neuroscience, Brown discovers new distinctions and connections in Proverbs, Job, and Ecclesiastes. Each book is studied in terms of its view of moral character and creation, as well as in terms of the social or intellectual crisis each book identifies. Most general treatments of the wisdom literature spend too much time on issues of genre, poetry, and social context at the neglect of discussing the intellectual and emotional power of the wisdom corpus. Brown argues that the real power of the wisdom corpus lies in its capacity to evoke the reader's sense of wonder. An extensive revision and expansion of Brown's Character in Crisis (Eerdmans, 1996), this book demonstrates that the wisdom books are much more than simply advice literature: with wonder as the foundation for understanding, Brown maintains that wisdom is a process with transformation of the self as the goal.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1455 .B7625 2014ISBN: 9780802867933Publication Date: 2014-03-11
Helpmates, Harlots, and Heroes: Women's Stories in the Hebrew Bible, Second Edition by
This best-selling book, now revised and updated, shares the work of many feminist biblical scholars who have examined women's stories for several years. These stories are powerful accounts of women in the Old Testament--stories that have profoundly affected how women understand themselves as well as men's perception of them. Here, Alice Bellis shares the research of feminist biblical scholarship during a quarter of a century, which renders a vast amount of refreshing, exciting, sometimes disturbing material.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS575 .B45 1994 (1st. ed.)ISBN: 9780664230289Publication Date: 2007-07-03
Old Testament Wisdom Literature by
The books of Job, Proverbs and Ecclesiastes are rooted in the order created by the one true God. Their steady gaze penetrates to the very nature of created reality and leads us toward peace and human flourishing. Craig Bartholomew and Ryan O'Dowd tune our ears to hear once again Lady Wisdom calling in the streets.Old Testament Wisdom Literature provides an informed introduction to the Old Testament wisdom books Proverbs, Ecclesiastes and Job. Establishing the books in the context of ancient Near Eastern wisdom traditions and literature, the authors move beyond the scope of typical introductions to discuss the theological and hermeneutical implications of this literature.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1455 .B27 2011ISBN: 9780830838967Publication Date: 2011-05-27
Wisdom and Law in the Old Testament by
A completely new, expanded edition of this classic college text book about two key kinds of writing in the Old Testament: wisdom and law. Completely revised and updated, the book also includes much more on literary interpretation.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1455 .B53 1983 BILLEDISBN: 0198755031Publication Date: 1995-09-14
Wisdom Literature in Mesopotamia and Israel by
Wisdom literature -- Criticism, interpretation, etc.
Assyro-Babylonian literature -- History and criticism.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1455 .W563 2007ISBN: 9781589832190Publication Date: 2007-07-01
Wisdom Texts from Qumran by
This study is the first full analysis of the Qumran wisdom texts. New translations and a full explanation of the background and context of wisdom literature introduce the reader to an important and hitherto little discussed part of the Dead Sea Scrolls. After surveying biblical and extrabiblical wisdom books, the author considers the best and most fully preserved wisdom texts from Qumran. The centrepiece of the book is a discussion of the large wisdom instruction known as Sapiential Work A. Also, the author reflects on the relevance of those texts for the study of early Judaism and Christianity. An appendix treats the Ben Sira scroll from Masada.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BM487 .H29 1996ISBN: 0415139074Publication Date: 1996-10-22
PRINT COPY ONLY
Israel's Wisdom Literature by
Dianne Bergant offers a fresh approach to all the wisdom books of the Hebrew Bible and the Greek Apocrypha: Job, selected psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song of Songs, Wisdom of Solomon, and Sirach. She concentrates on the final canonical from of each book and takes the "integrity of creation" as the basic interpretive perspective. This means, among other things, that the idea of the unity of humankindindeed, the unity of all living thingslies at the heart of the approach. Israel's Wisdom Literature is part of a four-volume set, "A Liberation-Critical Reading of the Old Testament," edited by Alice L. Laffey. The Pentateuch (1988) is now available and volumes on Deuternomic history and the prophets will be forthcoming.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1455 .B38 1997ISBN: 0800628756Publication Date: 2003-09-01
EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
The Social World of the Sages by
Is there evidence for a distinct "wisdom tradition" in ancient Israel? Mark R. Sneed redefines the wisdom literature as a loosely cohering collection of books that educated scribal apprentices in moral instruction. Sneed discusses the data for scribal culture and pedagogy in the ancient Near East, suggesting that wisdom literature was meant to complement, not to compete with, other modes of literature in the Hebrew Bible. The result is a surprising new picture of the authors and tradents of the wisdom literature. Maps and illustrations included.
