Reference Works (Dictionaries/Encyclopedias, Handbooks)
BOTH ONLINE (DATABASE) AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - ONLINE REQUIRES LOGIN
Handbook of Biblical Criticism, Fourth Edition by
The fourth edition of this best-selling textbook continues to be a valuable resource for the beginning student in the critical study of the Bible. Thoroughly revised to include the newest methods, recent discoveries, and developments in the field of biblical criticism over the past decade, the Handbook of Biblical Criticism is designed to be a starting point for understanding the vast array of methods, approaches and technical terms employed in this field. Updates in this edition also include an expanded dictionary of terms, phrases, names, and frequently used abbreviations, as well as a bibliography that includes the most up-to-date date publications. The Handbook of Biblical Criticism is a valuable introductory textbook and a reliable guide for pastors, laypersons, and scholars whose expertise lies in other fields.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS511.2 .S68 2001 (3rd ed.)ISBN: 9780664235345Publication Date: 2011-11-23
PRINT COPY ONLY
The Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Biblical Interpretation by
The Bible was the essence of virtually every aspect of the life of the early churches. The Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Biblical Interpretation explores a wide array of themes related to the reception, canonization, interpretation, uses, and legacies of the Bible in early Christianity. Each section contains overviews and cutting-edge scholarship that expands understanding of the field. Part One examines the material text transmitted, translated, and invested with authority, and the very conceptualization of sacred Scripture as God's word for the church. Part Two looks at the culture and disciplines or science of interpretation in representative exegetical traditions. Part Three addresses the diverse literary and non-literary modes of interpretation, while Part Four canvasses the communal background and foreground of early Christian interpretation, where the Bible was paramount in shaping normative Christian identity. Part Five assesses the determinative role of the Bible in major developments and theological controversies in the life of the churches. Part Six returns to interpretation proper and samples how certain abiding motifs from within scriptural revelation were treated by major Christian expositors. The overall history of biblical interpretation has itself now become the subject of a growing scholarship and the final part skilfully examines how early Christian exegesis was retrieved and critically evaluated in later periods of church history. Taken together, the chapters provide nuanced paths of introduction for students and scholars from a wide spectrum of academic fields, including classics, biblical studies, the general history of interpretation, the social and cultural history of late ancient and early medieval Christianity, historical theology, and systematic and contextual theology. Readers will be oriented to the major resources for, and issues in, the critical study of early Christian biblical interpretation.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS500 .O938 2019ISBN: 9780192858948Publication Date: 2022-03-15
Handbook of Patristic Exegesis by
Through this Handbook of Patristic Exegesis, the reader will obtain a balanced and cohesive picture of the Early Church. It gives an overall view of the reception, transmission, and interpretation of the Bible in the life and thought of the Church during the first five centuries of Christianity, the so-called patristic era. The handbook offers the context and presuppositions necessary for understanding the development of the interpretative traditions of the Early Church, in its catechesis, its liturgy and as a foundation of its systems of theology.The handbook presents a comprehensive overview of the history of patristic exegesis. Apart from a general introduction to the major topics in this field, it contains essays by leading patristic scholars on the most important Church Fathers, such as Augustine, Irenaeus, Origen, Gregory of Nyssa, and others. The essays are supplemented by bibliographies of editions and studies on patristic exegesis published from 1945 until 1995. Together, these bibliographies form the only comprehensive bibliography presently available on this topic.Now available in one volume. This one volume edition is an unabridged version of the two volume edition that was published in 2004 (no longer available).
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS500 .K34 2004 v.1-v.2ISBN: 9004098151Publication Date: 2004-08-30
Dictionary of Major Biblical Interpreters by
ECPA 2009 Christian Book Award finalist!From Abelard to Zwingli, the history of Christian biblical interpretation has been shaped by great thinkers who delved deeply into the structure and meaning of Christianity's sacred texts. With over two hundred in-depth articles, theDictionary of Major Biblical Interpretersintroduces readers to the principal players in that history: their historical and intellectual contexts, their primary works, their interpretive principles and their broader historical significance. In addition, six major essays offer an overview of the history of biblical interpretation from the second century to the present. This one-volume reference by Donald K. McKim, a revised and vastly expanded edition of IVP Academic'sHistorical Handbook of Major Biblical Interpreters,will serve as an invaluable tool for any serious student of the Bible and the history of biblical interpretation.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS501.A1 H57 2007ISBN: 9780830829279Publication Date: 2007-11-12
Hebrew Bible, Old Testament: The History of its Interpretation by
The first volume of the series Hebrew Bible / Old Testament deals with questions of the canon with regard to its interpretation from the Jewish, New Testament, rabbinic, and patristic point of view, and encompasses the time up to Augustine. It ends with a synopsis on Church and Synagogue as the respective matrix for the development of authoritative text interpretation.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1160 .H44 1996 v.1-v..3ISBN: 9783525536360Publication Date: 1996-12-31
Monographs
BOTH EBOOK OR ONLINE (DATABASE) AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK/ONLINE REQUIRES LOGIN