ISBN: 9781451470369Publication Date: 2015-06-01
Seeking Out the Wisdom of the Ancients by
Michael V. Fox, long-time professor in the Dept. of Hebrew and Semitic Studies at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, is known both for his scholarship and his teaching. As the editors of this volume in his honor note, the care and sensitivity of his reading of the Hebrew text are well known, and he lavishes equal attention on his own writing, to the benefit of all who read his work, which now includes the first of two volumes in the Anchor Bible commentary on Proverbs (the next volume is in preparation), as well as monographs on wisdom literature in ancient Israel and elsewhere, and many articles. The rigor that he brought to his own work he also inflicted on his students, and they and a number of his colleagues honor him with their contributions to this volume. Contributors include: Menahem Haran, Kelvin G. Friebel, Cynthia L. Miller, Theron Young, Adele Berlin, William P. Brown, James L. Crenshaw, John A. Cook, Robert D. Holmstedt, Shamir Yona, Christine Roy Yoder, Carol R. Fontaine, Nili Shupak, Victor Avigdor Horowitz, Tova Forti, Richard L. Schultz, J. Cheryl Exum, Dennis R. Magary, Theodore J. Lewis, Sidnie White Crawford, Ronald L. Troxel, Karl V. Kutz, Heidi M. Szpek, Claudia V. Camp, Johann Cook, Leonard Greenspoon, Stephen G. Burnett, Carol A. Newsom, Shemaryahu Talmon, and Frederick E. Greenspahn. The book is organized around themes that reflect Prof. Fox's interests and work: Part 1: "Seeking Out Wisdom and Concerned with Prophecies" (Sir 39:1): Studies in Biblical Texts"; Part 2: "Preserving the Sayings of the Famous" (Sir 39:2): Text, Versions, and Method.
ISBN: 9781575061054Publication Date: 2005-06-30
Is There a Wisdom Tradition? by
This collection of essays explores questions that challenge the traditional notion of a wisdom tradition among the Israelite literati, such as: Is the wisdom literature a genre or mode of literature or do we need new terminology? Who were the tradents? Is there such a thing as a "wisdom scribe" and what would that look like? Did the scribes who composed wisdom literature also have a hand in producing the other "traditions," such as the priestly, prophetic, and apocalyptic, as well as other non-sapiential works? Were Israelite sages open to non-sapiential forms of knowledge in their conceptualization of wisdom?
ISBN: 9781628370997Publication Date: 2015-03-01
Wisdom for Life by
Professor Maurice Gilbert SJ is widely acknowledged as one of the leading authorities on biblical wisdom literature, in particular the Book of Ben Sira and the Wisdom of Solomon, on which he has produced many publications. This Festschrift, the third one in his honor, brings together twenty-four essays written by both established scholars who are friends and colleagues of Professor Gilbert and younger members of the field who wrote their doctoral dissertation under his guidance at the Pontifical Biblical Institute in Rome. There he was rector (1978-1984) and full professor until his retirement (1975-2011). The volume is divided into six main sections, focusing respectively on Proverbs, Job, Qoheleth, Sirach, Wisdom of Solomon, and Psalms. Some essays display rigorous attention to textual and linguistic issues, whereas others deal with more theological questions (fear before God, joy in Qoheleth, arguments for justice in Wisdom of Solomon) or focus on the comparison between two books (for instance, Qoheleth and Sirach, Sirach and Genesis, Sirach and Tobit).
ISBN: 9783110301625Publication Date: 2014-03-31
Wisdom from the Late Bronze Age by
This volume presents the original texts and annotated translations of a collection of Mesopotamian wisdom compositions and related texts of the Late Bronze Age (ca. 1500-1200 B.C.E.) found at the ancient Near Eastern sites of Hattusa, Emar, and Ugarit. These wisdom compositions constitute the missing link between the great Sumerian wisdom corpus and early Akkadian wisdom literature of the Old Babylonian period, on the one hand, and the wisdom compositions of the first millennium B.C.E., on the other. Included here are works such as the Ballad of Early Rulers, Hear the Advice, and The Date-Palm and the Tamarisk, as well as proverb collections from Ugarit and Hattusa. A detailed introduction provides an assessment of the place of wisdom literature in the ancient curriculum and library collections.
ISBN: 9781589837539Publication Date: 2013-04-01
Interpreting Proverbs 11:18-31, Psalm 73, and Ecclesiastes 9:1-12 in Light of, and as a Response to, Thai Buddhist Interpretations by
This book discusses how three Old Testament wisdom texts can be interpreted in light of, and as a response to Thai Buddhist interpretations. Its central aim is to explore a new method in Buddhist-Christian dialogue that has three steps. First, Buddhists are asked to reflect on biblical texts, second, the texts are analyzed by placing Christian and Buddhist perspectives side by side, and finally points of convergence and difference are established in order to provide a platform for further dialogue. The study succeeds in demonstrating that the method explored is a fruitful approach to interreligious dialogue which takes interpretations of biblical texts by the religious 'other' seriously, and manages to both affirm commonalities and face religious difference.
ISBN: 9789004210110Publication Date: 2012-03-19
Select Reference Works II
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN
An Introduction to the Old Testament: exploring text, approaches & issues by
Enter the classroom of one of today's premier biblical interpreters as he shares his infectious love for the Old Testament. This is where you begin the adventure of exploring the Bible's First Testament. Some Old Testament introductions tell you what you could have seen for yourself. They might recount in detail what other scholars have said, and then tell you what you should think about it. But with refreshing directness, John Goldingay outfits you with basic knowledge, points out the main approaches, outlines the primary issues and then sets you loose to explore the terrain for yourself. Traverse the grand tapestry of the Torah. Discern the art and grain of biblical narrative. Listen to the cries, confessions and cadences of the Psalms. Probe the varied textures of wisdom literature. And ponder the prophets in the darkening nightmare of exile and the distant light of hope. More workbook than handbook, this introduction to the Old Testament is rooted in decades of tried and proven teaching. Goldingay displays a robust confidence in the truthfulness of Scripture combined with a refreshing trust in the reader's ability to grapple responsibly with the Old Testament. Even when the text hits you sideways, Goldingay encourages you not to squirm or run, but to grab hold and go deeper. Under his expert guidance the cordon between faith and criticism swings open into theological and spiritual insight.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1194 .G635 2015ISBN: 0830899081Publication Date: 2015-11-01
EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
A Theological Introduction to the Old Testament by
This book has become a standard text in seminary and university classrooms. The purpose of this second edition is to help readers come to a critically informed understanding of the Old Testament as the church's scripture. This book introduces the Old Testament both as a witness of ancient Israel and as a witness to the church and synagogue through the generations of those who have passed these texts on as scripture. The authors of this volume share a commitment to the interpretation of the Old Testament as a central resource for the life of the church today. At the same time, they introduce the Old Testament witness in a manner that honors the importance of biblical scholarship in helping students engage the variety of theological voices within the Old Testament. This second edition gives special attention to deepening and broadening theological interpretations by including, for example, issues related to gender, race, and class. It also includes more detailed maps and charts for student use.
ISBN: 9781426721977Publication Date: 2005 (2nd. ed.)