Biblical Interpretation in the Early Church by
Biblical Interpretation in the Early Church is part of Ad Fontes: Early Christian Sources, a series designed to present ancient Christian texts essential to an understanding of Christian theology, ecclesiology, and practice. The books in the series will make the wealth of early Christian thought available to new generations of students of theology and provide a valuable resource for the Church. This volume focuses on how Scripture was interpreted and used for preaching, teaching, apologetics, and worship by early Christian scholars and church leaders. Developed in light of recent Patristic scholarship, Ad Fontes volumes will provide a representative sampling of key sources from both East and West that illustrate early Christian thought and practice. The series aims to provide volumes that are relevant for a variety of courses, including classes on theology, biblical interpretation, and church history. The goal of each volume is not to be exhaustive, but rather representative enough to denote for a non-specialist audience the multivalent character of early Christian thought, allowing readers to see how and why early Christian doctrine and practice developed the way it did.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks https://www.jstor.org/stable/j.ctt1kgqtbpISBN: 9781506425603Publication Date: 2017-05-01
PRINT COPY ONLY
A Companion to Biblical Interpretation in Early Judaism by
A Companion to Biblical Interpretation in Early Judaism presents eighteen commissioned articles on biblical exegesis in early Judaism, covering the period after the Hebrew Bible was written and before the beginning of rabbinic Judaism. The essays, all written by experts in the field, are arranged in seven categories: Hebrew Bible, Rewritten Bible, Qumran Literature, Apocalyptic Literature and Testaments, Wisdom Literature, Hellenistic Judaism, and Biblical Interpretation in Antiquity. Together these essays provide a systematic and comprehensive introduction to the diverse modes of scriptural interpretation practiced by a variegated and dynamic spectrum of Jewish groups in the Hellenistic and early Roman eras. Contributors: Moshe J. Bernstein George J. Brooks Edward M. Cook Peter Enns Matthias Henze Howard Jacobson James L. Kugel Robert Kugler Itamar Manoff Eva Mroczek Hindy Najman Zuleika Rodgers Martin R�sel Jacques van Ruiten Aharon Shemesh Gregory E. Sterling Sarah J. Tanzer Shani Tzoref Benjamin G. Wright III Yair Zakovitch
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1186 .C66 2012ISBN: 9780802803887Publication Date: 2012-01-09
Biblical Interpretation at Qumran by
The Dead Sea Scrolls are an invaluable source of information about Jewish biblical interpretation in antiquity. This volume by preeminent scholars in the field examines central aspects of scriptural interpretation as it was practiced at Qumran and discusses their implications for understanding the biblical tradition. While many of the forms of biblical interpretation found in the Scrolls have parallels elsewhere in Jewish literature, other kinds are original to the Scrolls and were unknown prior to the discovery of the caves. These chapters explore examples of biblical interpretation unique to Qumran, including legal exegesis and the Pesher. Readers will also find discussion of such fascinating subjects as the "rewritten Bible," views on the creation of humanity, the "Pseudo-Ezekiel" texts, the pesharim, and the prophet David. Contributors: Moshe J. Bernstein Shani Berrin Monica Brady George J. Brooke John J. Collins Peter W. Flint Matthias Henze Shlomo A. Koyfman Michael Segal James C. VanderKam
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1186 .B54 2005ISBN: 9780802839374Publication Date: 2004-12-20
Introducing Medieval Biblical Interpretation by
This introductory guide, written by a leading expert in medieval theology and church history, offers a thorough overview of medieval biblical interpretation. After an opening chapter sketching the necessary background in patristic exegesis (especially the hermeneutical teaching of Augustine), the book progresses through the Middle Ages from the eighth to the fifteenth centuries, examining all the major movements, developments, and historical figures of the period. Rich in primary text engagement and comprehensive in scope, it is the only current, compact introduction to the whole range of medieval exegesis.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS500 .L48 2018ISBN: 9780801048807Publication Date: 2018-02-20
EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
Biblical Interpretation in Ancient Israel by
First published in hardback in August 1985, Professor Fishbane's book offers the first comprehensive analysis of the phenomenon of textual analysis in ancient Israel. It explores the rich tradition of exegesis prior to the development of biblical interpretation in early classical Judaism and the earliest Christian communities, and examines four main categories of exegesis: scribal, legal, aggadic, and mantological. In studying this subject, it emerges that the Hebrew Bible is not only the foundation document for the exegetical culture of Judaism and Christianity, but an exegetical work in its own right. Professor Fishbane, who has added new material in appendices to this paperback edition, has been awarded three major prizes for this work: the National Jewish Book Award 1986, the Biblical Archaeological Society 1986 Publication Award, and the Kenneth B. Smilen Literary Award.
ISBN: 9780191520358Publication Date: 1988-12-01
Reading and Re-Reading Scripture at Qumran (2 Vol. Set) by
In Reading and Re-reading Scripture at Qumran, Moshe J. Bernstein gathers more than three decades of his work on diverse aspects of biblical interpretation in the Dead Sea Scrolls. The essays range from broad surveys of the genres of biblical interpretation in these texts to more narrowly focused studies and close readings of specific documents. Volume I focuses on the book of Genesis, with a substantial portion being dedicated to studies of the Genesis Apocryphon and Commentary on Genesis A. Volume II contains several historical and programmatic essays, with specific studies focusing on legal material in the DSS and the pesharim. Under the former rubric, the documents known as 4QReworked Pentateuch, 4QOrdinancesa, 4QMMT, and the Temple Scroll are discussed.
ISBN: 9789004248076Publication Date: 2013-06-21