Biblical Hebrew Poetry Monographs
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN
Out of the Depths: The Psalms Speak for Us Today by
From one of the most revered contemporary biblical theologians, comes a fresh reading of the Psalms that examines their enduring relevance to today's theological issues. (Christian)
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1430.5 .A53 2000ISBN: 9780585369488Publication Date: 2000-01-01 (3rd ed.)- The Poems and Psalms of the Hebrew Bible by
Poetry was a key art-form for the ancient Jews, the most distinctive way in which they tried to depict the relationship between God and his people. The Poems and Psalms of the Hebrew Bible introduces the reader to the full range of the poetry of the Old Testament, both outside the Psalter and within it. After considering the essential elements of Hebrew verse, it looks at the most familiar poems--the Psalms, the Songs of Solomon, and the poetry of Job and Proverbs--as well as at less familiar examples of poems which by contrast are embedded in narrative, such as war poetry, harvest hymns, elegies, prayers of protest, and thanksgiving songs. The book is addressed to both specialists and non-specialists; no knowledge of Hebrew is presumed, and a bibliography following each chapter offers suggestions for further study.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1405.2 .G54 1994ISBN: 0192132423Publication Date: 1994-08-18
Beauty and the Enigma: and other essays on the Hebrew Bible by
This book is a collection of Landy's studies on the poetics of the Hebrew Bible. The Song of Songs is featured alongside the prophetic voices of Amos, Hosea and Isaiah, and essays on the Binding of Isaac and on the book of Ruth. Throughout, the emphasis throughout is on the subversiveness, richness and ambiguity of the text, but above all its (often enigmatic) beauty. The thread of psychoanalysis and its metaphorical technique draws together this collection from one of the Bible's most sensitive and distinctive literary critics.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1192 .L34 2001ISBN: 9781841271477Publication Date: 2001-01-01
EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
From Whom No Secrets Are Hid by
The Psalms express the most elemental human emotions, representing situations in which people are most vulnerable, ecstatic, or driven to the extremities of life and faith. Many people may be familiar with a few Psalms, or sing them as part of worship. Here highly respected author Walter Brueggemann offers readers an additional use for the Psalms: as scripted prayers we perform to help us reveal ourselves to God. Brueggemann explores the rich historical, literary, theological, and spiritual content of the Psalms while focusing on various themes such as praise, lament, violence, and wisdom. He skillfully describes Israel's expression of faith as sung through the Psalms, situates the Psalmic liturgical tradition in its ancient context, and encourages contemporary readers to continue to perform them as part of their own worship experiences. Brueggemann's masterful take on the Psalms as prayers will help readers to unveil their hopes and fears before God and, in turn, feel God's grace unveiled to them.
ISBN: 9780664259716Publication Date: 2014-09-08
Psalm Studies, Volume 1 by
Sigmund Mowinckel is widely recognized as one of the leading forces in Psalms research during the twentieth century. Indeed, the culmination of Mowinckel s thought and work, "The Psalms in Israel s Worship," continues to play a significant role in Psalms scholarship today. Not as well known are the seminal studies that prepared the ground for Mowinckel s later work, the six "Psalmenstudien" that are translated here into English for the first time. In these studies Mowinckel explores with care and in detail such topics as: "'Awen" and the Psalms of Individual Lament; YHWH s Enthronement Festival and the Origin of Eschatology; Cultic Prophecy and Prophetic Psalms; The Technical Terms in the Psalm Superscriptions; Blessing and Curse in Israel s Cult and Psalmody; and The Psalmists. Anyone interested in Psalms study, especially the possible role of the New Year s enthronement festival within Israel s cult and its relation to the Psalter, will find much to consider in these classic works."
ISBN: 9781589835085Publication Date: 2010-09-01 (originall pub in German 1921-24)
Rumors of Wisdom: Job 28 as Poetry by
Efforts at interpreting Joban poetry have often been divided between philological and literary critics. This study brings these two critical modes together to offer an account of how Job 28 achieves meaning. The heart of the study consists of two major sections. The first is a reading of the poem with special attention to the conceptual background of its metaphors. Rather than a poetic account of mining technology, Job 28 is properly understood against the heroic deeds of ancient Mesopotamian kings described in Sumerian and Akkadian royal narratives, especially the Gilgamesh epic. The second major section is a thorough philological and textual commentary in which comparative philological and text-critical methods are complemented by an aesthetic rationale for restoring the text of the poem as a work of art. The study reveals a multileveled and image-driven masterpiece whose complexity impacts how one reads Job 28 as poetry and theology.
ISBN: 9783110214772Publication Date: 2009-07-15
I Am Large, I Contain Multitudes: Lyric Cohesion and Conflict in Second Isaiah by
This book joins the notion that Second Isaiah is a poetic text with the task of interpreting it as a unified whole. In so doing, it makes methodological suggestions for applying a lyric poetic approach to biblical texts. The practical application of this approach shows Second Isaiah to be characterized by tension, conflict, and juxtaposition. The lyric model shows these conflicts, such as the presence of searing indictments in the 'book of comfort, ' to be integral elements of the mode by which Second Isaiah addresses its audience. This book highlights the tonalities of the divine voice as central to Second Isaiah's particularly poetic mode of cohesion and essential to the conflicted comfort Second Isaiah offers its reader.
ISBN: 9789004193833Publication Date: 2011-02-15
Song and Story in Biblical Narrative by
.."". a book which asks and answers a new, interesting question, using a rich range of biblical and humanistic methodologies."" -- Journal of Biblical Literature This book examines a literary form within the Bible that has slipped through the cracks of modern scholarship: the mixing of song and story in biblical narrative. Journeying from ancient Egyptian battle accounts to Aramaic wisdom texts to early retellings of biblical tales in the Dead Sea Scrolls, Jewish-Hellenistic literature, and rabbinic midrash, Steven Weitzman follows the history of this form from its origins as a congeries of different literary behaviors to its emergence as a self-conscious literary convention.
ISBN: 0253332362Publication Date: 1997-10-01- Biblical Sound and Sense by
Authors Bio, not available
ISBN: 9781850753261Publication Date: 1991-12-01
Select Reference Works III
PRINT COPY ONLY
Dictionary of Biblical Imagery by
Christianity Today 1999 Book of the Year Every reader of the Bible has encountered the powerful, comforting and sometimes puzzling imagery of Scripture. These concrete pictures with their hidden force have struck sharp and lasting impressions on our minds. Their imprint has etched itself on the language and grammar of Christian faith and Western culture. Why then do traditional Bible dictionaries and reference works offer so little help to explorers of the Bible's galaxy of verbal pictures? They excel in describing the climate, borders and location of Galilee or Sinai. But they are often blind to the artistic expressions and deaf to the musical meanings that echo from within the world of the biblical text. The Dictionary of Biblical Imagery is the first contemporary reference work dedicated to exploring the images, symbols, motifs, metaphors and literary patterns found in the Bible. More than that, it examines the Bible's universal archetypes or master images--including the plot motifs and character types that recur throughout life, literature and the Bible. This unique dictionary explores the dazzling variety in which the Word of God comes dressed in clothes of everyday life. It traces the trail of images from Eden to the New Jerusalem. It captures the plotted patterns of biblical narrative. It surveys the imaged texture of each book of the Bible. In short, The Dictionary of Biblical Imagery is an inviting, enlightening and indispensable companion to the reading, study, contemplation and enjoyment of the Bible.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS537 .D48 1998ISBN: 0830814515Publication Date: 1998-11-02
Writings and/or Ketuvim Monographs
EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
The Shape of the Writings by
Are the Writings a miscellaneous collection of books, as is so often asserted, or do they have a purposeful design or arrangement? Over the past 35 years, there has been a significant amount of scholarly interest in the shape of the Law, Former Prophets, Twelve Minor Prophets and the Psalms, while examinations of the shape of the Writings were almost nonexistent until very recently. The 11 essays in this volume explore this often-neglected issue from a variety of critical perspectives--reader-centered approaches, canonical, structural-canonical, and redactional--made more robust by the mix of German- and English-language scholarship on this question, including 4 articles translated from German into English. Essays range from the historical development of the collection, to analysis of the collection's different arrangements, to the relationship of books and subcollections within the Writings, to the reception of the collection in Jewish and Christian sources. Every book in the Writings is discussed, with particular attention given to Job, Ruth, and 1 and 2 Chronicles. The volume closes with 3 critical responses from John Barton, Tamara Cohn Eskenazi, and Christopher Seitz.
ISBN: 9781575063737Publication Date: 2015-09-09
The Ketuvim or Writings in the canon of the Hebrew Bible include: poetical books (Psalms, Proverbs, and Job), the Megillot or Scrolls (Song of Songs, Ruth, Lamentations, Ecclesiastes, and Esther), prophecy (Daniel), and history (Ezra, Nehemiah, and I and II Chronicles). The Ketuvim/Writings aka Hagiographa section contain books of different genres, such as poetry and wisdom, as you can see. See the Additional Notes box below for directions to additional resources .
Additional Notes & Resources
You will find additional useful resources on the pages which are dedicated to Commentaries/Works by Book of the Bible in the Stamps Virtual Theological Library guide. Consult pages for those books classified as being or containing wisdom, poetry and/or writings, especially Proverbs, Job, Ecclesiastes, Psalms, Song of Songs, Ruth, Esther, Lamentations and others.
As noted above, The Writings as the third part of the Hebrew Bible canon includes those books, but it also includes books sometimes called "historical books," such as Ezra-Nehemiah and Chronicles (which are thus included on the Historical books tab in this Sections of the Bible guide). Daniel is in Writings in the Hebrew canon but is placed with the Prophets in the Christian canon (and included in the IVP OT Prophets dictionary and on this Section guide's Prophets tab). Additionally, poetry can also be found in other books that are part of the Prophets as well as within several books belonging in the Torah/"Law" (Pentateuch).